Time Out

in #poetry6 years ago


Photo Source

time out

i’m tapping out
waving the white flag
crying uncle
because the longer this quarrel
the more i chance to lose
my rainbow bridges are
under attack
with thieves eyeing
my pots of gold
and offering cream
to the people most likely to betray
my secrets
my stashes
my hoards and lockboxes
and the location
of where i hid
my heart
i am unguarded
susceptible to underhanded attacks
allowing mistrust
to color my moves

Sumayyah Talibah © 12 January 2018

Recent Posts

Visit me on

Sort:  

Wow! Beautifully written poet, I feel the rhythm of this and it's so poetic!
Tnx for sharing. Have a lovely steeming

Thanks for your comment and kind words and for reading.

Your rhythm with words is something I admire most about you! This is precise :)

Aww, thank you! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92