SPU Poetry Contest #4: Hiding Place

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

This poem is my submission for Week for of the SPU Poetry Contest. I won quite unexpectedly last week. Squee! I entered not thinking of winning, just enjoying the prompts and the community sense of challenge. But wow is it nice to have someone assess my work as good and reward me for it! I figure it's not likely to happen twice, but the fun is in playing the game. This week I am writing off the following theme and image prompts:

"witch hunt"

and

U5dtD78ZjbBzcd6Nyog96fiopyu9Y24_1680x8400.jpeg
Image Source

Hiding Place

I think it goes like this:
There was a girl and a closet and a floor
the closet had sliding doors
the girl had sliding tears and,
the way I remember, she was me
folded in the dark among laundry
and books she had brought along
because books are friends
but books are also weapons
when the demons come raging
the doors off their hinges
to swing the girl wildly above the floor
whole
house
shaking
if a girl is a house, and she is
more than she is the names she is called
including slut
and whore
and witch.

If I remember correctly, the girl,
who was me, was no evil child,
cast no spells over men or devils
but they came for her anyway
and told her she would remember
it wrong. Not to trust
anyone,
especially
herself.
So I cannot be certain it happened at all,
that I was hunted or that she was me,
or of the closet,
the floor,
the doors.

What I am sure of
is how each point of contact still hurts
when I wake from dreams searching
for water to quench
the fire of hands
where they landed.

Will you join this competition? Find all the details here.

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Great poetry

Thank you! Are you submitting a piece @iconnelly?

Sentido poema, @shawnamawna. Realmente tus textos me han impresionado. Siempre tienen una carga de lo ya vivido, del que habla desde el presente mirando el pasado. La experiencias infantiles pueden marcarte y hacerte, construirte. También los espacios pueden simbolizar la coraza, los temores, los refugios. En esos espacios puedes convertirte en lo que realmente eres. De allí que los niños siempre les guste jugar a los escondites.

Thank you @nancybriti. If I am reading this right, this is very thorough response. I appreciate your attention to detail.

Wow, this is intense. I like the uses of the water/fire/quench imagery in the last stanza. Also really love the reflections on power and the uncertainty of memory (told her she would remember / it wrong. Not to trust / anyone, / especially / herself.)

Great work—thanks for sharing!

Thank you @tessaragabrielle! Will you be entering this contest too?

Yep! I'm working on my entry right now.

Can't wait to read it!

Ooh. Thank you for linking that. Upvoted and resteemed.

You're on great way to win this one too! I like how you make simple words sound so subtle and complex. It reminds me of the way Miranda July writes. Your poem is like a metaphor within a metaphor within a blurry memory!

Wow! What a compliment. Thank you. I'm blushing.

This is beautiful <3. There are times when I appreciate the reminder that we're conditioned not to trust ourselves when I start feeling bad that I'm not better at listening to myself.

Ugh. Yes. I don't spend nearly as much time angry as I used to, but this is still a sore point for me. Perhaps obviously since I write about it with great frequency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74