Fasting, Fat, Food & Fitness - YOUR THOUGHTS?

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

food header.png

Thankfully, for all my younger years when it actually counted – I was fortunate enough to have a figure which most people considered “good”, but as age crept in and my ridiculously speedy metabolism decided to slow down… that changed a little bit hahaha!! Now, I am by no means what someone would consider obese, but it is all relative and having been really slender my whole life, even the slightest bit of weight made me feel really uncomfortable. That feeling lessened as the years went on until I reached a point where I was buying clothes several sizes bigger. That was when I decided to change things. I have never had an unhealthy diet and I cook a home cooked meal every SINGLE day in a conscientious manner, I don’t eat fast food and don’t really have a sweet tooth… but I have always had one serious weakness and that was carbs!

I jumped onto the whole “banting” bandwagon a few years ago. And when I say I jumped on board, I mean I followed it to the T. I cut out absolutely ALL carbs, ate cauliflower EVERYTHING lol, used absolutely NO sauces, spices, stocks, gravies – NOTHING! If I couldn’t get it from my garden – I didn’t use it. Yes, the weight peeled off me and I felt great! It was also an amazing learning experience as you are really creatively challenged when you have to season things 100% naturally – and as most of you know, I am an avid foodie and what I would consider a very adventurous cook, so for me to make that statement says a lot haha! It was also a MASSIVE EYE OPENER when it comes to paying attention to what you are buying - if you REALLY want to cut out ALL the bad stuff, it pretty much eliminates 99% of what you buy in supermarkets! I was banting religiously for about 6 months but then I became frustrated with it because the thought of things that I used to love – like avocado pear and eggs… literally began to make me feel nauseas.

Personally, I believe that our physical make up is unique to each and every one of us... and for me, I was honest enough to admit that banting was NOT going to be realistically sustainable. So, I tailored the banting lifestyle and began to introduce light carbs like sweet potato, carrots, and cous cous (I know this is not a light carb – but I find I eat it in MUCH lower quantities than I would mashed potato or roast potato for example) I found a nice balance with this way of living and I kept all the weight off with absolutely no problems for 3+ years. One December holiday wrecked that for me haha!!! I fell off that wagon and never got back on fully, so needless to say – I have begun to pick up weight again.

I am very much a person that gets to a point and then something has to change. I have reached that point lol… so – I have decided to go back to my old habits eating wise and have also started drinking more water again, which I was very good with. I have introduced Tae bo into my daily routine and have also tried to space my low carb eating to the hours similar to “intermittent eating”. I am feeling SO much better already and it has only been a few days and I would like to believe that I will keep it up lol!

The reason I am writing this post is to see what feedback, opinions, tips and/or advice you guys have on intermittent eating and anything else I have mentioned. Yes, there is a world of information online but I am curious and keen to hear from people that I trust...

IMAGE CREDIT FOR HEADER DESIGN


Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Jaynie.gif

line1.png

EARN STEEM - AUTO-POST TO STEEMIT FROM INSTAGRAM

CLICK HERE TO SET IT UP


text15.png

WHO ARE THE

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

The Power House Creatives is a discord community of individuals who are committed to producing content which adds value across multiple platforms. We are STRONGLY focused on supporting our fellow members individual growth as well as offering support to those that are still trying to get ahead. We are a CLOSE KNIT community of individuals, each with our own strengths, passions and input, yet ALL willing to go the extra mile for our family members... WHY? - because, simply put - we CARE about one another and MANY HANDS make light work! - THAT is what FAMILY is about! - To infinity and beyond...

text15.png

INTERESTED IN JOINING THE PHC FAMILY?

As most of you already know our community is closed. This does not mean that we are trying to keep people out or that we ignore those who aren’t members – it simply means that we are focused on keeping our standards of content high and our member commitment higher. I think if nothing else, we have proven those two qualities to the Steemisphere over the last year and even more so in the last seven days.

I am not going to sugar-coat things for anybody, because it would not make any sense whatsoever, nor would it serve anybody fruitfully - long-term. Our community is incredibly proactive - and DRIVING the success and growth of the people within it is our FUNDAMENTAL PURPOSE, because this is how they are able to do the same in return for other individuals in communities beyond our own! Our reach extends WAY beyond our own walls and this is one of the primary reasons why it is important to ALL OF US that each of our members are able to hold our flag high wherever they may roam.

We work hard, we play hard - we support one another through thick and thin, we know whats going on in our "3D" lives and no matter what it is - we are there for each other! Yes, there are daily responsibilities and obligations. Yes, there are things that fly within our walls and things that definitely don’t. Yes, we require quite a bit from you as an individual but you get it tenfold in return and ANY ONE of our members will gladly testify to this. Absolutely EVERYTHING is catered for and considered… including those times when you will NOT be able to fulfill your obligations. It simply requires the following of our procedures, which once you have grasped – are not complicated at all - I promise.

Everybody in our community jokes about my “boot” because they know that there are certain things that never were and never will be tolerated within our walls… and when they surface, those people will very quickly meet my infamous “boot” sending them out the door – or at least showing them that it is open. A few such things would be the likes of: not doing what you promised to do when joining, not being a team player, plagiarism, spamming, causing trouble with other members etc. These are all no-brainers really, so should not be much of a shock or challenge to anyone who is actually on Steemit (or any other platform) to make it a better place for everyone!

We may be a relatively small collective, but we have approx. 118 members from over 30 countries and that continues to grow. Most of our members are also key players in some of Steemits other highly regarded and supportive discord communities and initiatives - and all of us at “home” know without question or doubt that every single one of our members will make us proud with whatever they do – wherever they go – and that is precisely how we intend to keep it. Simple as that! No, this kind of “ethos” does not work for everyone – and that is perfectly fine - Each to their own. The people who have done the “putting in” are the ones that understand what they “get out” of it all ;)

So, if I have not scared you away yet, or if the above info excites you (even better) and you would still like to put in an application to join our fantabulous and VERY crazy little family… then by all means – hop into our applications server and do the necessary.

YEAH BABY YEAH - I WANT TO APPLY

line1.png

INTERESTED IN SUPPORTING CURATION INITIATIVES?

@theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform, but in order to grow and be able to offer MORE SUPPORT, @theluvbug needs your help - with upvotes and resteems of the latest curation announcements on that profile.

Sort:  

I have always struggled with my weight - wild swings; rapid loss, and rapid gains!

I did have a medical reason for the first swing down - Ulcers in my Colon! I was down to something like 62KG (for a 6 foot 2 guys!) - and following the recovery of that, I shot wayy back up to 130KG.

Since then, I've flirted with 100KG, but seem to find a natural base at 110. That's with a combination of different dieting methodologies (intermittent fasting) - calore deficits, and ensuring I get all the nutrients I need.

I apparently have a very slow matabolism, because even when training 5-6 days a week, and maintaining a good, nutritious diet I plateau for MONTHS! :D

There's nothing wrong with my Thyroid, Blood work is basically perfect, I'm just destined to be a rugby player sized angry viking :| Forever!

The doctor even suggested giving me tablets to speed up my metabolism. I declined!

I'm just destined to be a rugby player sized angry viking :| Forever!

Well... who are you to mess with destiny eh :P hahahaha!!!

Sounds like you have had quite the journey in that department though. I would make a useless rugby player :P (thankfully lol) hahahaha!!!

It's that realization that we're not 29 anymore that tends to creep in.

I have probably relied excessively on having a ridiculously fast metabolism and a tendency to be able to go from "stationary" to "back in shape" in a remarkably short time... as a result of which I probably haven't always taken the best care of myself. I also have the "benefit" of being 194cm and large framed, so a bit of weight here and there tends to not be very noticeable.

I tend to subscribe to something I learned from my elderly auntie many years back: If you try to always eat "nutrition dense" foods, you're unlikely to gain weight. Have the calories, but avoid empty calories. My body tends to tell me it's less hungry if I'm getting tons of nutrition. Part two (at least for me!) is that it's typically easier to burn more energy than to eat less food... because I'm kind of a "foodie."

That said, I grew up with the idea of "make everything from scratch" and that has been a staple in my life since I was helping my mother pull up carrots in our garden when I was four years old. So I don't really have "bad" food habits, either... just an overall tendency to be slow moving disinclined to a lot of physical activity.

I try to keep in mind that we didn't have "gimmicks" before we started having weight issues... so a good starting point is to remove "gimmickry" from your life; processed, short-cut, fast food... and (particularly an issue here in the US) "drive-thru" everything, and taking the car to pick up something from a shop 200m away.

But... I'm not going to go on too much here, since female and male bodies respond differently...

I think I just wrote that...lol!!!!!

I have ALWAYS been lazy because my DNA allowed me to be so... and although I am currently "uncomfortable" with my weight - I probably weigh less than most 2019 15 year olds lol. - and yes, I was also brought up in PRECISELY the same manner thanks to my mom @lizziesworld. I cook EVERYTHING from scratch, grow whatever I can and eat very healthily by comparison to most... but yes, I am not 18 anymore haha!!!

Our family, I must say... do have particularly good genes. lol We all had such a laughing fit one evening when we were all together, because Dave - my partner - made a remark amidst conversation... "don't you fncking people age?" hahahahaha - it was a "location joke" yes - but shit was it funny! - we have all definitely been blessed much the same as you have haha!

But yes, as I am now a weeeee bit older, I need to make a little bit more effort! haha!!!

As a weight loss coach working with obese people, I hate the intermittent fasting fad more than I can tell you. I do not suggest starting to live your food life by the clock.

I like your idea of banting with qualifications, although this is the first time I have heard the word. I would go back to that since it worked before if I were you.

I advise people to get 120% of the essential nutrients in their diet each day - as best as they can. This is an end goal for the people I work with, since they are way out of control and usually morbidly obese.

essential nutrients purple fitinfun.jpg

Thank you for the feedback and yes, quite happy to revert back to something that was healthy and also comfortable for me. It did not make me feel deprived, nor did I suffer with any cravings... so yeah... which is why I say, much like everything else in life, it is a VERY personal thing... and definitely NOT a "one size fits all" remedy.

Exactly. I don't like the fasting idea as I see people not getting nutrition and watching the clock for when they can and cannot eat. I cannot imagine a more miserable life. If you just do what works for you and tweak it on occasion, I think you will succeed.

Agreed... and in addition, I think it is important that if people ARE going to do something like fast... that they have the knowledge and sense to ensure that they are getting adequate nutrition when they ARE eating... which in most cases is probably not happening.

No it is definitely not happening. I'm replying to people many times a week on the subject now on multiple platforms and the food they break their fasts with is junk about 80% of the time. Deep friend chicken was one of the recent ones, and the person was really looking forward to it. ergh...

Only one short year ago no one was fasting like this. Those were the days, lol.

It is a sad reality of the 21st century. Most people don't even know how to fncking COOK anymore! lol - let alone know what is nutritious and what is not.

Absolutely goo for it. Not sure if you've noticed, I mentioned it here and there in my posts.. I'm on intermittent fasting last month and its just amazing! I do cca 15/9 and it's great! Just removing those extra 1-2 meals gives you totally productive part of the day where you're just going going going.. without need to think about food or coffee afterwards..no insulin spike, nothing.. you get your water, you get a black unsweetened coffee (which effect lasts muuuch longer if not mixed with food).. it's amazing..also, it gives you more freedom later in the day to even go for more of those carbs you like so much...+ I'm not even talking about all the inflammation reduce effect etc etc...first week is a bit tough but once u get used to it, it really is amazing

Posted using Partiko Android

That's really awesome to hear! Yeah I have only been doing it for a few days so am still struggling a little bit with cravings, mostly because I was eating whatever, whenever before... but yes, I know it will pass! I am definitely keen to persist and the more I hear about it the more I am driven to keep it up. Also, the treat of being able to enjoy carbs is VERY appealing to me hahaha!!

Thanks for the info and insight xxx

@jaynie,

Always reason from First Principles.

  • Your weight is the result of a simple formula: Calories consumed minus calories burned. Yes, I know, there are other factors that slightly modify that dynamic, but let's leave it at that for the sake of argument.

  • The human mind is designed to deal with acute stress, not chronic stress. A lion shows up, you panic and climb a tree. When he get's tired of waiting and departs, you climb back down and go about your business. The point is that plans that require Willpower, 24/7, week after week, month after month, tend to fail. A chronic willpower plan is swimming against the stream.

A better idea, in my opinion, is to eat a diet that reasonably satiates your yearnings (not ridiculous stuff ... good quality fare with as little processed food as possible) and from which you derive pleasure ... added to 30-45 minutes of rigorous daily exercise (running, for example).

Psychologically, it is MUCH EASIER to exert intense mental disciple for half an hour (acute), than it is to exert even medicore mental discipline all day long (chronic).

Such rigorous exercise not only burns calories in the immediate, but builds muscles which consume calories 24/7, even in your sleep ... effectively, permanently ramping up your metabolism. Plus, "being toned" is sexy and "feeling sexy," secretes a host of Reward neurotransmitters.

The trick is not to make such a big deal about the exercise that you end up not doing it: Gym memberships; personal trainers; hundreds of dollars of electronic gadgetry; exercises no one's ever heard of before.

Shirt, shorts, shoes. Run. Throw in some push-ups and sit-ups when you get back to the house. Shower. That's what soldiers have done for millennia. And, to boot ... if burns off stress.

A delicious meal (which can easily be made of reasonably healthy foods) is life's most common hedonistic pleasure. To constantly deprive oneself of such is an invitation for despair and chronic anxiety.

Of course, nothing in life is free so the 30 minutes per day of rigorous exercise (1/48 of the total) is the cost. A short period of pain for a long period of pleasure. It's how our brains were designed.

Quill

This is all so true. The human race has added so many unnecessary bells and whistles to something that is fundamentally REALLY simple. Thanks for the great insight @quillfire xxx

Yeah, I don’t ever diet. I’ve been intermittent fasting for like 7 years since I hit my mid 30’s. It just make me lean all year around... and I eat tons of carbs 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now that sounds like music to my ears hahaha!!! I swear, life without carbs is so damn depressing hahaha!!! Good to know someone who has been doing it successfully!

I didn’t hear about intermittent diet, will look it up. If I have to starve, it is not for me. I like to eat healthy, but I can’t do it all the time. I live on a Central Ave, surrounded by bakeries 🧁 Coffee shops 🍩 ethnic restaurants 🥙 pizzerias 🍕I go to the gym every day, 10 minutes walk thru all these places. I think I have to move, if I want to lose weight. 🤪

hehehe yeah it is very challenging when you are constantly surrounded by luxuries that tempt you. I dont think diets are ever really the answer because as I said, so few of them are truly sustainable.... so you have to find a combination of strategies that works for you. I am an absolute carb glutton so I know that step 1 for me is always to lower that intake - but to cut it out altogether.... makes me wanna cry haha!

Hey @jaynie great post. I do believe intermittent eating and fasting has helped me tremendously the last 2 months

That is great to know!!! I think by nature we all eat too much actually... so I am giving it a go in a lose manner... I don't really enjoy anything that is too rigid!

I did keto for a month last August. I really enjoyed how it made me feel, but I’m a snacker and I found my no carb snacks unsatisfying.
So I too fell off my wagon.
Lately I’ve been doing the 8 hours to eat 16 hours not. I find it works well with my system, I have never been much of a morning eater. So have little trouble stretching my first meal to after mid day.
At this point in my life... I’m not interested in getting fat, but am ok with a splodge of podge on my bones.
Good luck tai bo’ing the weight away!

Thanks for the input! Yeah I can go without the snacking but to cut carbs completely just makes me bloody depressed lol! I am glad to hear so many people speak ppositively about it so am going to give it a try and see how things go. As for the tae-bo... its just great to get some exercise back into my life... I have been really lazy for too long... but I wont lie, my body is taking strain... just goes to show how darn unfit I am haha :) - but... baby steps :D

I think about to buy a slow juicer:-) Shared with my followers :-)

thanks for the resteem xxxxx and yes I have a juicer but I am REALLY not a fan of "liquid diets" I like to have a plate of food in front of me haha :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94