You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Speak?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hi @winstonalden, this is an interesting topic. It reminds me of Ronan Keating's song - When You Say Nothing At All. Thank you for this write-up.
I am quite an introvert and would prefer not to speak half the time, when peace and quiet is appreciated. On the other half, I can be quite an extrovert, speak just for the fun of it or when situation arises. But even with talking, I am affected by voice. If a person's voice is too pitchy or too loud or at rush, I would prefer not to speak, just because I do not wish to hear their voice which can be quite disturbing to my zen-ness But I do strike up a quick conversation sometimes talking about the weather, the traffic and so on. It depends on the mood. Are you affected by voice?

Sort:  

You're right - sometimes even the most surly of us are in the mood for a conversation - but it takes a lot less to satisfy that craving than it does for an extrovert.

If someone has a voice that's grating, or if they just talk unceasingly, I'll start associating that voice with discomfort and try to avoid it. There are certain customers at work that I can hear a mile away and think, well, this is going to take a lot out of me.

Yup, ditto to that! Avoid at all cost, if possible that is or minimize to a level that is possible, i.e. to not go near them :D.
Thank you @winstonalden. You have a great week there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79