You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When We're Really Just Making Excuses

in #psychology5 years ago

Like you, I'm not a fan of bugs, particularly the ones with 8 legs. I'd rather scream like an idiot and run around flapping my arms until someone else kills it for me. When I was younger, the phobia was so bad that I had to refer to them as arachnids - I just couldn't bring myself to call them spiders - it was just too scary.

However, with a nearly 4 year old in the house now, who watches my every move, I need to approach these animals in a manner that is not going to produce in him, the same irrational fear that I've carried for so many years. So not showing fear is more important to me now and because it's for reasons other than myself, I'm finding it easier to deal with. I don't know where my fear came from, but I'm sure as hell not going to curse my boy with the same fear I've carried for so long.

Sort:  

Having children is certainly a good reason to learn how to manage fears. I always tried to be calm around mine, but my eldest decided to develop a phobia of spiders anyway. To think, she happily held a tarantula when she was 4 or 5.

Why in the world would you give her a tarantula!?! I would be jumping all over that bastard, unless I was comatose on the floor!! I want my kids to not inherit my fears - not necessarily develop loves that I won't be able to handle!!

😂 I didn't! I don't think I could touch one. The school had someone bring in some giant bugs. She even held Millie, the giant millipede! I'm just glad I wasn't there to see it. I'd have struggled not to give the whole class phobias!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62406.70
ETH 3184.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79