You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FINANCE AND ROMANCE

Hey, @nonsowrites.

I don't live in a third world country, so I can't directly speak to your experience, but it does sound an awful lot like what happens here, making me think that it's a universal thing. My wife, who is from Mexico, has always equated a good financial situation to security. And I think security is what's as important to women than the actual ability to do something with money beyond paying bills. They want to have things, and they want to have security.

As you say, men typically grow believing that they will be the ones to care for their wife and eventual family. So, the dating process goes more in that way, where the woman can do the so called dating up, or marrying up, rather than the man. Personally, I don't see anything wrong with that, at least from the male perspective, because it may mean their head and heart are in the right place, which means that the relationship at least has a better chance of succeeding.

There is definitely a minimum amount of income that is required to maintain a household. It would be nice to at least have that, and some more for savings and doing some things each month. Beyond that, well, one can dream. And just getting to that point can be a struggle.

Of course, even women work. I would imagine that is changing even in your country, especially in the larger urban areas, where traditions tend to melt away faster than other places.

Sort:  

I agree with most of what you said and yes it is a universal thing. And most people equate financial stability with happiness which is not true. You can be in a high paying job and be miserable; you can have money and still be miserable in your relationship. Personally, if one claims to love or respect me because of it my financial status then I will always be suspicious about that person and their true intentions.

"Whats money without happiness."

Most people are not even chasing comfort but luxury. They want a life that is appealing on social media but that's not in. I'm not in a relationship and not planning on being in one anytime soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Financial stability has a lot to do with peace of mind particularly if you have dependents. High income isn’t enough. Financial stability is a product of having enough income for basic needs and modest spending habits.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What's funny about all this is, while women seem to equate financial stability to security, men, or at least in my case, equate love to security. If we know our wife/girlfriend loves us, we're good to go. If we don't know, we're confused and can be lost.

With women, love is something they seek, and I'm sure it's part of it, but if that security isn't there financially, too, love doesn't seem to be enough. :) Speaking from my own experience, so I'm sure there's going to be someone out there who thinks differently or has had a different experience. I guess we're making our own way through life and drawing our own conclusions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75