You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trip down memory lane, Steem Fest Edition

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

@karinxxl, yes! That bus ride! That was one of the highlights of my trip, actually. It was just so nice getting to sit with you and @revisesociology and chat and hang out in person.

I'm struggling with the idea of Bangkok, to be honest. I may end up going, but Thailand is one of the countries that participated in the dog meat trade until Soi Dog pushed some legislation through very recently. However, it's common knowledge that dog meat is still heavily trafficked in the back alleys and countrysides. Worse, the local belief that death by torture makes the meat taste better only adds to my aversion to this region of the world. I'm saddened that Steemfest organizers were unaware of this very dark and very disgusting practice so engrained in the culture of a locality that will benefit from tourism dollars spent by Steemians.

I'm sure I'll post more about this as time goes by. In the meanwhile, here's a link to a BBC article about the Asian dog meat trade. Thailand is still listed in this 2017 article as one of the countries guilty of this horrific practice.

While not widespread, [The Humane Society International] says the practice is most common in China, South Korea, The Philippines, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and the region of Nagaland in India.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/39577557/the-countries-where-people-still-eat-cats-and-dogs-for-dinner

The work Soi Dog has done in Thailand is the ONLY reason I would even consider traveling to that country. I'm still on the fence, though. Lots of research in my future.
https://www.soidog.org/content/ending-dog-meat-trade

Sort:  

Yes it is grim the dog meat situation in Thailand. I would have thought Malaysia as a better choice.

I understand your reluctance to come but it would be good to see you there again!

Combining it with a visit to some animal welfare charities/ people in Thailand cld be an option?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it could be an option. I also think that if Thailand is cooperating with Soi Dog on a national level, then that's a move to be rewarded by tourism support. So I haven't made a hard decision yet. I'm torn, and need to do more research. I do agree, though, that it would be great to see you again and catch up. So many things have happened since last November!

exactly, combining and expressing and making it a more usefull trip next to having a fun time, seems like a good way to go actually!

Well, I dont really think that one thing that is happening in a country has to exclude going there, AND it might be a perfect moment to ventilate you opinion about it there as well (for instance...i hate guns and carrot-like politicians but I still visit the US :D, catch my drift)
It would be a pity to not meet up because of that reason, even though I fully understand your averse against what happens with our pooches :(

I am putting in a 'see you there'already...just to be sure :D

I'm almost positive that Thailand has taken an official position against the dog meat trade, and if that's the case, I will most likely attend. I plan to contact Soi Dog and base my final decision on their response, since they are the ones who work so closely with those nations on this issue. Other countries that celebrate the torture and brutal death of sensient animals, however...well, not a chance I would spend a dime of tourism money within their borders to help finance that practice. For me, it's less of a comparison with guns and embarrassing leaders and more like the way I'd react to Mexico if suddenly their government endorsed the celebration of face peeling and other forms of torture by the cartels.

nice comparison on the mexican you have there... contacting Soi Dog seems like a usefull thing to do, and please let me know on this as well..

Would be a good thing to make a donate-steem-to-fund-soi-dog thing there at steemfest?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77