The road to SteemFest: Funding the campaign

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

One good but somewhat weird thing about being on Steem is my increasing comfort in talking about personal finances. I come from a generation and family where these things aren't up for public discussion but essentially to some degree here, the visibility of wallets and earnings somewhat normalizes it. I am not saying I am free but, it is less uncomfortable than I was. Baby steps. Having said that, there is still somewhat of a delineation between my Steem finances and my personal but, I will cross some of those boundaries a little today perhaps.

Oh, by @anomadsoul request, you can catch up on some of my other #roadtosteemfest posts (I think I missed some) through these links. Road to Freewrite, 3 Fun facts and My expectations.

History of Finance...

I failed both Finance 1 & 2 at University.

When my wife and I were married, we were in a pretty good financial position. We were both working and earning something and even though not a great deal, we were still able to save a decent proportion of our salaries and were able to clear a few debts along the way. I had started my business and for a couple of years, it was all pretty okay. My wife even was able to take a low-paid, massive opportunity job which will be a core part of her future employment possibilities (now, she is back to studying full time). Then our daughter was born and there were complications.

This threw everything into massive disarray, it came at a time of the year I was meant to be building courses for the next year, I had to take time off work, I lost clients, my wife was ill, my daughter was ill, money trickled in and flowed out. Two years of pretty hard saving was washed clear in less than 6 months. My wife and daughter's failing health meant she had to stop breast feeding after 6 months and due to some bureaucratic red tape, the special formula our baby needed wouldn't be subsidized. 600-700€ a month more needed to be found (almost twice our mortgage), we had no savings, I was the only one capable of working.

In near despair, I joined Steemit.

But, I pushed myself incredibly hard at my work, was able to get a couple clients extra and, struggle through without using the massive Steem earning I was getting which equated to about 20€ a week at the time. Yeah, Steem wasn't going to save us but, I enjoyed it. It was my space and while I sat up at night with my daughter crying every 30 minutes, I watched TV less, wrote more - and, here we are.

Today's position

Well, I still haven't used my Steem earnings although in the summer it came very close. Our daughter still has issues and even though the Finnish healthcare system covers most of the medical, there are many associated costs that come in many ways including, me having to miss work from time to time. On top of this, some of the companies I work for have scaled back and training is often the first thing they cut or, find hard to add to. Getting work is currently difficult.

So, still no savings.

Funding the SF3 Crusade

It feels like a holy mission to get there

As I mentioned, regardless of my own financial position, I still consider myself better off than many others so I am not entering any of the competitions for free tickets, if @ned wants to give me one, I won't say no though. Btw, great hair Ned.

  1. I started a power down. last week I stopped my 'emergency SteemFest buffer' powerdown to cover delegations to @steem-ua for some people. I started the powerdown again of what was free for just in case. I don't plan on using it though and will likely power it back up later. Honestly, I still don't know how I am meant to turn it into Fiat anyway.

  2. Work. Work. Work. I really, really don't want to have to use Steem to cover the event so, I am doing all I can to pick up an extra client session here or there to add a little more into the coffers. The problem is that over the last few months, there have been those one thing after another costs that have rolled in.

  3. Don't pay my taxes. Of course, I am going to have to pay my business taxes eventually but I am a little behind already so, I might be a little further behind. Having said that, this is a business trip isn't it? I am also getting a return this year (it comes after SteemFest though) so I am going to risk it.

  4. Go to the gym. Besides getting rid of a little pudge, starting back up at the gym means I am less likely to spend on unnecessary extras. I don't drink but, I do have a sweet tooth so cutting out a donut or two for a couple months is an easy way to put more aside.

  5. Go without. I mean that I go without, not my family. It is not like they are massive consumers anyway but making a few changes to the way I consume will hopefully be enough to close the gaps. All three of us have various health issues though so there are a few hundred euros in necessary medications we must cover. Candy is not a medication though, nor is sushi.

  6. I have considered selling my body on the street corner; butthe pudge means I am not really going to attract the big money anyway.

  7. Credit. :( At the end of the day, I am going to put some of it on a credit card. This is a big issue for me and I don't want t have to do this for anything ever but, I also see Steem Fest as an opportunity to be a larger part of something that I believe has a future. At the end of the day, I don't know if it will work but I don't want to miss out on the opportunity because of a few hundred euros.

Long views

I really wanted my wife to come too but it is impossible, even if we had the money because our daughter is unable to travel due to her food allergies and, it is way too long for both of us to be away from her, even if we did have people who could look after her during that time. When it comes to Steem, I wish my wife was more involved but, I am glad she trusts me enough to give some space so I can try to build something for our future.

I hate the feeling of relying on people but what is worse, is not being able to provide enough for those you care about so, I work so that one day, we may not have to worry about the unexpected expenses, the odd hospital stay, a client or two cutting back and of course, whether we can go and have sushi together.

Essentially, my answer to everything in this life is the same, work. If I want something, I have to do the work for it and making sacrifice, learning to take a risk or two, investing in the future is all part of the responsibility of work. I will work here, I will work in my business, I will work at home. I can still enjoy myself within these constraints. No one said work need be horrible, they just said i wouldn't be easy.

I am really hoping that part of my work will help some of the other great people I have met here, get to Steem Fest too and I am grateful to all the competitions and sponsors who are doing various things to help as many as possible. I think it makes a massive difference not only for the people that win but, for how the other entries engage and feel a part of the platform. I really enjoy the content that is created around this time of year and I think it shows a much better view of the real people that make at least parts of this community, awesome.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Go to steemfest even if you have to power down. I have faith that you will power back up.
Steemfest is important. I can't go. But it would put a smile on my face if you do. !!!

But it would put a smile on my face if you do. !!!

I am going to wave at you on all the cameras in the conference rooms

Essentially, my answer to everything in this life is the same, work. If I want something, I have to do the work for it and making sacrifice, learning to take a risk or two, investing in the future is all part of the responsibility of work.

It can be achieved with hard work. Most things can if you are stubborn enough to keep going. I have plenty expenses, motgage, car loan....... Enough to take most of my pay check every month. But I can still live fairly comfortably. I get up work hard and earn enough of a wage to cover all of these. If I didn't work this hard I wouldn't have enough to cover my outgoings and would probably lose the house.

But that is only the money coming in. It's the money going out that concerns me. Obviously we have certain set expenses that have to be paid no matter what. Outside of that however there are so many places that we can be smart with our money. Being smart about it makes all the difference. Looking for better contracts, switching brands, not buying designer clothes...... there are a hundred small savings that we can make without reducing our quality of life and over time really add up to big savings.

If you can reduce your weekly spend by $50 that is $2600 in just one year. More than enough for a trip. I work in retail so I can see how to do that for most people with just their grocery shopping and changing a few habits.

Hopefully you can make it to steemfest and it should be a great occasion for everybody who does go.

Posted using Partiko Android

I get up work hard and earn enough of a wage to cover all of these.

The wage part is a problem as I am self-employed and month to month there can be wild swings but unfortunately, not upward as high as the lows. Each month the variation in various health expenses swing too and a forced hospital visit on the wrong day can wipe out 20% for the month. Still managing though so far which in some ways makes me confident that if things do improve a little, we will be okay.

If you can reduce your weekly spend by $50 that is $2600 in just one year. More than enough for a trip. I work in retail so I can see how to do that for most people with just their grocery shopping and changing a few habits.

I remember reading about a guy who put 10 dollars a week for a couple of years into bitcoin (not at the start - last few years) and ended up with a couple 100k worth without even trading much. I don't think people really utilize their fiat coins well enough. What does that 50 dollars look like in 5 years spread 10 each across 5 likely future contenders? at current prices, that 10 a week is 700 steem a year. 3 ethereum. 100 EOS. 0.085 BTC and some other. if the Steem goes to $4 from here, it covers the cost for all the rest.

What does that 50 dollars look like in 5 years spread 10 each across 5 likely future contenders? at current prices, that 10 a week is 700 steem a year. 3 ethereum. 100 EOS. 0.085 BTC and some other. if the Steem goes to $4 from here, it covers the cost for all the rest.

That's a great way to think about it. I've topped up my portfolio with a hundred here and there when i could afford it. There are a few coins like STEEM that i would be optimistic about going forward so if i took this approach it could be very beneficial in a couple of years. Especially investing right now while everything is going so low. It might all come to nothing but money in the bank is only losing value so is it not better to take a chance with some of it. As long as you can hold your position and not have to cash it out.

The wage part is a problem as I am self-employed and month to month there can be wild swings but unfortunately, not upward as high as the lows. Each month the variation in various health expenses swing too and a forced hospital visit on the wrong day can wipe out 20% for the month.

I can see how this would make it very difficult to plan if you don't know what will be going in or out in any given month. I'm fortunate enough to have a monthly contract so i will get paid the same amount regardless of what happens. The downside obviously is that i can't earn any extra or overtime no matter how many hours i work in the month It does make it a lot easier to plan as i have the same income and roughly the same expenses every month. That is why i love steemit and hope that in the future it will be able to provide that extra income to give me breathing space from my bills and allow me more freedom to start my own business or choose a job because i love it rather than because it pays well. Hopefully we will see that someday.

The downside obviously is that i can't earn any extra or overtime no matter how many hours i work in the month It does make it a lot easier to plan as i have the same income and roughly the same expenses every month

This is the drawback indeed and why future supplementation is going to be such a large part of the economy I think. Companies will scale back also with tech advancements so essentially, being here is being ahead of the curve. The advantage isn't just over others though, it is to help others transition in when the time comes. New industries are going to be born, this is school.

I have considered selling my body on the street corner; but the pudge means I am not really going to attract the big money anyway.

I just feel obligated to say...there are all sorts of fetishes out there, man. Don't give up on the dream ;)

meme.jpg

Don't give up on the dream ;)

I think there might be more money in the fetish arena ;D

Thats the first thing that came to mind as well 🤣

Eventually all your hardwork will pay off Taraz. Spending the bare minimum to steemfest should be possible without having to power down.

Lol about No6

Yep. The powerdown is a just in case response as it takes time.

  1. I have considered selling my body on the street corner; but the pudge means I am not really going to attract the big money anyway.

My wife and I struggle when money is involved. Neither of us is very good with dealing with it but though work and dedication we were able to pay down all of our bills.... then came baby :-)

Now I am on the verge of looking for a second job for a bit of extra cash. Health care here in the USA is EXPENSIVE for a family. But I don't want to spend even less time my wife and son in the name of money. I would much rather work my tail off writing on Steemit and earn extra cash this way.

I am powering down my account part way but then everything. I am not going to actually sell the Steem yet but I do want to have it at the ready just in case the money is needed. I think we will be all good though, a raise is on the horizon at work and for the first time in .... I don't even remember, my healthcare is not going up in cost this year.

I can always write more on Medium as well. I like the idea of earning a wage not through an employer but through person effort and independence.

Have a great time at Steem fest, I hope I can check it out one day.

Neither of us is very good with dealing with it but though work and dedication we were able to pay down all of our bills.... then came baby

Sounds familiar :)

Now I am on the verge of looking for a second job for a bit of extra cash. Health care here in the USA is EXPENSIVE for a family.

I don't understand how a country that consumes 30% of the worlds resources can be so poor at looking after its people. It is insane.

I can always write more on Medium as well. I like the idea of earning a wage not through an employer but through person effort and independence.

This is what I am hoping there will be more of where we can actually use our skills to add revenue streams.

Undeniably it is not easy to survive when there were so many cash outflow going on. I admire on the grind and hustle you are at, and still going strong! For me, SF3 is still a luxury option for me to go for. Would prefer to keep up the work and make it for the next time. Nonetheless, your consistency and resilience really inspire me.

It is going to be touch and go but, I think I am going to be able to make it. The biggest question mark and always will be is the health of our daughter and that is not predictable.

If you work hard on the street corner you might earn and shift some pudge! ;0)

What worries me is.... my wife has no pudge at all.

@tarazkp it's nice reading about how you were able to overcome the trials by hardwork but does hardwork really pays?
Let me share a little about myself
I been away from home for over a year now because I feel it's time to take responsibilities, I got tried taken care of by my parent. So I made a decision to be on my own and work hard to bring food on my own table, to get myself shelter and to be come great in life..sounds so easy but then job is really hard to get these days but I got an intern offer where I can grow myself and my career but the allowance is nothing to write home about but I need to develop myself so I took it and still trying to look for other jobs, I got another job while still doing my intern but still there are days I can't bring food on my own table.
I work my butt out each day and I'm eating like an ant makes me wonder if I'm doing the wrong thing or there is something I'm not doing
I wish I know . Then someone introduced me to steemit and this platform have been where I can come to and forget everything. I could read or just write.
I have a passion to impact and the world should know I was here but I wish I know how
I'm on the road to self discovery and self development but the process seems to be taking forever.
ND I'm tired of been brave some days I just wanna go home

Taking responsibility for the self is a big decision but, it puts control in your hands rather than be a victim of circumstances. The hard work isn't just the blood, sweat and tears, it is the blood, sweat and tears doing the right things. For each person it is different what is needed which is why, each person needs to take the responsibility in the first place because no one is going to do the work for us.

It is like exercise, you can go to the gym and work incredibly hard but, I m not going to get into better shape because of your effort.

Being away from home can be hard I know. I live in Finland, my family is in Australia.

Work out what you want from life today, work out what you need to d to get there, work for it, revue your movements, adjust for new ideas. repeat, and revue and keep your eyes, ears and attitude open for opportunities.

Thanks so much on your reply @tarazkp .
Taking a step at a time

Financial planning is hard as when you think you are getting to the point something else happens. That is life I am afraid but you have added Steem to your work and it will be the catalyst to set you on the path to a comfortable living. Not yet though so we have to keep concentrating on the now but soon it will happen. You deserve it and the hours and sacrifices you have put down already it will pay back hugely. I am more confident of this than ever and it is just a matter of time.

I am more confident of this than ever and it is just a matter of time.

I think the same, it is the holding on until then that is the battle.

You have done the hard work already, it is just maintaining it now. It is never any easier but you have the experience of 2 years behind you. Two years is a huge chunk of time and it has to pay off. Your two years id probably the equivalent of 4 years compared to most users by the amount of time you have actually put in. That is why I spend so much time on here as you can play catch up just with the hours spent here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99