Shout-out Saturdays!! -- Issue #4 from The Weasel's Wife -- The Geezer Edition

in #shoutoutsaturdays6 years ago (edited)

The Geezer Edition

SpringBuds-002-041118.jpg
Image Source

I've been away so long!!

Ok, true confessions time. It has been three whole weeks (Count them. One ... two ... three.) since I posted anything on this blog. WTF is wrong with this picture? It's almost like it wasn't worth the trouble it took to open the account. I should be ashamed of myself -- and believe me, I am.

It's like missing one week on #shoutoutsaturdays was bad enough. But then another week went by and what happened? Nothing. Again. I couldn't believe it. Srsly? What happened? Did I break all my fingers? Am I laid up in traction somewhere? Was I kidnapped by terrorists? Did @catweasel finally drive me insane? No. None of that. I got busy. I lost track of the time. I have no excuse more exciting than that.

As a matter of fact, I thought I was doing great week before last. I thought I had scads of leeway -- and I could get that post written at a slow walk. I was all set to go ... convinced down to my bones it was only Thursday. (It sure felt like Thursday.) Only it wasn't Thursday at all. Saturday had done snuck up on me -- totally. I was so distressed by the discovery (am I losing it, or what??) that I had to lie down for a nap to recover ... and lo, and behold, I didn't get anything done. (I did sleep an extra five hours though, so it wasn't a total loss.)

Not one word written though. Didn't even pick out my Shout Out Candidates. Nothing. I had a theme. That was it. That and a dime won't even buy you a cup of coffee these days. Anyone else remember when coffee was a dime? Back in the Stone Age. When dinosaurs walked the earth. Well, I do. And to honor some others who may remember that, too ... this issue of Shout Out Saturdays is dedicated to the geezers in my follow-on line. I promised that last time, and to that extent at least I am still a woman of my word.

So, here we go. It's no secret us oldsters can hold up our own end and still pull our own weight -- both at the same time. We write great blog posts -- full of our voice-of-experience wisdom. We're chockful of talent -- because we've had decades to practice. And we see the folly of youth with a tolerant eye -- because we remember, we were once young ourselves. And still are -- at heart.

So ... here's to the geezers. Long may we rave.

cws.gif

PansiesInAPot-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@lizelle

Hmmm. Decisions, decisions. Let's start with @lizelle. I hope she won't mind being the official Leader of Geezers, 'cause being first in line here kind of makes her that. She lives in South Africa -- which sounds really exotic to me in the first place. But her real gift is that she is an artist with food. She comes up with especially wonderful sandwiches -- I think for a regular competition here on Steemit -- and then photographs them -- and the process -- until her posts are, as I said, works of art.

Her husband must weigh 500 pounds, because she uses him as her guinea pig and source of testimonials for how much he enjoyed what she concocted. I wonder if he's ever had to try any disasters -- because at a certain skill level, it's hard to go wrong. Your final results become the difference between superb and sensational. Razor-thin margins on which is your favorite.

You and I would probably be thrilled with either description, and I know for a fact @catweasel would arm-wrestle her husband for a shot at being her taste-tester every so often. (Warning to @lizelle: He won't stop with just a taste. One good thing leads to another. You know how that goes.)

Stop in and check on her doings once in a while. The old girl gets lonely -- and she hasn't posted any good stuff in our dining car channel in over a week. Maybe she could use some applause. And upvotes. And maybe a foot massage.

cws.gif

ButterflyOnPinkFlowers-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@shadowspub

Next is someone who will certainly get her own mention in other categories as #shoutoutsaturdays develops. You may know her from her work on @steemitramble (the new home for her flagship Steemit curation project). She also does a lot of civic service and volunteer work for worthy causes.

She gets embarrassed when people talk about all the good she does in the world ... because that's how good people are. I'm talking, of course, about @shadowspub. (I don't know where she got that name, and I don't want to be uppity and ask.) But if you haven't stumbled across Steemit Ramble in your wanderings down the highways and byways of the platform, do yourself a favor and make it a deliberate destination.

You'll find great posts and stuff about PYPT ... Pimp Your Post Thursday ... a voice-based post-promotion project that is garnering quite a fan-base the longer it goes on. If you want to get your latest post before an audience of interested eyes, that's the place to be. People chatter about it all week ... in delight and in anticipation. So check out @shadowspub's blog and find out what all the fuss is about. I think she was like the third person I followed on Steemit. When you get there, I think you'll see why.

Now I'm not sure how much @shadowspub actually qualifies as a geezer. In fact, I'm not sure where the threshold is for that in the first place. But her younger sister is grandmother to a kid who's probably old enough to drive and is going to college now. So, you know ... you do the math.

cws.gif

White Vase and Blue Flowers-082416.jpg
Image Source

@catweasel

Now, if I really wanted to get his goat, I could list @enginewitty here as a geezer. He just turned forty and his dad was ribbing him about it. (Keep in mind that what goes around comes around.) So I'll leave him for another time and move on to a legitimate geezer.

I'm talking about that old rapscallion, @catweasel. One thing I'll say for him, he's one of a kind. Aquarius Rising and a little bit crazy on top of that. Not quite crazy in the same way as @crazybgadventure, the guy who started this whole deal. But close.

He doesn't post often, but when he does it's usually worth reading. He has, shall we say, his own "style." And the fact that it takes him forever to type something (because the guy cannot type. He types with one finger. Not even two fingers. One finger!) keeps his output down to a tolerable roar. I'd say that's a good thing for my sanity. Whenever he gets going, my first thought is ... "OMG, he's at it again."

He claims to be not quite human -- and most of the time I can agree with that. We won't go into the reasons. But occasionally he slips up in his silliness and writes something serious -- revealing that coveted "proof of brain" that everyone here is so on about. It hides a lot, I agree. You have to know what to look for. But that's part of the mystery -- and the challenge ... of keeping up with the creature. Follow him for a while. You'll see what I mean.

(I now disavow all responsibility for anything that follows on from your experience of taking my advice. You're in this at your own risk, so be prepared for anything. I have to be. And nobody even bothered to warn me first, either.)

cws.gif

BluePansies-001-041118.jpg
Image Source

@sultnpapper

Lastly, I'm going to mention @sultnpapper again. I've listed him before, but then I kind of fell off the pony. Besides, good recommendations don't just come around once. As time goes by, he'll certainly pop up here again.

@sultnpapper is a crusty old codger, full of opinions -- but with a heart of gold. You know the type from the movies. He's also got the discipline to sit at the keyboard and write out something every day. (Well ... every night.) Part of the fun is discovering what's stuck in his craw this time.

Sometimes he does a food review. (The man is crazy for barbeque -- and he lives in Texas, so it's a natural fit.) Sometimes he does an interesting glimpse into his inner world or his family. Yeah, he's a geezer, but his children are young. That's what happens when you're picky about who you hook up with for life -- and hold out for only the best. (MrsSultnPapper must really be something. I'm inclined to think we may have more in common she and I than you'd see at first glance. But that's me. Maybe giving myself lots of credit. I'm sure MrsS&P deserves her fair share!!)

Lately he's been chafing about stuff going on in the government -- and it's hard to argue with his conclusions and logic. Something's gotta give there. It's just a matter of when all the outrage reaches critical mass -- 'cause when the geezers of the world are ready to kick ass and take names, we've got a big bunch of trouble ... right here in River City.

We've been around too long to buy into easy lies and excuses. We're not afraid to call things like we see them, and we were educated in the era before Facebook and selfies. So we can speak the language and write it pretty well, too. Also, a lot of us have kids and grandkids -- and are more than ready to fight The Establishment to keep this world fit for them to inhabit. When we pick up the fallen standard on that mission, The Establishment will find themselves in a whole mess of trouble. It's coming.

Meanwhile, check in with @sultnpapper -- for the fun. For the fussing. For the food -- and a bunch of fine writing. Find out just which way the wind is blowing today. There's a hurricane coming. It's just off the coast. When he gets wound up, you can hear it -- starting to howl.

cws.gif

enchanted_red.png

cws.gif

The STEEM Engine

cws.gif

thealliance_logo.png

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

cws.gif

LadiesOfSteemit

cws.gif

unknown.png

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator

cws.gif

Sort:  

That grand-nephew of mine had best not be driving since he's only 11 but don't rule college out. He's a smart lad just like his nana. As for geezer... I likely qualify.

Well, your sister included a photo of her kayak with said grandchild sitting in it. She said she'd had it for 11 years and this was from its second season. The young'un looks older than two -- so that's what I went by. (Then again, what do I know.) But he'll be begging for the car keys soon enough. I won't rush things.

Geezerdom has a lot to recommend it. Discounts, loose clothes, naps. Nobody cares. You can speak your mind and get away with it. You can pretend you've gone deaf when it suits you. (It's how I cope with The Weasel.) Part of me thinks we should all start out here and stay this way.

You are spot on about Mrs. Papper, or as she is known around here as "Charro", she is a saint. She has put up with me now for 24 years and that would have more than likely killed any other woman, or vice versa.
Thank you for including me in the geezer section, we may be old but we still have a lot to offer. The others you mentioned are all quality people and I am honored to be here with them in your shout out.

You're welcome ... and you're right. About everything. As always. Select one choice or the other as appropriate. <3

Of course I'm right, we both are. I wouldn't go as far as too say "always" though, I have made a miscalculation every now and then, but very rarely.

"Read my lips. Know new taxes." The only one I can point to.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I believe you are correct.

The fact that I'm responding 4 days after you posted this blog, proves that I indeed am the leader of the old geezers @theweaselswife!
Thank you for the chuckle, really needed it, have been going through a sad time with losing a young friend; I'm actually in the city of gold Johannesburg for the memorial.
But life goes on and us old geezers will continue steeming along so I will be back in the dining car soon; was starting to feel a tad embarrassed being the only one pimping my posts there :):)
Will check out @shadowspub, so thank you for that introduction! My good friend Mr Papper I know, won't tell us his name; I actually met him when he made a mistake with my name & @simplylizelle's, so I made two new friends through that mistake! He told @simplylizelle, who certainly is not an old geezer, that his name is Sult and his surname is Papper, so I only know him as mr Papper!
Oh my word you have me worried now, will have to watch out for @catweasel!
Must tell you a secret, I used to hate making sandwiches, so boring, but love making weird & wonderful steemit sandwiches for @jaybird's contest; hubby's in seventh heaven now, no more plain cheese & tomato sarmies!
Thank you so much for the honour of featuring here :)

I love you. I love you all the time, but I especially love you when you are saying nice things about me, and in the company of all these other ultra-fine geezers to boot.

I could find lots more to say, but I think it must be time for my nap.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I love all you "geezers" so much and if I end up like you all, I will feel proud of myself 💚💚💚

You could sure do worse. When I was young(er) I had oldsters I wanted to be when I grew up, too. I don't think I hit that target through. Instead, I wound up as me. (Maybe that's a good subject for a blog post. I'll have to think about that.)

Congratulations @theweaselswife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

In fact, I'm not sure where the threshhold is for that in the first place.
It should be threshold instead of threshhold.

If you're gonna call yourself @grammarnazi, you should probably not fuck up correcting someone's grammar.

LMAO .. you tell it @ancapbarbie ... they instead of threshold would be one weird ass sentence

The above comment has, to my knowledge, been edited twice. (Sorry I can't get the formatting right.)

Original:
You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

In fact, I'm not sure where the threshold is for that in the first place.

It should be they instead of threshold.

First edit:
You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

In fact, I'm not sure where the threshold is for that in the first place.

It should be threshold instead of threshold.

Second edit:
You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

In fact, I'm not sure where the threshhold is for that in the first place.

It should be threshold instead of threshhold.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You fucking asshole. Grownups are talking. Learn English or go play in traffic, I don't give a shit which.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61