You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm back! - Chrysocolla & Sterling Silver Pendant

in #slothicorn6 years ago

I am really impressed with your work, how many hours did this piece take to create? Also curious about if when you are twisting the wire if you do that bare handed or if you wear some type of gloves to keep from getting oils from your skin on the silver?
You have a fan in me, can't wait to see what is next.

Sort:  

This one took about 5 hours, as always spread over a couple of sessions to keep a critical eye on the design.
So when i started years ago I did struggle with avoiding cuts to my (baby soft) hands, now I've got a bit better at handling it and my skins firmed up a bit thats not an issue. With the oils its not really been an issue with silver. I wash my hands before working most of the time but its generally fine. Copper on the other hand, goes a cool pink colour when i've been working the same piece a lot, again though it polishes up quite easily at the end.
these things exist which ive always thought look hilarious... https://www.amazon.com/Reusable-Finger-Gloves-Versatile-Coverage/dp/B0002NYPGU
and i know some people wear rubberised tape on their fingers for a bit of protection from the sharp ends

Looks like little condoms for each finger, but I hate using full latex rubber gloves when I work outside on the cars because they cause the hands to sweat so much,. I find that I would much rather have to get the grease off my hands then to have sopping wet skin from all the sweat.
Five hours over a couple sessions doesn't sound that bad, I thought it would be much longer.

oh yes sweaty glove hands is the worst!
I intended on just making this a one session piece but once im in the zone i get a bit carried away

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90