My personal involvement in the last SndBox Quest - Project Speak Freely TV

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

summercamp.jpg

Dear readers,

You’ve probably wondered why I haven’t posted as much as usual lately. When the price of SBD goes down, people tend to get discouraged and simply blog less. This wasn’t my case, however.

I was actually busy working with an amazing team on our final @sndbox quest, which consisted in coming up with a detailed business plan for a project of our choosing. The one I had the opportunity to be part of, is the @speakfreelytv project.

sftv.jpg

At the following link you’ll be able to read our plan and what our project is about.

Untitled drawing(2).jpg

My involvement


1) Why I chose Speak Freely TV

I should start by explaining why I chose this particular project. All the others also seemed interesting, but somehow I knew that everyone would jump on charities. I wanted to do something different, so I looked for a project that stood out.

Secondly, I have a bit of an activist side to me, and I like to fight for what I consider to be right. This includes social injustice, animal and human rights, and of course freedom of speech is a huge one. Not being able to freely say what we believe in and denounce injustice when we witness it, is an infringement to our freedom. In our current world, I don’t believe that we are truly free as individuals. Our governments give us just enough freedom to make us believe that we are free, but in reality, who truly is? We work like slaves, are brainwashed by commercials and superficial TV shows, listen to the lies of our “elected” politicians, and watch our governments bomb the shit out of innocent people on the evening news. The information we receive is filtered, and we only see what we’re allowed to see. Social media and the blockchain will change things, and enable people to speak their truth publicly and without censorship from any part of the globe. I stand for freedom of speech, the true kind, and therefore, this project really appealed to me.

2) My role in the creation of the business plan

This post is supposed to document my involvement during the creation of our project plan. I feel like the members of my team @cahlen, @tifaong, @amymya, @akbarrafs and @wanderlass and I were all pretty much equally involved in the development of this plan, on different fronts.

The beginning

I’m a bit of a stressed out person, meaning that I like to start early when given a deadline. I used to be like that in University as well, starting my papers right away when most of my friends would wait until the day before the deadline. I honestly hate deadlines, so I try to get assignments out of the way ASAP. I had the same mindset on this project, and I was very happy when our team members offered to submit the post 2 days early.

I like working with Google Docs since it allows everyone to edit a document simultaneously, so I created one called “Roadmap for Speak Freely TV” and put in the very first points that we had discussed in our group chat. These included the vision and mission of the platform, as well as some ideas that we had mentioned for contests and videos, as well as the next steps to take.

The introduction video

When the idea of an introduction video came up in which we would present what Speak Freely TV is all about, I offered to write a first draft of the script, which you will see in the picture below.

script.jpg

We chose to edit with different font colors so that we could see who made changes, and my color is red. We selected the line(s) that we wanted to say in the video, so this process was very quick and easy, and then we all recorded each other on camera saying our respective lines and shared them with @akbarrafs, who edited it nicely.

I personally don’t have any experience with project management and I’m not an expert when it comes to video editing, so I offered help the best way I knew how: Writing. Words usually come easy to me, so it seemed like the way I could contribute the most. I also enjoy creating amateur videos quite a lot, and can definitely see myself doing that for Speak Freely TV in the future.

Our main written post

Once our official video was finished, we moved on to structuring the plan of our main post according to what a "real" business pan would look like. We each chose the sections we are were comfortable writing about, so I focused on the mission & vision as well as the executive summary and the objectives & goals (see screenshots below).

mission and vision.jpg

exec summary.jpg

goals.jpg


Afterthoughts


Our main post has already been published on our @speakfreelytv account, and I personally think that it looks great. Our team worked together splendidly, and I would be happy to have the same team members stay on board if we get chosen as winners. We didn’t have any slackers on board, nor did I feel any competitiveness or toxicity between members. Unfortunately, this often happens when teams are chosen by others. I’ve seen it in Uni, at work, and and it’s the same anywhere money or a reward is involved. I believe that I was very lucky to be placed with such knowledgeable and capable people.

Our cooperation was flawless and easy, and we didn’t encounter any bumps on the road. Our personalities were compatible, and every member was extremely helpful. Our communication was consistent throughout the entire process, via video conferences and our group chat on discord, despite the enormous differences in time zones.

Untitled drawing(2).jpg

@anomadsoul, @guyfawkes4-20, @voronoi and @hansikhouse thank you again for this opportunity, and I hope that you’ll enjoy reading our proposal. I’m anxiously waiting for your feedback =)

eve.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratz on the job nicely done! Gong to check it now...

Btw:

I’m a bit of a stressed out person, meaning that I like to start early when given a deadline. I used to be like that in University as well, starting my papers right away when most of my friends would wait until the day before the deadline.

I wish I was like this :/ I'm probably not gonna finish my thesis on time and will have to pay university cca 1k dollars to extend my studium for one semester :D Im laughing but Im sad :D

ahhh no I prefer to be laid back and relax =) I'm always jealous of people who never get stressed

Well, I guess the ideal is (as always) somewhere in the middle :D I wish I was a bit more stressed in the previous months :D What would hopefully result in more of work from my side haha

Hey @evecab, you're extremely right! I've never worked with a team that's so proactive, self-initiative and can basically survive without a leader! Each of us are good with something and we're working to our strengths to plan for this project, which is simply marvellous!

I really enjoyed working with you Eve, you're one of the most proactive person I've ever known :)

See you in sndbox hehe :)

Aw thanks Tifa, I cross my fingers that we can keep working together on this one =)

I am very happy to work together with you all :)

Yes, I really hope so!

I knew you were going to be a bad ass in this project and rightly so because I see you as a freedom fighter who speak her mind on the things that matter like Freedom, Animal Rights and being part of the UN this would be a great project for you.

thanks Mav, yes it was just the right one for me =) Hope you're enjoying your weekend away from the city!!

Great to read about the speakfreely TV project and your process @evecab. Best of luck with the everything :-)

Thank you @raj808, likewise! I'll go check out your project now =) Enjoy your weekend!

I agree that everyone in our team was equally involved. It was so easy to work with everyone. Happy to have joined this team! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95