Relax....

in #speakyourmind6 years ago (edited)

"Relax....."

photo-1497303857935-6ef75a089945.jpg
Image Source

This is something I have said so much to my mom and then I find my husband saying to me ever since we have our child 3 years ago. Hahaha. I think I must have been always on my guard or the "flight or fight" mode.

I am thinking why have I gotten so tense and fidgety. Honestly, I am also a bit scared I would develop anxiety like what my mom is having currently from time to time. Then, I tried to just trace back to when it started. It has gotten more "serious" since the arrival of our boy because my protective instinct is always up. Yeah, I get it a lot from others that "If you overprotect him, he cannot grow." In case you do not know, I do let go more and more deliberately, one of which is also people's comments hahahaha!

Anyway, I am trying to just harbor on the good aspects of this mother's instinct.

Published in the September issue of the Psychological Science, a journal of the Association for Psychological Science the research says that breast feeding mothers have an aggressive instinct of protecting themselves and their babies. The research results say that due to breastfeeding the body’s usual response to fear is dampened giving women an extra edge and courage to defend themselves and their babies. This is similar to how mama bears are seen to protect their young ones and therefore it is being called the ‘mama bear’ affect. Source-Growing Your Baby

So, that's why!!! I am a MAMA BEAR!!! LOL.

Read this too that I find very interesting, so I will just quote it here:

While generally humans and other animals flee or freeze when faced with an imminent threat — mothers stay put to protect their babies. And neuroscientists from Lisbon’s Champalimaud Centre have discovered the secret ingredient which makes mothers fight rather than flee - it's the ‘bonding’ or love hormone, oxytocin.
The new study examined mothers' defensive behaviour and how oxytocin regulates their reactions. Source-Growing Your Baby

I often feel like adrenaline is rushing through me and I am just ready. Ready for what? I honestly don't know, haha. I am learning to embrace the inner "mama bear" and accept that I have changed yet not overdoing it to create unnecessary pressure to others around me (though I know I am, I am so sorry).

Looking at my mom, she has been relentlessly protecting us four children by not introducing junk food to us till we were 9. She did a lot of things which I could not understand back then but I can understand slightly more now that I am also a parent. I have become more and more grateful for her intention behind her actions. She wakes up really early to make breakfast for us, homemake all her buns and breads, even noodles as much as she can. I could not understand what's with all the troubles, but now I know it is her protective instinct. Happy Mother's Day, Mummy!

Learning to relax

photo-1465409042654-5314e9d1754b.jpg
Image Source

It was Mother's Day yesterday at where I am, and I strive to relax. I got to know that my child and family are in good hands, God's hands. He wants to love them and can love them and me more than I can. I got to stop just relying on my strength but to trust Him and also others around me more.

I have learnt to take a step back yesterday, off some duties and commitment from Steemit too, to just relax and talk with my boy and look at his face as he look at mine. I savor moments like this because I know they do not last and with the amount of thing he talks about these days, I know he is growing up very fast. He has been asking me to put away phone so I figured I must do that more yesterday, which explains my absence a bit more.

IMG_20180513_110225.jpg

IMG_20180513_110400.jpg

IMG_20180513_110419.jpg

IMG_20180513_110427.jpg

There are many ways to relax which I will not go into, because it differs from what status we are in. We can relax at where we are.

Now God has offered to us the same promise of entering into his realm of resting in confident faith. So we must be extremely careful to ensure that we all embrace the fullness of that promise and not fail to experience it. ~Hebrews 4:1 (The Passion Translation)

It takes deliberate effort to enter the rest. (Oh yeah, every year on Mother's Day, I treat myself to a whole tub of ice cream! That's me celebrating myself!)

Now that I know how I am made in my human design and also knowing that there is a place for rest, I know I can juggle this better for my well-being as well. Thank you for reading through my ramblings. Happy Mother's Day to every mother, especially my mom and mom-in-law and even every single parent who has taken the place of a mom. You are all inspiring and wonderful!

IMG-20180513-WA0013.jpg

"Remember to breathe...."

IMG_20180514_115703.jpg
A shirt given to me by a friend when I was pregnant.

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Gah! I am a mama bear too!! So happy you got to enjoy mother's day with your little man. Ice-cream shops may have run out of stock yesterday lol. xo

Lol, I was smart enough to buy the tub a day before. Haha. Thanks for confirming by @mumma-monza. Hope you are having a good time with your family too. Saw your husband went on a trip with the boys! :)

Yes, the boys went back to the capital city for a follow-up appoint for my eldest son with his psychiatrist. They had a whole day to fill and went on foot through the city and came across this little part of town that is full of monkeys everywhere. Us girls who stayed home were totally jealous.
Hmmmm, I wonder of thee are any post Mother's Day ice-cream sales?? You can never eat too much ice-cream lol.

hahaha if I were to sell ice cream one day, I am definitely capitalizing on all the female celebration day!!!! :P Imagine the earnings!

Such fun the boys had!!! Time to think of one for the girls and get the guys to care for the house while you are gone!

YES!!! That's a wonderful idea @happycrazycon. I think I can feel a spa day coming on!!

@Philippekiene, you have got the chores and the boys xoxo

Often I am reminded by Jason to relax too. to calm down. haha. Guess our adrenaline always making war with us. 😉

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Learning to relax is one of the hardest things I have ever tried to do!

This post proves to be a worthy post for the #greetersguild initiative, bringing knowledge, people, and resources together for new users to succeed on the steemit blockchain. Support @terminallyill the visionary behind this cause and whom summoned me to upvote your post.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

First of all, those pictures are so darn cute!!!

My boys are now 20 and 23, so I speak from some experience when I say, if you don't ever let them fall, if you don't ever let them fail, they will never know how to pick themselves up on their own, they will never learn how to grow, they will never learn how to improve. Life is about learning, and as parents, our job is to teach them, but then also to let them learn and grow and fail, because only when they 'fail' at something, will they learn something new. Life is about learning and my job as a mom was never about making their life perfect, because let's face it, life is not perfect, and if we don't teach them how to deal with imperfections and failures, they will never know how to. I always taught my boys that a true test of their character was not how they dealt with life when everything was good, but the real test of their character was how they dealt with life when it wasn't good, when life was difficult and unfair. How they reacted to that was the true test of their character.

The thing I hated most about my kids being little, was everyone telling me how to parent, so please, take this or throw it out the window :) You will never hurt my feelings. You're his mom and you know what is best. Period. I hope I have just given you something to think about.

And again...my goodness he is cute!! The time you spend with him will always be way more valuable than anything you can ever buy him, that I do know for sure! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97