Steemit Markdown: Three Tips for Experienced Rookie Veterans and Beginner Level Advanced Novice Experts

in #steem-help6 years ago (edited)


Markdown can be difficulty. These three tips will make it more easier.

Steemit Markdown Tip 1: Learn JavaScript and C++


Steemit Markdown is impossible to use if you have not learned JavaScript and C++. Luckily for us, JavaScript and C++ can both be learned by studying two to three hours a day for only four or five years.

A lot of people will try to take shortcuts and claim they learned both high-level programming languages in only a year or two, but their lack of mastery is obvious in the Markdown errors in their Steemit posts, especially when you find them constantly posting an accidental “two spaces” after a period instead of one.

And we all have experienced how even a single double-space after a period makes an entire post completely inreadable. So don’t take shortcuts. Take half a decade or so to learn JavaScript and C++ and then you’ll be ready to move on up to Steemit Markdown.

74D1D0C2-82FF-429A-BCF6-B939159BFC61.png Image by Jose R. Cabello

Steemit Markdown Tip 2: Always Remember to Reticulate Splines


One of the open secrets of the Steemit Whales’ success is the extreme care they put into always reticulating splines, before, during, and after posting using Markdown.

Failure to reticulate splines is the real, ultimate reason for almost every error you see on Steemit.

Have you ever seen a post with a spelling error?

That’s just a failure to reticulate splines during the spellcheck function.

Have you ever come across a post where the thumbnail picture isn’t the right size?

That could have been avoided if the poster had set their camera to reticulate splines BEFORE hanging their thumbnail photograph to dry in their darkroom.

Ever wondered how the whales earn hundreds of dollars on boring posts lacking any real content?

They only make this money by actually remembering to reticulate splines at 100% before and after every single post using Markdown.

So how do you reticulate splines?

Easy! Click on your profile picture. When the menu of options comes up, click on the “Markdown Options” beteeen the “Change Password” and “Settings” links. Then click on the “reticulating splines” slider and make sure it’s set all the way to the top-left of the bottom right half of the screen at 100%. And you’re done!

(If you don’t see the “Markdown Options” link on your menu, it’s likely that you haven’t resteemee enough vesting witnesses yet. You’ll just have to accumulate more steemits in toggle night mode and eventually, your steemits will sync with your SteemDollarPower and the “Markdown Options” link will start showing up three times a day. Just be patient, it’s worth it!)

66DDA946-F718-483E-A91B-BACC9FF4251D.jpegImage by Mohamed Hassan

Steemit Markdown Tip 3: Save Money by Powercycling Your Computer or Phone Before Every Time You Use Markdown to Make Headers in Your Posts


Have you ever wonder why some peoples’ wallets show a negative amount of money in parentheses underneath their Steem Power amount?

Sometimes this is representative of delegated Steem Power. But it’s also a rarely publicized fiction that hidden upvote bots use GUI crawlers to take Steem Power from people who don’t power cycle their computer or their phone before every instance of using Markdown to insert headers in their posts.

Even though this has never happened on Steemit, presumably everyone is interested in saving time and effort. This is why I never powercycle my computer or phone before every instance of using Markdown to insert headers in my posts. I don’t advise you not to fail to not do the same.

I hope these tips will continue helping you increase your expert Steemit posting knowledge to an even more advanced novice level!

Sort:  

How do I translate this post?

I've done the first sentence for you

Ṃᾄʀќḋὄᾧᾗ ƈᾄᾗ вἔ ḋἷғғἷƈὗłҭẏ. Ҭђἔṩἔ ҭђʀἔἔ ҭἷῥṩ ᾧἷłł мᾄќἔ ἷҭ мὄʀἔ ἔᾄṩἷἔʀ.

Welcome to I.L.T where the sentences are made up and the meanings don't matter.

This is, literally, to what I aspire every time fingers smash the keys.

Aww scenes from the hat

Thank you. Finally someone with a worthwhile guide on here. While some may not consider me your target audience I consider myself a Expert Level Novice beginner. I have been waiting for over 3 years to see something in simple English on markdown so that I can bring posting on steemit and pre date my posts 2 months prior to the guide being created. Words expressing thanks have been hard to come by those splines really did a number on me, I genuinely thought they were just ordinary splines figures Yodi would be the one to work out they reticulate. It's so obvious now!!!

I was already crying just reading the first tip. I will take your advices and find some good guides to Javascript and C++ immediately. Do you think it can take less than 5 years in some cases my good sir? Because I'm afraid I could be dead before finishing a course of studying requiring half a decade. Perhaps once I am masterful with C++ I can successfully reticulate my own spline and save even more time, while posting the value of my worthless post.

In any case, I will see you in 5 years time once my studies are complete. Or perhaps earlier if the Javascript and C++ are bored me.

I wish you well on your trek and look forward to many many amazing bolds and italics using your markdown skills acquired through your toil.

I also don't advice you not to keep writing useful guides like this.

And congrats on the curie! Happy my resteem helped get people to read it more!

My vote is now worthless again for a short period, so I hope my even more worthless thanks is enough. (It’s not, but hope is a strong drug).

I sincerely hope that this post becomes the defacto for beginners , even if to just break the ice when the questions come into steemit.chat

Problem with using javascript as one of the example languages is that every Tom, Dick and their sister Jane thinks they are pros at it because they got to fade something out when clicking a button.

All in all this could have been written by a politician as it says so much but nothing at all.
Made my day.

I can vouch for tip #2. Once I understood spline reticulation, steemit became a lot easier.

Congratulations @ilt-yodith, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2868 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $7405.58. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76