Yo...

in #steem4 years ago

Just wanted to write a quick post as I haven't had the chance to do so in some time with everything going on. I gotta be honest I was really excited for Steem with communities coming out and the EIP being enforced more and more and seeing all the curation happening. I was also for a split second excited for the acquisition even though I did have prejudices against Sun because I know the perception he has from the rest of the crypto community outside Steem and I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt. I don't want to get too into all of that right now as I don't want to make the post about him.

This has all been very demotivating to say the least. I've tried my best to work hard for Steem and seeing it in this risk zone right now is not a good feeling but it's important to keep going. Apologize for the sloppy curation the past couple days, for a few days I wasn't even curating at all while all of this was going on but I'm going to try get back to it a bit more as it's unfair to the regular content creators who aren't as aware of everything going on with Steem right now even though it may be hard to miss.

I am very proud of everyone coming together, showing the strengths of DPOS and fighting back vs stake that is being used for voting that shouldn't be. The unity that is being created here and personal issues set aside to work together for the greater good is a great feeling and it ensures me that whatever happens Steem will live on, maybe not the exact chain, maybe not on the exact exchanges but a majority of users will be united and continue the vision of Steem one way or another and that gives me hope for a better future.

Decentralization and blockchain always meant to me to remove middlemen and centralized entities and I believe Steem has been suffering from the latter for a very long time. I am sorry the hard working employees of Steemit had to face the consequences but I hope there will be new solutions for them so they can continue working and see this vision come true one day. This is a true test for what we believe in and I hope that united we will overcome it and come out of it stronger than ever before and show the rest of the crypto space that we had it in us all along even though many thought Steem was dead because our marketcap may not be as big as others. They don't understand how Steem works, the amount of lives it touches every day and helps even if that means at the cost of the value of the token. Not hard to understand now that they don't considering even someone buying a majority of stake doesn't, but they will eventually. It's hard for us who spend our daily lives here to realize how difficult it is to dive into the rabbit hole and find out everything there is to Steem but we will keep growing and showing more and more users what they've been missing out on day by day.

OCD will continue curation tomorrow and revamp the compilation post a bit to showcase the best posts we've curated from different communities and also posts outside of communities. It's important to keep going, whatever happens will happen. The power of blockchains will always make it possible for us to continue existing in one way or another and that gives me hope. Let's see how it goes.

Thank you to everyone and everyone returning to use your votes to vote for our governance. We're one of the best distributed coins out there and it really shows in numbers now on our consensus witnesses compared to the fake ones.

Sort:  

Just wanted to write a quick post as I haven't had the chance to do so in some time with everything going on. I gotta be honest I was really excited for Steem with communities coming out and the EIP being enforced more and more and seeing all the curation happening. I was also for a split second excited for the acquisition even though I did have prejudices against Sun because I know the perception he has from the rest of the crypto community outside Steem and I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt. I don't want to get too into all of that right now as I don't want to make the post about him.

I had also wanted to approach Sun with an open mind, which wasn't too hard as I was mainly ignorant of his past. I am grateful for those like you who didn't want to jump to conclusions immediately.

This has all been very demotivating to say the least. I've tried my best to work hard for Steem and seeing it in this risk zone right now is not a good feeling but it's important to keep going. Apologize for the sloppy curation the past couple days, for a few days I wasn't even curating at all while all of this was going on but I'm going to try get back to it a bit more as it's unfair to the regular content creators who aren't as aware of everything going on with Steem right now even though it may be hard to miss.

You do some of the most solid curation on Steem, and I know firsthand how much energy and effort that takes. I hope that you are able to take the time you need to rejuvenate from all this and keep a clear outlook. Our power is in our shared community here, so no matter what happens we will find a way forward somehow. I also believe it is important to keep a focus on quality content even during this fiasco, as I have noticed the quality of Trending posts dropping substantially in recent days. Some of the posts are borderline shitposts, but because they're related to current events they are on the front page with huge payouts. Not a good look for Steem for anyone new checking us out because of the news.

I am very proud of everyone coming together, showing the strengths of DPOS and fighting back vs stake that is being used for voting that shouldn't be. The unity that is being created here and personal issues set aside to work together for the greater good is a great feeling and it ensures me that whatever happens Steem will live on, maybe not the exact chain, maybe not on the exact exchanges but a majority of users will be united and continue the vision of Steem one way or another and that gives me hope for a better future.

It has also amazed me. I knew the core community was strong, but it's been a really positive experience to see everyone rally around protecting our home. Like you said, that strength will remain here, or elsewhere, as the case may be.

OCD will continue curation tomorrow and revamp the compilation post a bit to showcase the best posts we've curated from different communities and also posts outside of communities. It's important to keep going, whatever happens will happen. The power of blockchains will always make it possible for us to continue existing in one way or another and that gives me hope. Let's see how it goes.

That's fantastic that you are looking cross-communities as many have a hard time feeling like they fit in anywhere. And you know as well as I how many excellent posts slip in between the cracks, especially those written by small stakeholders. Look forward to seeing all of that, and all the best in our continued fight to shape this place by our shared principles @acidyo 🙏

My 100% take from this whole situation is the community coming together and putting aside differences to ensure no one entity can take control of the Steem Blockchain and decide it’s future for them.

However anyone looks at everything that has happened in the past few weeks, it is impossible to argue that the Steem Blockchain is far better governed by twenty individuals working together to steer it on the right path - instead of one person with unknown personal goals and plans.

I vote for decentralization and all our individual hard working Witnesses, who have put themselves above and beyond over the past few weeks to resolve the situation and keep Steem centralized. Whatever happens in the future every Steem stakeholder should be thankful for the tireless work that has been put in.

Amen to that @c0ff33a , and imho you should be in that Top 20 !!

I can understand your being a bit demoralized lately. Building a community is hard enough in itself. When it comes to "put down our plowshares and take up arms," that's never a welcome shift of energy and resources. Yet here we are. Thanks for fighting the good fight with us.

Well, I guess pumping the market cap is easier than keeping a strong and solid community. With that in mind, I think Steem will have a great future. Keep up the great work!

I also went to the lake to watch the ducks yesterday.

Seeing the crested grebes (not sure if red neck or great) do their mating rituals was my favourite.

You echo the feelings of many, time to do normal!

Communities have been amazing, our Witnesses have done us proud working together, hopefully brighter future on the horizon now.

Lessons well learned on both sides of the table and for future decentralized blockchain!

Don't worry, bro. You've already done enough good in this community to take a well deserved break from the madness.

Hey man don't push yourself too hard and go at your own pace with thingspats

I think most every one of us have felt the same exact feelings as you wrote about. What a rollercoaster ride of emotions. Not only is it the money but the time and effort that so many of us have put in.

Keep doing what you do :)

We will rise from the ashes like a Phoenix if we have to. I am really impressed to see how we all rallied together so quickly. This community is a lot smaller than previously thought. !BEER !trdovoter !giphy curate

Congratulations @justinparke, you successfuly trended the post shared by @acidyo!
@acidyo will receive 0.04067213 TRDO & @justinparke will get 0.02711475 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

You nailed it Giphy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94