Preparing to Claim Future Accounts with Discounted Account Tokens

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Preparing to Claim Future Accounts with Discounted Account Tokens


Thank you for following me on Steem. I'm in the process of moving all of my content to my personal blog. You'll be able to find that content at https://www.patrickulrich.com whenever I have time to import everything. I hope you will consider following me there or signing up for my newsletter so we can stay connected!


If you're a fan of sports content then I encourage you to check out SportsTalkSocial.com! We regularly curate the top content as chosen by SPORTS token holders. Stop in and say hello!


Have you used Square Cash yet? It's my preferred way to purchase BTC! Not only that I'm beginning to use it for all of my regular card swipes. Check it out and we'll each get $5 when you send your first $5 in the app!


Ad


Do you have your digital currency stored securely? If not it's time to upgrade your security! Head over to Cobo Vault and check out their air-gapped hardware solutions today.


Want to keep up with all of the latest Bitcoin news? Head over to Bitcoin News Syndicate to stay up to date on everything happening with the most sound money on the planet.


Please consider following my upcoming project Good Morning Bitcoin and signing up for alerts on our site. You can also follow the show on Peakd.



STS Profile

Sort:  

Nice breakdown. Are accounts generated in this new way still given sp to use?

Nope the new account just starts at 0 SP. That being said you can always delegate to them to start them on the right foot and pull it back as you see them gain their own footing with the platform.

Good to know. Starting generated accounts at 0SP makes sense because direct SP generation converted from resources would be chaos XD

I think I could understand the principles and steps to claim but my question is when can these claimed accounts be usable?
Also, does this mean free account creation process with 14days waiting period isn't possible?

Posted using Partiko Android

They are usable today if you have a bit of python knowledge and use the link above for Holger's tutorial to beem. I've also seen that @pharesim has updated SteemInvite to potentially work with these now but since I've not tested that part I can't vouch for it. I also suspect that the SteemConnect tool will be updated soon to allow creation with these tokens soon.

You'll also still be able to claim a free account from Steemit but their process will be utilizing the new tools of HF20 as opposed to the older way. This also means that your favorite dapp like SteemHunt or Actifit will be able to begin creating accounts for their users with these tokens so we no longer have to rely just on Steemit Inc for access to potentially free accounts for new users.

Thanks a lot for your clarifications.

Posted using Partiko Android

So everyone has to claim their accounts ??

No you dont have to claim your existing account. This just lets you start claiming tokens to create new accounts without paying an account creation fee.

Given the excess Resource credits available on accounts larger than 4k SP, I would say it is a good idea to start accumulating these tokens as they could help expand our community over time as more people onboard. I did my first one last night and it has not impacted my ability to transact or engage!

I couldn't agree more! I plan to claim a couple every few days just to have handy in case I meet anyone that shows any interest. The more Steemians we have the better.

Wow, people would think I'm a bit estupido - I have heard about this claiming account topic but still not 100% sure what it is actually for. I just tried to follow your stop but it just said I don't have enough rc! oops! LOLOL

No one would ever think that about you! That being said you're just a bit short on having enough RC available. These tokens just give users the ability to create new accounts for people instead of having to pay the 3 STEEM account creation fee.

Oh! That's pretty much it. I was just wondering about that discounted acct thing. Thanks Patrick! :)

Hi @patrickulrich!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.939 which ranks you at #3757 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3755).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I see you can now do it on steempeak in their wallet but it looks like my 5k SP isn't enough to claim one lol. Dang it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95