Mining on the moon

in #steem6 years ago

I was just looking at my crypto portfolio and thinking. Do you know what is incredible? I have a damn crypto portfolio. I don't know if you know what that means to me but, I find it fucking fucking incredible.

My life financially sucks and has done for a very long time. Other than a few periods of respite, it has been hand to mouth the entire time I have been in Finland and continues to be so. What I have found is that no matter how much work I have done, my earnings haven't been enough to both invest and still maintain some kind of life. Life always took precedence over investing which is likely why I never had enough.

I am not great with money and if I have some, I will buy my wife something nice. Tomorrow it is our wedding anniversary and, she isn't getting more than a kiss and, we are thinking about going out to get hot wings for dinner. These days, it doesn't bother me but, I know it is a little bit of a problem for her. She doesn't spend quite so much time as I in these things and is essentially working on blind faith that what I shill to her is going to work out for us.

But, back to my investment. I am not going to talk about them but I am going to say that I wouldn't have anything, would be living the same hand to mouth life and most importantly, would have no future potential in the cryptosphere if it wasn't for Steem. I don't think people fully appreciate how lucky they or many of the other people who find themselves here are.

Some seven months ago I wrote this piece on wasting a golden ticket opportunity which might be worth a read for some who are a little down in the Steem dumps. In short though it is all in the title, Steem is Your golden ticket to waste in so many ways it is insane. There is the learning and earning of course which go hand in hand for the most part but, there are so many other facets to take advantage of, especially if you believe that in some near future, blockchain is going to mean something.

The chance to be an early part of what could be a vital stage of technological revolution in several sectors including the incredibly important finance and economics sectors, is an amazing opportunity. Steem offers this and even though it is not the only place to offer something, it has a community that is developing, growing and learning on the edge of the industry in an environment that already replicates the real world in a microcosm. With windows to it all, like a glass-bottom boat viewing the ocean floor. Sure, currently there is a lot of rubbish floating through the field of vision but, that'll change.

But, when it comes to me and my portfolio, who knows how it will all turn out. What I do know is that what I was doing and where it would likely take me had nowhere near the potential as the cryptosphere does in education or, potential for material gains. Thanks to Steem, I have been able to learn a lot, earn a fair bit and both divest and invest back in so that I hold several positions to minimize risks. There is no way I would have done all of this work if I hadn't stumbled onto Steem. and there is no way that I would have a voice that may just have a chance to convince one or two others to be part of what I believe is going to be a global breakthrough.

Not just Steem though, all of it. The entire world is going to change at its core even if most people will not recognize that the infrastructure they rely on is new and improved. Those who do recognize it though, those who do hold some knowledge and positions on various projects will be well out in front of the rest.

I have mentioned many times before that there is a much longer game in play than how people behave, sprinters in a marathon. The marathon need not be grueling though, it could be fun, enlightening and filled with a whole lot of interesting things to see and do. But, that requires a wider view than the focus on the day to day shit of the moment, the news, the FUD.

Perhaps we are victims of society that has developed a news cycle that maximizes sales by maximizing fear, continually repeating and recycling on a spiralling ramp to hype the frenzy and drive the masses. Just like the infrastructure unseen that will carry the masses, we could be the ones who walk between the masses, among them but not like them. Screw instant gratification, fear and the driving force of consumerism that makes near sure someone like me won't do the work to invest and instead, flutter it away on life's unnecessaries.

If there is one thing I have learned on Steem is, not only can I work hard at something like I have always done in my life, I can work hard toward something that can benefit myself, my family and potentially, many, many more. People talk about the floor and the bottoms but, it is the ceiling that is important here and, we are nowhere near even coming close to seeing it.

If I lose it all? I'll be where I would likely have been anyway. The difference is, I would have tried for different.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I agree with you 100%. I have been picking up "Steem" more lately than I have in the past. I just plan on Holding for now and see what happens. I think it is a great technology that has a lot to offer. So for now, I am just hibernating and gathering my nuts for winter.

well, that is weird...

I made a post a few days ago about something similar
https://steemit.com/steem/@felander/btc-to-sp-powering-up-thanks-to-bitmex

I also have a portfolio and I am kind of in the same position and being unemployed for the moment does not help. I did do quite well on my trading and the advice one of my mentors gave me is quite sound.

No matter what the future potential is of your steem and other crypto (and same as you I believe in this fully) sometimes you just have to exchange some of that "internet fairytale money" and turn it into fiat and do something nice. It makes you appreciate what you are doing it for and makes you value it so much more.
You have a decent amount of SP and I think taking out a bit (not powering down) and having a nice dinner on your anniversary counts as one of those moments...

gave you a full upvote as well, might buy an icecube in finland :-)
enjoy your day and treat your wife (at least that is how I feel)

gave you a full upvote as well, might buy an icecube in finland

THank you. It may scrape a DIY one out of the tap, Finland is crazy. No switzerland though.

If prices keep dropping, I am going to take a little "government fairytale money" and buy some Steem :D

It makes you appreciate what you are doing it for and makes you value it so much more.

This is why it should be done though and Ihave promised my wife that on the next run up, I will do something

I am on the X dollars per month program so the price doesn't matter. Everything that goes into steem does not come out. Due to my financial position I have no choice in doing this way. If I lose it all it's not an issue. but if it pays off I will be so far ahead that there would have been no other way to have accomplished it.
I will not be one of thoes that say I WISH I BROUGHT STEEM @0.07. in 2-3 years that will be irrelevant and people will be saying I wish I brought steem at $7
MY thoughts

I will not be one of thoes that say I WISH I BROUGHT STEEM @0.07. in 2-3 years that will be irrelevant and people will be saying I wish I brought steem at $7

If it hits 7 cents, I am selling the apartment ;)

I don't think we will ever see 0.07 again. Maybe 0.50. The high is a total unk

I think 0.50 is possible this time around but it is likely to be the last. The next fall it might hit 1 again for the last time. who can really say though.

All the crypto is down so you can't just say it steem because if it was that would be a big indicator. Coins are still extremely volitor. Large swings so the big swings down don't bother me at all. The more I buy at a lower price offsets the amount I purchased at a high price. Averages

"We all have a golden ticket in our hand, it is called Life."

Honestly, the things you say and the way you say them are inspiring. I know your words are having a positive effect on me, and I thank you for them. I wish you and your family the best.

The bear market in crypto will likely continue for a while, I suspect, but it will make no difference long term, as the sector will inevitably pick up again as soon as institutional money, which is preparing its moment (Goldman Sachs and the big players are all getting their ducks in a row), make their move.

Many cryptos will go under, but Steem and EOS have established real world use cases that are undeniable, and primed for growth, and Bitcoin has a brand and a scarcity, that will be a cast iron fallback when the multi-trillion debts on the US economy, impossible to ever pay off, finally cast their shadow over the whole world. So those 3 I think (I'm not a financial adviser, I concede) will catch a fair wind when the tide turns. :)

as soon as institutional money, which is preparing its moment (Goldman Sachs and the big players are all getting their ducks in a row), make their move.

I would say that as they prepare their exchanges, they are driving prices downward to make sure they are deep for open. There are a whole lot of paths coming to a head so it is going to be interesting how much pain it causes everyone. I guess it will come down to limiting pain, rather than avoiding it completely

What I have found is that no matter how much work I have done, my earnings haven't been enough to both invest and still maintain some kind of life. Life always took precedence over investing which is likely why I never had enough.
I think you have done a good work investing on steem and powering up. Maybe you could have more, but you definitely have a decent amount of SP. You are doing fine and some day you will see the fruits of your work.

It is the other 30 years of work in my life that I had the best opportunity to develop but didn't. I am not planning on making the same mistakes.

I’ve always seen this as a golden ticket opportunity as well. Just one shot to really make nothing into something. I haven’t seen any FIAT for the hours of Steem but I see it in the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven’t seen any FIAT for the hours of Steem but I see it in the future.

Me either. One day perhaps.

These are the kind of writings that make people reflect and think optimistically in these moments when many are sad and give for failure all the work they have done in these months, I know that many have invested money hoping to make big profits but the market is not always can be in high and cryptocurrencies have taught us that if they know something is surprising in ups and downs of price unexpectedly, we are going through the time of the fall but soon we will be celebrating all the effort and as you say nothing is lost with trying it the same way 4 years ago people lost time on facebook here they do not waste time just invest it

@tarazkp Happy anniversary,may you and your wife enjoy your dinner together. Sometimes its being together wethering the hard times that matters most. Its good to have diversified crypto portfolio, just being patient and hoping that one day,it will takes us to the moon.

Guess who just bought Steem for (kinda) cheap!

Thanks, next step is to get people to actually vote for my posts on this platform lol

The difference is, I would have tried for different.

That is probably the best way to see it, none of us really know if this particular project will be a successful one in the long term, but so far it has certainly changes the lives of some people in a big way, and the potential to keep doing this will remain there.

But like any type of investment, there is always the risk of failing and ending up with nothing, either way, I agree with your thoughts here and this article reminded me of a like a similar phrase from @meno a few days ago (although in a different context of course):

my attempt to make a difference, maybe it will, maybe it won't but I won't say I didn't try.

Cheers @tarazkp!

Yep, it is all very risky and a little bit of a crazy hail Mary but, like @meno said....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11