You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If they only knew... - Bidbot abuse

in #steem6 years ago

I'm conflicted about educating people about vote-buying, because there's clearly a much larger market for buyers than sellers, and in some sense it's a zero-sum game; part of why I'm able to make money is that so many people are willing to lose it. If they were more sophisticated it would be harder for me to do as well.

Sort:  

I have a somewhat philosophical justification to want to clean up our trending a bit. It has to do with the challenge all cryptocurrencies have to face. Which is the convergence of wants. How does a crypto/community increase its user base. More people wanted to use, to trade, to buy with the crypto.

The almost obvious answer seems to be, by making that ecosystem pleasant to participate of. As much as possible that is.

So lately, I've been thinking that it's not really about guarding the reward pool itself, the same amount of steem will be printed regardless. Its about attempting to keep the convergence moving in the right direction.

I hope that makes sense, the concept is somewhat abstract, but I can see it clearly in my head, at least after three cups of coffee.

It does make sense, I'm thinking very much the same thing. Personally I don't think Trending has much of a role, if any, in the enjoyable ecosystem, though. Its equivalent on every other social media site is also complete crap, so I blame the core concept, not the bots.

Heh I distinctly had you in mind when I decided not to mention it. ;) It's quite tricky!

I'm curious now, do you have broad data on what user percentiles are profitable? Intuitively I think it's probably better than poker where the top 3% are winners, but probably not by a whole lot.

If you do, putting up a post with a graph that doesn't identify anyone individually but shows the profitability of users by percentile might be really well-received. In fact if you don't want to I might go and find that data myself.

Ah I don't have this kind of data, would likely want to do that with SQL instead of my primitive per user blockchain data. Hmm and come to think of it, I don't compute the effects of the skewed curation early vote penalty. Silly. I should make the adjustment and see how that changes my previous botting figures!

It would be interesting to see in aggregate. Go for it, I don't have this ability with my current methods. If I did it I probably would want to tap into steem SQL.

I should make the adjustment and see how that changes my previous botting figures!

If you do I'm really curious to see how much it changes my profitability, since I use it very intentionally.

Go for it, I don't have this ability with my current methods.

Oh, I'm even farther from being able to do that than you are. But I'm pretty interested, and we'll see where that gets me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87