How To Avoid Double Posting During These Changing Times For The Steemit Platform

in #steemit6 years ago

As you already know, Steemit is rolling out some updates these days, including a new backend. As with any change, some things are not always going as planned, so there are a few glitches.

The most important one is related to posting. The error checking got a bit aggressive in this version (which I like) but it kinda trespassed into the other side, reporting errors when there aren't really any.

So, my suggestion to avoid double (or triple, or quadruple) posting is to check if the post really has been published, just after you hit "Post" (wait a few seconds) in a different tab.

So, ideally, you should have two open tabs on Steemit all the time: one for posting / commenting, and the other one for checking if the post really went through. Even if you get an error like: Type error: RPC timeout, or Type error: Network timeout it doesn't mean it really is an error. Just check if the post was actually pushed to the blockchain, and if it was, come back to the first tab and click "Clear" to empty the form.

It's a little bit cumbersome, I know, but tough times require tough measures. I will try to let you know when this behavior disappeared completely, but I guess it will take a while.

Steem on!


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

This happened to me as well. When I posted my comment I got the error, so I tried adding my comment again and then when I look back I spammed my comments. It's frustrating sometimes.

I ended up doing a transfer 3 times for this reason, fortunately the person who received was kind to refund :)

In my opinion, if you want to do something as important as a transfer, you might want to do that from a reliable interface like the eSteem app or Busy.org. If steemit is currently unreliable, why rely on it for something important.

I personally think it will remain the Steem blockchain interface of choice for me in the future as it will for many others, but when it's having problems, there are other options.

I understand. That's why it's important to pay a little bit of extra attention these days, until things are sorted out.

Are they kind of experimenting ? Ideally a production grade application should not have flaws like this, isn't it ?

Look at the upper left. There is a logo and written "steemit".
What is under the "steemit"?

Beta 😁 So that gives the power to all sort of experiments :)

I don't know. But I know that "beta" does not mean "production grade" until you have a very different definition of that from mine.

Thanks for the Post. Your Strategy is better than mine: Refreshing the Page all the time.

If you realized you posted same thing 2-4 times, you can always delete them. I did that and worked wonderful ;)

Yeap, they're deleted from the Steemit UI, but the blockchain still gets bloated with all the previous postings, so it's more proactive to just avoid it entirely.

But yes, deleting works too.

How do you delete the duplicate entries?
As each duplicate has a different $ amount and number of votes, what will happen to these?

I deleted them immediately after posting so in my case no votes :)

By the time I found out in my case there were kind people who had been by. Watch out next time.

Thanks for the info - one of my posts yesterday went on and then disappeared but I realised that steemit must be working on things.

That error appeared when I posted yesterday.
I found it very strange and opened steemit on another device and despite the error the post had been posted.

What I do when I try to post or comment from steemit right now is I press the post button and give it something like 5 seconds. Then I refresh the same tab and check if my comment has been posted. If it has, I clear the tab, if it hasn't, I press post again.

I check with Ctrl+F and my username so I'm sure I don't miss it.

Despite these precautions, I've managed to double post a few times already and then I take advantage of the Delete option despite the fact that it leaves an immutable trail of my slight incompetence and/or impatience forever on the blockchain.

despite the fact that it leaves an immutable trail of my slight incompetence and/or impatience forever on the blockchain.

it's neither incompetence, nor impatience, it just how it is now :)

Well, I said slight ;)

Even if you get an error like: Type error: RPC timeout, or Type error: Network timeout it doesn't mean it really is an error.

Yeah, that one surprised me, too.

it is especially troublesome after you waited 30 seconds, then looked in the other tab - nothing - then wait 2 more minutes to get the error, post again; and then see you got 2 posts.

I should have read this post first as I ended up posting a reply three times - in a comp situation so it looked as though I was trying very hard to win!!! Have resteemed your article so I can go back and read your articles later on ...thanks Jillian

I like to use steemd.com to verify if any transaction went through.
Posts, replies, etc.

I use steemd extensively as well, very good block explorer, probably the best in the Steem ecosystem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69