WHY? @morjina Just why? - lets stop the spam

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

main-qimg-f3cdf3c5c3911fcb2876ac78a5b6e95e.gif

Why?

These spamming users like @morjina piss me off.
"Help me bro"
"I am a steem developer, please reach out if you need any kind of support".
YEAH RIGHT.

This is not twitter

Steemit is not twitter, you are not rewarded for quantity, but quality. So to all the users that are filling creating spam comments, spam posts, just posting youtube videos, go waste your time on a different social media. Then again, everyone is free to do what they want with their stake on steemit. That's the best part of this whole platform.

To flag or not that is the question

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a flagging monster, but if you're mocking up my comment section then get ready to get downvoted. My question is, Is it even worth the flag? When all these spamming users (normally from a less fortunate country) comment/post dozens of times each day it doesn't even seem worth the flag.

Tag the spammers

If you tag a spammer in the comment section I will review their account and maybe even give them some downvotes. By tagging a spammer we can confront each of them together in the comment section. Sure most of them won't respond, but hopefully, they will read this post and realize that they are not using this platform correctly.

Don't get me wrong

I have nothing against these users. Like I said, you and everyone else is free to do whatever they want with your stake in steem. I only want to help these users. Once they are set on the right path they can start to receive increased rewards.

I have another offer

I often find myself with close to 100% voting power. So if you know of an author that is not receiving the rewards they deserve, tag them! I will review their recent posts and drop them some upvotes. You guys should check out their posts with me! Please don't link your own posts.

Encourage not discourage

I have always been a big believer in second chances. I also believe in encouraging rather than discouraging. I would much rather upvote an undervalued author than downvote a spammer. If everyone encourages the good authors, hopefully, the spammers will see what they are doing isn't working.


Your friendly Neighborhood Steemian - @edolo.
Tag the spammers and the high-quality authors below!

We can do this together!

Sort:  

Looks like they took it as a call to arms against you bro... I had to laugh when I started looking at the comments... my personal favorites - very informative, wonderful information, at least there's not an "upvote me I upvote you"... Yet... BTW - Nice Post... :)

lol for real. Pretty funny if I'm being honest. I guess none of them read my post. O whale.

simply mute him, then down vote him yourself 3 times if you are stronger than him in your reputation, then ask your best friends whom they are stronger than him to down vote him 3 times, so it is a matrix of down voting, so
you 3 + 3x3 of your friends = 12 down voting, in this case his mouth will be closed for few days, then you send at once a report to steemit contact about the abuse he is making against you, they will close his account when they see so many downvoting to this spammer

dang. Thats a pretty strong way to deal with spam. Interesting idea. Thanks for the input @red-rose

also there is a very strong girl here in the community , she is the strongest fighter against spammers and she will kick their butts ( sorry to say these words ) you can contact her in the reply or any post of her in the comment and you tell her about the abuser, she has the power to downvote him to level 0 in 8 touches...
i love this girl, she is a real protector ...

her name is @swissclive
image.png

thanks! ill check her out.

Hi @edolo, I am @swissclive referred to above by @red-rose.

I like to have a multi-step approach to suspected comment-spam as follows:

  1. I often insert a “magic-word” in about the third paragraph of my post along the following lines:

“If you read as far as this, and wish to comment, please be sure to use the magic word “hodl” in your comment and I will be sure to give you a good upvote reward.”

  1. When I get comment spam, I look at the suspect’s other comments to make an assessment. It’s black marks if I see all of the following:
  • multiple short comments saying the same thing or nearly the same thing
  • only commenting on hot, trending, or high steem-power blogs
  • never referring to the subject matter of the blog in the comments
  • commenting in English on blogs written in more than 4 or 5 foreign languages.
  1. I then write the poster a “helpful” comment. You can see a recent “helpful comment high-lighted in yellow below. Sometimes the person replies thanking me. They did not know the etiquette, and change their behaviour.

  2. If that fails and the spammer ignores my helpful comment and continues spamming, I will flag a few day later.

@edolo, I would love to know your thoughts on my approach and together we can help encourage others to join us in keeping Steemit useful and interesting.

Below is an example of the “helpful comment” I give. You could also call it a “warning”.

37323157-8B0C-4067-ABC1-55BF71317457.jpeg

wow. Very well thought out @swissclive. The magic word could be effective, but it feels unprofessional to me. Anyways thanks for the input.

seems effective. I'll try it out sometime. Thanks again @swissclive for stopping by and reading my post.

Great content! Upvote and follow me. Thank you sir .... have a kind day! =)


Which Flavor Is Your Comment?

lol spam.

I was hoping you didn't take that first part too serious... and that the point was conveyed! Mission successful. Don't tell anyone... I want to eat that Jalapeno Spam! hahaha

yeah I know. Pretty funny comment.

I never really know what to do with the spammers either. If I cared enough to do a bit of research and see how long they have been on Steemit and how much spam they put out would probably downvote them but usually I just ignore it and upvote the good comments so the crap stays at the bottom.

yeah thats one way to deal with it.

Yeah, its probably better to just crush them but I don't want to be an asshole either. Maybe some of them will figure out that they are better off just writing good posts and comments. Than again maybe not Lol.

there will always be some. I agree though, I would rather encourage rather than discourage.

in steemit chat there is a group called steemit abuse. there are many there working together to weed out spammers and scammers.
i like you're vibe in this post. and how hilarious these dudes spamming with the exact shit you are talking about....

thanks man.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

thanks for sharing your good information.thanks @edolo

and yet another example.

yes

??? Clearly, you didn't read the post. Take your spam elsewhere.

i reed your post sir

hmmm. Well don't say "good information". Make a useful comment.

Congratulations @edolo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice ...
Informative post
Thank's for sharing.

man alive. You spammers just don't stop.

@edolo wonderful information
Have a nice day.......//////

wow. Nice. What a great example for my post. I would flag, but I want people to read this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04