Looking for a Little Perspective

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Source

Is it just me, or are things falling apart here??

Today I saw this post from @davemccoy about, among other things, why people are leaving steemit. I leave it up to you to have a look, but trust me, the post and the comments are worth reading. Then I received a private message from a new steemit user, reputation 25, @cendrinemedia, because she (?) didn't have the capability to respond to me on her own post due to RC limitations. So, here's a new user, trying to engage, but simply unable to. I never admit to understanding all the workings of steemit, but I do know that if you completely limit new users' ability to grow, it kind of defeats the whole purpose of being here. And of course there's the price drop, but truthfully, that's something I don't pay too much attention to, although I know there are many of you who depend on this as part of your livelihood.

In real life, I see @wolfhart's cancer diagnosis, and it's not good. I also see my other friend @thedarkhorse, who does so much for so many, struggling and unable to pay for a new boiler for his house; the boiler is the heat source for he and his family, and living in Chicago, trust me, you need heat! I'm also as usual, having to watch @briancourteau's ongoing illness and struggles with pain in my own home, unable to do anything to help him, and I'm left wondering, Do I really care about the BS that's going on here?? Do I even need it or any more frustration in my life?

If I'm being 100% honest with myself and all of you, I wonder if I'd rather stay in touch with people I've met here, on Discord, keep the relationships that I've fostered over these months, publish the odd post, and back away slowly.

Or am I just having a bad day? Because I'm also a little tired. Many of you know that we've rescued a kitten, and like a baby, she keeps me up at night, I'm breaking up fights with our other cat Buddy, during the day, and I have that cloudy, lack-of-sleep-emotional-ness that goes with motherhood haha. Actually, I've been really worried about @wolfhart, @thedarkhorse, and @briancourteau and so many others that I've met here who have things going on in their lives. I'm such an empath that I have now 'taken on' the burdens of so many here, that sometimes, I just need a break I think; and I'm not saying that to make anyone feel badly about sharing their problems with me; it's just the way I am wired.

But being away, doesn't stop me from thinking about it all. The real problems in life. Not the playground fighting that seems to be going on here all over the place!

Thanks for listening to me vent; I really appreciate it. Life can always be worse and it's often unfair. This I know.

But, it can also be beautiful, and that is what I'm struggling to see today.

9ek8m6grgf.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

If steemit would not help us solve our problems and as well allow the newbies to partake by commenting regularly to get noticed, then we will have to look for other alternative(s).

Fair enough @maxijgcomm; I'm seeing plenty of them out there :)

If I could get a spare hour or 3, I'd write a post to keep my lovelies here

If things keep going the way they go, I think such a post is really needed :0/

It is on the to-do list, hopefully tomorrow.

And from what I’m gathering, 3 hours won’t be tough to secure at this rate.

I'll keep my eye out for it :)

:)

Some of my thoughts are discussed here, and specifically in @trafalgar's comment:

https://steemit.com/steem/@kevinwong/understanding-steem-s-economic-flaw-its-effects-on-the-network-and-how-to-fix-it

SMTs and Good Person Tokens will solve this - Problematic View
Maybe. Don't get me wrong, I think SMTs are great. But they're 6 months away and in reality, it'll take far longer for any of them to garner sufficient market confidence to really play a role in the content discovery process. The use of Oracles also impose very high practical cost and a lot can go wrong in reality. Basically they're very far off and a lot needs to go right for them to work effectively. Something like n^1.3, 10% free downvotes and 50% curation is just a lot more direct and simpler and easier to implement. Ultimately we need the Steem base token to have a functional reward distribution too, not just SMTs, which are a big If.

I'm not sure if the last sentence needs to be true for the Steem blockchain to survive.

Could STEEM be valued at 1 cent and and a Good Person Token, backed by strong Oracles, worth 10$?

If this was possible, blogging 'here' and not on a site using this SMT would be pointless for reward purposes.

The GPT could enforce rules such as 1-person-1-account (time consuming and not bullet proof), alongside a disabled vote for self 'feature', which could be interesting.

You can understand why i've not made a post yet, it's confusing my brain. Oh, and @steemmonsters! :D

I checked your page ... it's totally steemmonsters :)

Seeking for a little perspective.

We can help who we can help. I personally say you have more than a full plate just with Brian, let alone a new kitty. That should be it. End of story. Not that anyone else isn't worthy of your attention. They certainly are. But I would hope that both Wolf and Darkhorse, as well as anyone else, have folks they can rely on to help them get through this, just like I've seen it happen with you more than once.

It's not going to be your fault if all of that doesn't turn out, either. It's going to be the way it is. If you had the ability to do more, you most certainly would. Many of us would. And maybe somebody here will do something. Some things, though, just run their natural course.

I don't know what to tell you about "know it all idiots" and bullies. Get a clue! Educate yourself! Blah, blah, blah. Haejin at least sticks to himself unless provoked. He's content to stay in his own little world. The party in question seems like he's miserable, and misery loves company. They have such a big chip on their shoulder they can't help but to bowl people over when supposedly going after someone else. It's like a reflex. Seek and destroy anyone who may mention me, because it's probably something bad. I've seen it happen where flags came to people who were actually saying good things about them.

Their rep should have stayed nuked. Now, they've got SP, alt accounts and the rep to destroy virtually any account here.

Thank you Glen, I appreciate that very much. It's been a rough few days, but the clouds have again parted, and the sun is shining. I'm going back to simply doing what I do and ignoring all the nonsense. It's a lot easier that way :)

Thank you as well for all the upvotes on this page ... it didn't go unnoticed by me :)

Dang it! I was trying to sneak those by you. :)

I figure each one of us can try to be there for the other, because inevitably, we all need something. Not sure what I said that you wouldn't already know, but then it helps sometimes to hear/read someone else saying it. Doesn't make things any easier.

I'm glad to hear the sun is shining, literally hopefully as well as figuratively. Dave's been going after it lately so there's bound to be more drama coming. There's some changes taking place next week with another patch. They're claiming it's going to help lower SP. We'll see. I'm not convinced, but I'm not a dev, so even if STEEM seems to be the land of unintended consequences, maybe adjusting the RCs the way they're doing it will actually be for the best.

It means even more that you were trying to sneak them by me :) Thank you Glen. Really. I mean that! And you're right; of all the comments I've read here, including yours, none of them are "news" to me, but they sure have made me feel better, just knowing that others understand and care.

I've decided to go back to sticking my head in the sand, doing what I do, and smiling the whole time ... simply oblivious to it all. Sounds a bit like being senile, doesn't it? haha

There probably needs to be some obliviousness—enough to stay happy rather than run down by it all. I'd say there needs to be some awareness, though. And if there was something to do about it, well, do it. As it is, unless people are ganging up to do it, there's not much one person is going to affect here. It's like herding cats. Oh, right. Shhhhh. Sorry. No cat talk right now. :)

Very good and apt vent. I've just replied on @davemccoy's post as well.
I hope they sort out this RC issue once and for all. As far as I can tell it's only the newbies it's hurting. But it's the newbies we need more of, not less of. They really do seem to have thrown out the baby with the bathwater on this.

Hugs to you - and to @wolfhart and @thedarkhorse and everyone else here who is struggling in real life - the one that counts... Blessings to you and yours with that kitten. They can be a lot of work.

Thank you so much @viking-ventures; although I didn't respond immediately, I've come back to these comments, yours included, and they've helped me through the 'dark times'. It really does mean a lot to me :)

I don’t follow price either, I just like the community. I met wonderful people here and I plan to keep posting and sharing and interacting. Lots of love sending your way my dear @lynncoyle1 💕

Thank you so very much @starjewel! Your comment really helped me, along with other here, over the last few days of my wallowing :)

Life is beautiful :)

I've just kept my head down and plugged away on Steemit. Like you said I don't follow price. That's a losing game. Too much wasted emotional energy.

That's normally what I do @steven-patrick, but I guess there was just too much going on that I let it all get to me. I'm taking this to heart and going back to it! Thank you :)

I had to go and see the post you linked to and then read yours,
both vents needed to be said, Sadly to many these days are focused on getting all they can and do not care in the least about anyone else

I to have friends and family and even myself dealing with health issues that makes one have a different perspective on what is really important in life

and as for Steemit seeing new users getting frustrated that they can not do much on the platform is going to seriously hurt it and this needs to be fixed ASAP

Thank you @tattoodjay, and I'm sorry to hear about your friends and family suffering as well. It's life I guess. I really do appreciate the comment (yours and others here); I read them a few days ago and they really did help me!

hi dear... by reading your post i am thinking about myself .. sometimes i feel exhausted sometimes i act weird but life goes on.. we care for those who r really close to our heart thats wht i tld u already and i feel that way... lots of things happening around us and i get tired with the fight between my heart and brain but i survive and i love to b like this. this is part of our life i guess.. fact is we r human and we have to gone through lots of situations but we survive...

i am totally agree wth this new rc mana.. being low sp i also can't comment anytime... hope this will sort out...

i will pray for your friends and everythg will b ok.. keep in touch my friend

Thank you so much @priyanarc! It's so true, and I just needed a few days to mull through it all :)

Loading...

Not to speak to the rest of your concerns, but don't worry about me. I solve problems as they come at me. Already raised over 3k towards my boiler selling a little inventory. Applied and was approved for a couple credit cards that will cover most of the rest of it. Just need to raise another grand or so by the install date and then figure out how to make the extra monthly payment...but that will just serve as a little fire under my ass to keep me motivated.

Honestly the only thing I need right now is some warm weather until Oct 30th. Since I can't control the weather it's not something I'll stress about.

Didn't even have to ask to borrow money from any family. Have some who could and would help, but this is my mess not anybody else's to deal with....nor worry about. Appreciate your concern, but I've got it covered.

So glad to hear that you sorted yourself out ... and your boiler. In hindsight, it was more of a feeling of, what else can happen?, and true to form, I received terrible news from a good friend early this morning, but at the same time, I saw this, and it made me realize that life is full of good and bad ... just gotta deal with it all :)

life is full of good and bad, we need to focus and dwell on the good while letting the bad happen and moving on from it. If you approach it any other way life can kick your ass pretty hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64453.46
ETH 2971.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59