STEEM 101_4: STEEM IS AN ECONOMY BEFORE IT IS A SOCIAL NETWORK!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm actually running out today things to write about. It's a combination of me not really being that creative, and the fact that a lot of stuff gets repeated on steemit or I just don't understand it well enough to write confidently about it, but one thing I do want to talk about is a different point of view on the steem blockchain that most users ignore, save for a few.

And that is that STEEM is an economy before it is social media app.

Also, check out my last post Steem 101_3: Is there Shortage or Surplus of SBD?


PURPOSE OF STEEM

I don't know who coined the phrased, but I learned it from @andrarchy, who stressed that the amount of work that can be done with the steem blockchain is what makes it a unique blockchain and itself, an economy.

I think this is absolutely true and overlooked by most users. So let's dig in.

WHY STEEM IS AN ECONOMY FIRST

The blockchain is built on the ease of transferring money. I know it's obvious at first glance, but if we look at everything that occurs on the blockchain individually, well literally see a mechanism that is built on financial transactions.

Some examples are:

  • every vote is a transaction that exchanges SBD.

  • postings are made for the sole purpose of encouraging transactions.

  • All services introduced within the community are paid for and finalized by an internal monetized token and does not require you to be off network.

  • The blockchain has a mechanisms to permit liquidity of SBD and STEEM.

  • You can easily transfer funds from one account to the other to settle contracts at zero cost. This encourages transfers since fees are a known barrier.

  • The value of sbd is designed to be pegged against USD, helping people understand the value of things against a known currency.

  • We are fighting for each other's attention by creating the most interesting content. And what is interesting is a result of market demand and right now, the market loves post that talk about our own blockchain. The next most interesting thing is creators who provide entertainment to users on the platform.

So if we look at steemit as an economy, a free market economy at that, how do we utilize this?

SERVICES

Services! There must be services which can be performed to exchange SBD. This is the path to mass adoption. Let's face it, content creation on Steemit will be like 4chan or reddit. Attrition is the name of the game for most of these networks. Everyone else who comes in to play will have to work incrementally harder to garner attention for their content. Not everyone is cut out to be entertainers, but that doesn't mean your skill isn't useful on steemit. You can utilize your skill and use Steemit as a marketing tool. Your content will be a way to verify who you are, your skills, and the work that you have performed for previous clients on STEEM.

This is the path! (I sound like a preacher here)

What are your skills?
Where do you live?
What services could you provide to normal steemians?

I'm a structural engineer and I've teamed up with an architect. We're both under 35 years old with almost 10 years of experience in the industry each. We're looking to work on a project together to design and build a home as a pilot project to start a business. The unique value is that the homes are not normal homes but ones that have unique aesthetics and use unconventional ideas to make them structurally sound and CHEAP. Most people build a home cheap to maximize profits. I am looking to minimize costs because.....i hate to say it but i will...

RENT IS TOO DAMN HIGH!

Over time I hope to offer these services to steemians looking to build a house!

Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this idea and want to share it. Resteem! If you want to write and expand on this idea, tag me in your new post so I can read it!


DSC00194.JPG
TODAY'S PHOTO OF THE DAY.....IS ABOUT STEAM IN NYC! MOST OF THIS COMES FROM MOISTURE BUILD UP FROM UNDERGROUND WATER SOURCES, HEAT, AND OUR UNDERGROUND STEAM NETWORK. YES YOU READ THAT RIGHT, NYC IS PARTLY POWERED BY STEAM THAT IS ROUTED FROM MUNICIPALS THAT GENERATE TOO MUCH OF IT, OR HAVE LIMITED USE FOR LOW TEMP STEAM. THIS STEAM IS ROUTED TO BUILDINGS THROUGHOUT NYC TO POWER THEIR SYSTEMS!

IN THIS PHOTO, REPAIR WORK IS BEING DONE ON STEAM SYSTEM AND IT CAUSED A 45MIN+ DELAY IN TRAFFIC, PISSING OFF A LOT OF NEW YORKERS!

Sort:  

I really love your idea, I wish you are around here. Nigeria I would love to meet with you. I am planning to build a home simple and cheap.

With the internet you can always reach me here on steemit! Always available!

I would site all the same reasons for running out of content to write about. Now I see where the 1st posts of yours that I came across are going. Applauding your vision. :)

It's really tough to find stuff to write about. Which is why I don't think writing for steemit as an entertainer is easy unless you have something to talk about. Mine is engineering, but the reality is, most people on this platform care more about talking than listening. I think once it becomes a market place for services, we'll see a change in that.

I've made 1 friend on here already, which is more than I would expect out of a social network. I still think it's exponentially better than FB. Then again, I am new here. Your posts are helping me learn, so I do thank you.

Very interesting, never looked that it this way. Following you

thanks man! Im sure people KNOW this, but don't actively think about it this way. Always more than one way to skin a cat (why is the phrase about cats????)

This post has received a 2.05 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @motoengineer. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Fascinating ideas... Thank you for thanking me on Discord. It was a pleasure to meet you on the open chat this weekend. I wish you and your partner great success in your project. I would love to be able to purchase an affordable home! Good luck in all your endeavors... I found your post very interesting. I'm glad to be able to be following now. Resteemed!

Thanks for the resteem!!! Building affordable housing that isn't a shitbox thats been gut renovated is something I hate. Im 29 years old, and owning a home has been an american dream for people of my age. And its going to be impossible for most people because well paying jobs become more and more difficult to find. Mass migration to urbanized areas also drives up cost since square footage becomes a premium. So were going to be in this middle ground where home sizes MUST reduce to continue making them cost effective. But no body wants to live in a shitbox! its gotta be swanky! Thats why you hire a full on engineer to optimize the construction method and an architect to make it look pretty!

what about 3-D-Printing homes and all those freakin awesome next level stuff?

i have no looked at that (the below link) but i just saw that 2 min video and Im really interested now! Im going to do some more research on that.

As for 3D printing houses, its not practical yet i think. Also the houses look FUGLY!

Awesome. Hopefully others will see the power of this blockchain in the coming year.

I keep telling everyone that STEEM is the reserve asset/currency of the ecosystem.

SMT's will be the stock/equity in the system.

Yes, this will be the case exactly. It is similar to the relationship that BTC is the reserve asset for all altcoins. Similar idea!

I agree that steem is an economy, and I also agree that most users had not thought of it yet! Thank you for pulling the subject to the general discussion. The post is also very well written and the subject well exposed, congratulations.
Upvoted and resteemed. Do you want to know why? Visit @pf-coin.

thanks for your comment about my writing. This is something I feel like I struggle with. In most cases I write the first pass on my way to work. The second pass during lunch. the third pass on my train ride home, then it goes to post the next day.

I wish I could be faster since it takes so much of my time up, but I also write for work and have noticed my memo and report writing has increased substantially! Thanks for the upvote and resteem!

You're welcome. Yes, writing interesting and valuable content is difficult and time consuming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62