You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SBDs Are Not A Part Of The Pay Out Equation

in #steemit6 years ago

I will admit I like the low SBD being replaced with Steem. It was a hassle going to the internal market and exchanging it so I could power it up. I really don't understand the reasoning behind the SBD personally, as Steem itself is liquid.

I have noticed the glitches as well, and was growing frustrated. Earlier I ended up logging out, clearing all my temp folders and logging back in and it seemed to help, although maybe it was just they fixed things on this end, lol.

Sort:  

To cater for people who are more familiar with the USD and less familiar with cryptos, it's nice to have a point of reference. One SBD should in theory be roughly equivalent with one USD, and it should be a stable currency. No, any peg will sooner or later be broken. When steem prices are falling, it's needed to print new Steem rather than to print new SBD to keep the SBD from falling below USD 1 in value.

That's a very good point, @tobixen. Thanks for pointing all that out. I know we've been down around the current price for a while, so there must be another trigger, maybe internal, that's finally been reached, since it didn't split this way the last time (a couple of weeks ago maybe?) when STEEM was down around $1.10 USD?

Well, I find it all complicated and thus question the necessity, but every time I do that, someone says it's necessary or the best way to do it. Then I've also read some prominent user saying STEEM isn't the currency, SBD is. So, while I don't really enjoy going to the internal market to convert SBD so I can power up, I get that SBD is supposed to make things more stable, if it stays pegged, or at least as a floating peg. I think. :)

re: glitching

It's been off and on again much more than I've seen it in a while, which is why I'm hoping it's purposeful. So far, no one has mentioned seeing anything about it, so hopefully that means it's someone working under the hood, rather than mounting some kind of random attacks on upvoting and commenting activities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91