The "I'm Broke" Guide: Top 3 Best Ways to Make Money Blogging

in #steemit6 years ago

So, you're broke?

Aye, we all feel like we're broke unless we are filthy rich and have no way to get rid of all the extra wads of cash.


On the other hand, there's no reason on why you shouldn't be ready to face your expenses if you have a solid work ethic and the ability to write.

Granted, you won't have much extra at the start, but play your cards right and you can even quit your day job...

Heck I did it 5 years ago!

I'm going to tell you how I survived blogging before Steemit. Of course I now have blogs of my own, but I started writing for others with no expenses and just getting paid to do it.

When you have a bit of a savings account to invest, you can think of developing your own site, but for now let's keep it simple and show you the TOP 3 BEST WAYS TO MAKE MONEY BLOGGING!

Freelancing Websites: And Here Are Some Tips On Their Use!

First of all, you have the obvious choice.

Freelancing is what most people do and what people think of as the only way to earn money blogging at first.

It is a good way to start, but you can't make a killing with it. There's just too much competition.

However, this can get you started as it covers your first months of expenses.

The website I was using was oDesk and Elance, but they were fused together to create UPWORK - so I suggest that one.

Once you're inside, you have to start applying to jobs in order to have a chance to be chosen to do one.

Since you're fresh off the boat and have no resume or experience on Upwork, I would aim at low rates.

Once you build up some experience and resume to prove you are a good writer, you can increase your bid prices.

Now, I never used these too much as I had a better option, and that's what we're talking about next.

Revenue Sharing Article Directories: How Do You Set Up Passive Income?

So, this is how I was making ends meet and getting passive income set up on the side.

The way revenue sharing article directories work is that you write and publish on your own name, but on the article directory site.

The site then monetizes it, with Google Adsense (Ads), and you get a percentage of the income from your articles.

This is great as you can build an article portfolio, build up your image as you sign your articles, be published and read and get money all at the same time.

Not only that, those generate money FOREVER... heck, I'm still receiving a monthly pay for my articles there and I don't write for those guys for 3 years now.

The one I worked with is HubPages, but there are more. I don't think any pay as well as this one though.

You should try this one combined with the others. As freelancing offers you a good upfront single payment, this one takes time to set up, but it builds residual income over time that will keep on paying everyday even when you don't work.

Granted, I'm only getting about $200 per month from my 60 articles, but it is something that pays that I dont have to work on anymore so I'll take it.

STEEM Blockchain: Are You Surprised?

Of course, topping the list is Steem.

The Steem blockchain is the best place for bloggers to write, period!

There's no easy way to get extra income online than to write for Steemit... well, maybe just own a bot in Steemit.

It takes the same effort as everything else, and yet it rewards people way more. At the moment, I could be on hubpages building my passive income stream some more, but I opted to leave that and come here.

Even if one article only earns for 6 days here, the amount it generates is better than the average article elsewhere, plus it starts compounding as your account grows bigger.

If you think blogging here is hard, then blogging isnt for you!


I hope you enjoyed this post and that you now know a bit more on how to get started on becoming a full time blogger like I am :D

If you liked the post, do give it a vote and a resteem.

Cheers!

Join the Crypto Empire Community

Bucket of Goodies:

Sort:  

Great content and insight into how you started earning some cash on the side. Still figuring out my passive income as well. I'd definitely need to start writing a lot more to make blogging part of my passive income solution.

Yeah, my vast blogging experience feels like it was just a training for this blog though, this is where real stuff is happening!

Great post, and yes, the winner is definitely Steemit. I've made money on here for my writing for the first time ever. I've hired people off upwork and similar sites (though as VAs, not for writing) and know how they work from that end, so can imagine how they work from the other end. On there people are paying a pre-agreed amount for an article, but on here you never know how much you're going to make. I've had one article earn me $350 once STEEM is converted into USD. And that's as a very new Steemer, on here not even a month yet. At that point I was only on here a week!

I definitely recommend bloggers come to Steemit instead of those other platforms if they want to actually be paid to write. And you get to write whatever you want! Just make sure you read lots of help articles (of which I've written a couple) so that you can get started right.

Not everyone is making significant money on here.

Yeap!

Glad you also see it that way Indigo... it's true, it really is something else!

Exactly why I don't understand people that say 'I can't blog' or I can't write'. If they are occupied with something better, I understand that. You just write as you talk, there are diverse ways to edit on and off the internet now

There's no easy way to get extra income online than to write for Steemit...

I agree with this, I was a 'domainer', I am still a part time one. Steemit beats almost everything I have seen on the internet in terms of money making. Once you are ready to roll up your sleeves and put in quality time and work, you will be fine.

Great content once again.

Yeap, agree with you, there's nothing quite like it, it's wonderful!
Cheers and thanks for the comment Gold, glad to see you around.

This is great quality content. I may have missed it but thanks to @inquiringtimes who shared it with me. I do agree that we all are broke to some extent. Some are more broke than others but we all need some sort of respite. While online income sources offer some respite in this regard, Steem is a lifeline for me personally and for so many people.

I wish to share something with the readers who are interested in learning about blogging. I think they can gain a lot from applying this knowledge properly.

Blogging is something I have learned more than any online skill. I have tried to be good at every aspect of being a blogger. I have to say that Steem indeed is the best platform to blog and it costs nothing at all to start.

I did try a little with freelancing and rev share content websites but not too much. I didn't pursue anything more than blogging (Blogger, WordPress, personal blog, and then Steemit). It is a skill and learning it necessary to earn from it.

Nice post. I'll share it with my followers so that they can weigh their options as well.

Thank you for the resteem mate,
Cheers!

Hey there @spiritualmax!

I've check at Hubpages' website that I was quite interested to write my other articles there which you mention that it produce residual income.

Thanks for the info!

P.S.

I agree that the Steem Blockchain is still the best!

No problem :D
Glad I could help!

Mate this was a verry insightfull lesson and image into blogging which I have no idea about. I am loving the concept of blogging and taking photos, it's creative besides stimulating my brain. I also enjoy what others are doing and contributing.

So Spiritualmax tell me what realm of contemplation are you travelling in now. What thought provoking atoms are scrambling in your brain to inspire your next acting blog.

For now, my atoms are colliding and screaming "MY GOD THIS INTERNET IS SLOW"!

Thanks for sharing max. I will try one of those and see if i can make some extra cash. Thanks again for sharing these opportunities.
Cheers

No prob man, hope you get a few extra bucks out of them ;)

I did some freelance and even some recruiting for several companies that use Upwork to look for talent and is a good way to earn especially if you given it serious attention and the feedback on you is good.

Might check hubpages as anything that can still generate for articles done 3 years ago seems a good deal for me.

True on Steemit. The amount of exposure and rewards are unrivaled for now that any other blogging platform. You get the right audience, maintain consistency and quality and you can succeed.

It is hard but it is worth it especially when you have developed your niche and audience.

It's interesting, because the revenue has actually been rising... at the time I was writing there I was getting 1€ per day... now Im at 4€.

It's my only stream of passive income.

Funny you mentioned Hub Pages first and then Steem as a better alternative because I've always seen the similarity between the two. In fact, we should start a campaign to bring all the Hub Pages writers over here to Steem. They'll be better off, and we would be better off.

I agree, everyone would be better off. And their work would keep on generating income there so no losses.

LOL. You're writing resume sounds similar to mine. oDesk...Hub Pages...Self-hosted blogs...and now Steemit. Of course I tried Fiverr, but yeah it's useless for manking any money writing. And of course freelance work with my clients throughout it all.

Hey Max ♡

If you think blogging here is hard, then blogging isnt for you

I think its hard but I also enjoy it and want to do it. I think for most it's probably hard at the beginning, figuring out their groove and the like.
Maybe it's not the blogging but rather the obstacles like time constraints and disorganization that are hard, haha.

You can blog diligently everyday 1 post per day on your own site and not see a single penny for around 6 months... it isnt hard at all in the beggining here. In fact, when more good bloggers find out about it, competition will start Im sure :P

Very true. Its awesomely welcoming here. Those that are here now are lucky to have found it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68