Only one once: Looking back at Today

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

He sipped on his coffee as he looked out of the large windows. A little girl played on the grass in the garden with the sunlight catching her hair and gilding it in gold. Her mother sat reclined in a deckchair, book in hand. He watched as she slowly started turning the page before she had finished as if her eyes couldn't match her eagerness to see what was on the next page.

He raised his eyes above the heads of his family and looked out to the waves that broke on the sandy shore. As he focused his attention, the low roar of crashing water reached his ears, a sound that felt like home.

He smiled.

He had come from such humble beginnings and had spent so much of his young life doing what many young lives do, waste it. Opportunity after opportunity had come his way yet, he had been too unaware to see, too foolish to invest, too scared to fail. He wanted so much but had found himself lacking in the only thing he needed, the will to work.

A life of struggle ensued, stress after strain, debt collectors and disappointments as life kept rushing past his senses too fast and too numerous to count. He could feel it inside, the mounting dread of the realisation of life slipping away, potential lost to inactivity. A slow atrophying of a mind, body and soul until all that remained was a numbness. A blank stare.

But, here he was not five years later in what can only be called a fantasy land where the demons of the past had been dispelled. and the fortune granted the determined shined more often than not.

His dreams had come true, no more financial concerns but challenges enough to keep his mind sane, keep it moving further and further into the unknown, helping all he could along the way.

He looked again at his wife and daughter and the garden that contained them and thought how different it was from where their journey together had begun. It was early in the day and they would go off for ice cream later, a simple pleasure, a simple life but with so much more to do. He looked at his watch, he still had some time.

He walked over to the dining table and set his coffee down beside the laptop as he had done thousands of times before. The cursor flashed on the screen and like countless times before he began:

Did I ever tell you about my first birthday?


Steemiversary

Will this be my future five years from now, will I able to have the time and resources to help other people and make a difference in this world? I do not know as there is so much uncertainty up ahead but, I am working for it anyway and I will work until either success or failure is guaranteed.

My goal and approach is always to help as many people as possible who are truly willing to be a part of the journey and community as I can at the time. I thank all of those who have supported me this far and especially @acidyo who has been invaluable in so many ways and @blocktrades who have given me the opportunity to invest deeper into the platform and help others do the same. Without the support of these people, I would have very little chance to help out as much as I do, so I am deeply grateful.

There really are so many though I would like to thank including all of the people from chat who come and go and add brightness (and some drama) to the day including @pharesim, @fredrikaa, @saywha, @steemitadventure, @apsu, @nextgencrypto, @por500bolos, @elliotjgardner, @trumpman, @mobbs, @nelyp, @suesa, @erodedthoughts, @fknmayhem, @howo and of course @m31 who provided the idea to look at today from the future. There are many I am forgetting, Sorry.

I'd also like to thank everyone who has been with me on my posts and read and commented or better yet, used something to make their lives a little better somehow, as that is the endgame of it all. Also, a big shoutout to all the devs and investors who make this possible.

As most of you likely know, my approach is to work and work and work as I see so much future potential that I would be insane not to invest all of myself I can into it, at least for some period of time. Below are some numbers from the last year and I am hoping that I can use my current position as a platform to build upon and spiral outwards to help others.

It is strange for me to give numbers like this but they are available on the blockchain and I have written so many posts about investing and really taking the opportunity provided here. Am i the most financially successful? Not by a long shot but, regardless of what others do, I am going to do what I can to be among the hardest working.

Unknown but likely estimates:
3000 hours
1,000,000+ words

1 Year
365 Days
1186 Posts
4847 Comments
18978 Votes received
69054 Votes given
70.142 Reputation
15,689 Steem Power
$96,224.39 Estimated account value

I do my best to carry my work ethic through every part of my life and will hopefully be able to continue into the future too.

My in real life company slogan is, Large scale results, a bit at a time which is my approach to Steemit also as if you aren't willing to live it, you aren't qualified to give it as advice. At the bottom of my website it also says, Go to sleep at night knowing you gave the day your all. Those who know me from chat might understand how serious I am about that :)

Lastly, I would like to thank my wife and daughter who have both been an inspiration and support for me and are the personal reason to work so hard to make this happen. I really hope to be able to provide them a future of opportunity also.

Thanks to everyone involved.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Happy Steemiversary man!

You've deserved every vest throughout your journey on the platform and I really enjoy reading your content and someday hope to be able to write as well as you do and if I even get to 50% of your willpower I'd be happy to settle there. :D

Ha, I don't think willpower is your issue and thank you again for the support as you know how much of this I owe you and and I am fortunate to have met you before I went completely insane here.

Not too long and we can have a Meetup somewhere but let's wait til at least it is plus temperatures :D

Blast from the past. :D

What a beautifully written tribute to your Steemiversary and presence among us! It was such a delight to read this aesthetically very well presented post. Adding to this the fact that you pay tribute to some seriously important people that have made it possible for you to become huge among us is in itself commendable.

You found yourself a new member of your fellowship here on Steemit.

Namaste :)

Thank you and welcome to the fellowship :)

You've done well in a year. You are a prolific writer and a talented photographer, so combining that with the hard work and determination that you seem to have, it's not surprising. Thanks for sharing and for letting me be part of your journey. :)

I won't lie, it has taken some work to get this far but it has brought value outside of Steem. I really think that I am a better person for having taken this journey and I think if people really wanted, this place could change so many lives for the better.

I follow a kid that's on dialysis and he uses money from Steemit to help pay for his treatments. It seems like he wouldn't have another way to pay for them either. That's awesome that he has the resources because of this platform!

It’s good to see you again! I remember when you started 🌷

You were among my first voters too :*

Kind of strange that I never catch your awesome articles anymore. I will look out for you again.
It’s always good to see the success stories on this platform. I still continue helping “newcomers”

@tarazkp such a wonderful piece it's an inspiring read, i feel I know exactly where you are coming from its so hard to be positive and have optimistic goals when you are crippled in debt! It seems every time you make any headway you hit an insurmountable wall but if you don't let your emotions run wild you will see the wall was never there, only in your mind, and one of life's greatest gifts is the ability to change your mind you only need to believe in yourself! I would love to accompany you on your amazing journey! Fantastic post cant wait to read your next inspiring piece!
Upvoted resteemed and followed!
Peace and Love my Friend!

Debt unfortunately makes the world go around at this time, something I hope we can slowly shift by cutting out the middlemen who profit from keeping others in the red.

A truer word was never spoken, with people like you this can become a reality!
Thanks so much for upvote it really is greatly appreciated!
Peace and Love my friend!

Happy Steemiversary to you! I wonder where I will be a year from now:).

Well it's an amazing achievement really, I mean those stats are really awesome it shows you've given the community a very good shot, and well what can one do with an amazing family? I'm glad you have them, keep up, and steem up brother

Happy Birthday, In all the time I've been following your posts, I've learnt quite a lot from you. Life applications, tips for growth on steemit, tips on how to write better, Etc etc. You're like a top Leader here, keep up the good work. I hope I get someone soon to inspire me, the way your family does.

Thank you.

There are many sources of inspiration in this world, use them all I think and I am pretty sure that the right opportunities will come along to say hi.

Congratulations @tarazkp! I have seen only a portion of your journey but I can tell how passionate you are on your craft.

Just want to share with you as well that your thought-provoking posts really keep my mind in-sync with the things I truly believe in. Keep inspiring us newbies, and may you be vested with more, since fate knows you already planned good uses of 'em. Cheers!

Happy 1st Year Anniversary @tarazkp!
I want to thank you cause I have learned a lot from your posts. I am an avid follower. Keep it up and looking forward in seeing more of your articles. :) Congratulations! :)♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97