Sort:  

I find this offensive...

We have the weeds that we can tolerate in the garden which are the minnows who did not put any money on steemit.

I have not, and will not ever spend a cent of my own money on this platform. WHY? Because years on I want to be able to point at my account and tell people I succeeded through my own hard work and effort.

I built everything I have from scratch with not a dime invested but instead I invested something more. My heart and my commitment.

I find this offensive...

"We have the weeds that we can tolerate in the garden which are the minnows who did not put any money on steemit."

Yes it is offensive, down right provocative. My aim on the scenario or analogy is to focus on the monetization of the whole steemit platform. Where the end result is only money matters.


I have not, and will not ever spend a cent of my own money on this platform. WHY? Because years on I want to be able to point at my account and tell people I succeeded through my own hard work and effort.

I built everything I have from scratch with not a dime invested but instead I invested something more. My heart and my commitment.

Not all people are as talented as you are. You don't need to put money in, other people will pay for your services that will go into your account. That is still your money that you are putting into the platform.

Because of your talent you are successful, you are well known to the community and that is how you managed to get good pay outs on your posts or articles. A lot of people love and respect you and that is success.

Other people as dumb as I am, don't have that luxury. My post or article will only be getting cents as pay out because I am not popular and well known to the whales and other steemians who have invested money in the platform.

Your average pay out per post is $25, that is awesome for someone who do not put money in the platform. That alone is a story of success within the steemit platform.

As for me I put money in to the platform and cant even get an average of $3 a post. That is my own hard earned money, sweat and blood streamed out of my skin just to have that money and I put it on the platform hoping that one day, price of steem go up and that investment can pay for my walker when I retire.

I will just leave you an extract from @geekpowered comment

Some of those "weeds" are beautiful flowers. Some are healing medicines. To get rid of them all would destroy the garden. Of course, there are also weeds that just strangle out other plants. Those can be pruned back with flagging.

Awww @webcoop. It's all just time and making friends and trying to help the community. I see you do all of that minus a couple of things but I can help you with that. We can help you with that.

I'll come find you on discord this week 💚💛

People just need to know about you and the work youre doing to help the community.

If you help the community the community helps you back. Thats what happened with me so I know this "formula" works.

Good call Girl!
That calm composure you have will do it every time.

Unlike you, I'm not actually offended by the post but I do think it's a good opportunity to put things into perspective.

For example, its what you want and expect from the platform. Myself and @webcoop have had a few discussions about this topic before and we both have different viewpoints (but that's ok).

We're both Aussies and we're both relatively new to Steemit and I think we get on ok with each other, but at the same time, we both have a different approach to what the platform means to ourselves.

I'm just happy to cruise along, do a few posts every now and then, read other peoples articles and comment and upvote where I think it's deserved. I either vote at 100% or I don't vote at all.

On the other hand, the parochial West Aussie wants to spread his vote far and wide with a minimal influence on the recipients.

I don't know what's better? Voting for 20 people at 100% or voting for 200 people at 1%.

At the end of the day, he's getting a good return from his posts and should be congratulated for the effort he puts in!

Steemit is made up of shitloads of different people with different outlooks, so we can only hope they all have the best interests of the overall Community at heart when they interact on here?

On the other hand, the parochial West Aussie wants to spread his vote far and wide with a minimal influence on the recipients.

I don't know what's better? Voting for 20 people at 100% or voting for 200 people at 1%.

hmmmm I'm not sure if I am that narrow minded, am I? Is this what we come down to, name calling? But that's okay I'm not upset about it, I welcome it.

I think it all comes down to respect. You respect my views as I do yours. I don't think I've ever told anyone here that they should do this and do that (unless it's a rule that we should follow). Maybe someone told me to do this and do that but I did not listen.

Anyways, we all have different views and these are mine and mine alone. You might not agree with it and that's what makes it unique and it's all mine. I hope that is okay with you all.

Voting 200 fellow team Australia members at 1% when I am not online for hours, days or weeks is a lot better than not voting at all. If I am able to vote 200 fellow team Australia at 100%, I will but unfortunately its not practical.

If you are against auto voting or curating and will not be online for hours, days or weeks, your 100% SP is sitting there doing nothing. What a waste, that could help other team members at that time. But I have nothing against that and I am okay with that. It is your SP and it is up to you how you give it or not.

Hang on there is another side to it that we did not mention. How about voting 200 people at 1% then when that person have time to read post and curate, that person do vote at 100%. Even when the curation trail already voted, that person will change that vote from 1% to 100% after reading and commenting on that post.

That is perfect isn't it? Am I that person? I would like to think so.

However, since I have delegated all my SP I am now at 100% $0 value. I'm currently experimenting with delegation.

Steemit is made up of shitloads of different people with different outlooks, so we can only hope they all have the best interests of the overall Community at heart when they interact on here?

That is 100% correct

G'day Mate,
Sorry I never got back to you, I've just got back from out bush.

Firstly, I think we both we both agree on most things, but it's also ok if we voice our different opinions - which is another thing we both agree on.

I'm sure it's obvious that we do both respect each other so that's not a big issue.

I just want to deal with the "name calling" thingo - "the parochial West Aussie".
It's certainly not said in a negative context.............
I spent most of my life in WA, went to school there, lived and worked in most parts of the State and You and I both know that West Aussies are the most parochial individuals in the Country - myself included.

Anyway, I look forward to having many more discussions, agreements, disagreements, sarcastic comments and banter.

AND...............I will always continue to upvote you 100% if I think your content is deserving - Lol..............

Well said. I like the analogy of steemit to a garden and the reward pool to water. Didnt enjoy being called a weed though...lol.

Ive often contemplated the role of bots since ive been here. Im experimenting with a couple at the moment, such as minnowbooster. There are just so many bots that I wonder some days where the authors have gone.

If I remember correctly, using the Stespshot app automatically gets you voted by 11 bots!

I see Steemit as a platform where I can write quality stuff, be found by a receptive audience and, best of all, get paid for it. Admittedly, Im only getting cents and the occasional dollar but the reward factor is great and the ability to reward others with more than a Facebook style 'like is the clincher for me'. A couple of times ive been picked up by a whale, but thats the exception.

I see Steemit as a platform where I can write quality stuff, be found by a receptive audience and, best of all, get paid for it. Admittedly, Im only getting cents and the occasional dollar but the reward factor is great and the ability to reward others with more than a Facebook style 'like is the clincher for me'. A couple of times ive been picked up by a whale, but thats the exception.

And that is what steemit is all about. That is what got me to steemit, I blog or post an article and I get a few cents unlike my own personal blog website which only earned $1 in a month.

It is when people are complaining about the reward pool, my analogy is exactly their way of thinking. Fortunately, we can't really drain the pool as someone said.

About the bots, minnowbooster is the best so far because it will still give you better return and will refund your money if the vote did not go through.

All the bid bots like booster, bellyrub and others are now being unprofitable for user because others are throwing their bid without looking if they are going to lose or not.

There is already an app or site that is up and running for a while to see and track most of the bid bots.
https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html#paid

Ill take a look at the site. Thanks.
One of the main reasons I like Steemit isnt because of the money, but for the fact that my work is recorded on a blockchain, which is to me, the most effecrive proof of when somethingvwas written and who by. Its a more secure kind of copyright

I see Steemit as a platform where I can write quality stuff, be found by a receptive audience and, best of all, get paid for it. Admittedly, Im only getting cents and the occasional dollar but the reward factor is great and the ability to reward others with more than a Facebook style 'like is the clincher for me'. A couple of times ive been picked up by a whale, but thats the exception.

And then

One of the main reasons I like Steemit isnt because of the money, but for the fact that my work is recorded on a blockchain, which is to me, the most effecrive proof of when somethingvwas written and who by. Its a more secure kind of copyright

Are all good reason to join steemit.

LoL, drain the reward pool. We should all work to make this platform better than reddit.com. Yes I said it, reddit.com. I don't know why redditors aren't converted yet. Is their karma points better than SBD? Maybe that's your next post. Reddit vs Steemit. I'd do it but can't be stuffed researching plus I don't get more than 30 views.

I never really looked at reddit.com, I had a quick browse and can't be bothered going through it.

I have seen a post in steemit saying that his/her ad on reddit got rejected. Well of course they don't want competition. Apparently reddit.com tried a tipping bot before with doge coin but did not work cause someone stole the money... and now they are trying to bring it back again... interesting story if anyone can be bothered doing the research.

Some of those "weeds" are beautiful flowers. Some are healing medicines. To get rid of them all would destroy the garden. Of course, there are also weeds that just strangle out other plants. Those can be pruned back with flagging.
But both flagging and upvoting only really matters if you have built up value in the platform.
Even users that can't contribute monetarily often contribute to the platform as a whole.
The point of the upvotes is make it easier to find good content, as well as pay people for their time and work. Those creating content, whether they be minnows or whales, are the ones that are giving true value to the platform. The system may simply need to be adjusted.

That was an scary scenario, if people are worried so much about the reward pool then that means less people in the platform means bigger reward pool to be split between them.

But check this post by @dragosroua 10 months ago explaining why there is no such thing as draining the reward pool. https://steemit.com/steemit/@dragosroua/why-there-is-no-such-thing-as-draining-the-reward-pool

I already read it, when you first mentioned it.

Which means you can only get into the steemit platform if you have huge amount of money to bring in with you.

hahaha. That at first scared me, then i clicked through the link provided. Truly, reward pool cannot be drained. Your post is quite expository though and i love the analogy.

As a newbie in the community, I am still learning about how the upvotes and rewards work. But for now, I decided to upvote content that adds value to me and where I have learned something. Same to those who took the effort interacting with what I have published.

But it is interesting also to receive an offer - for a bot to earn more from the platform. I will need to observe more and learn.

Followed you @webcoop and look forward learning more.

We all started at the beginning and we learn as we go. Try going to this link might help you out a bit especially on maximizing your earnings. https://steemitblog.com

Thanks for sharing @webcoop Your post on how the rewards work made me understand Steemit better. Cheers.

Let me know what you @webcoop thinks of the @MoonBot. I see you are on the Moon Ride :)

I'll be writing a post shortly why the moonbot is totally different then anything out there in many ways. Stay tune!

It sounds promising so far.

I'm on my seat and strapped on. I'm just waiting for the launch and I hope it won't be a bumpy ride.

Or did we launch already? That means do I get my up-vote on my next post? If we did then man that was a smooth ride.

yes we really need this but everyone should fallow this otherwise the reward pool will exhaust quickly

please read this post as well it might enlighten you about the truth that we can never drain the reward pool.

Why There Is No Such Thing As "Draining The Reward Pool"

It just means that bots are decreasing other peoples rewards by using unsual amount of SP.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

So much to read and a bit confusing for me.

Just let us know what you are confused about and we might be able to help out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70