Safe usage of Voting-Bots

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I was not aware of some of the rules circulating on Steemit and this has cost me a few times and I hope with this post that I can inform you guys and help you avoid these mistakes.

IMG_1474.JPG
My cat, MellowCat

Using Bots

The reason for me to create this post is to help you guys avoid the mistake(s) that I have made and if anyone has anything to add, please feel free to amend and/or correct me.

First of all, I want to use this opportunity to promote @qurator, this is a group that will help you with 1 upvote a day, to put it in a nutshell. Please have a look at this post to learn more about who they are, what they do and what this can mean for you. It’s easy to join and there is barely any effort needed afterwards (I would recommend to upvote their daily qurator to move up a level).

Step 1 – Why do people use bots?

Bots are there to ‘buy votes’ and that way help the monetization of your post. This makes your post more valuable and you appear in trendings, so that you get more exposure and followers … in a nutcase.

Step 2 – How should I use a bot

There are many bots available for Steemit users, so choosing a bot can become complicated. Maybe this can help you.

  1. Look how much you want/can spend
  2. Choose a bot using http://www.steembottracker.com/

SteemBotTracker.JPG

Once you’re there, you have to consider many factors:

Make sure the bot does not allow upvotes past 3,5 days age of your post. Any bot that allows upvotes past 3,5 days will increase your risk of being ‘downvoted’.

Next I look at whether a bot is still giving profitable bids, for this I follow 2 checks:

  1. I check the highlighted column in screenshot #1, ‘Max Profitable Bid’. If there is still an allowance there, you see it like I highlighted, but the one above (Smartsteem) shows 0, so there’s no more profitable bidding on that bot
  2. Clicking on ‘details’ which opens up another window (screenshot #2) and you see the ‘Bid Value (USD)’, if this is lower than ‘Vote Value’, you should receive return on your investment. However if the ‘Vote Value’ is higher than the ‘Bid Value (USD)’, then check the next bot.

SteemBotTracker w MaxBidHighlight.JPG
Screenshot #1

Details.JPG
Screenshot #2

What I also consider it the time until the next upvote. If there’s a lot of time left, then it’s highly likely that other people will come after you and decrease the profitability of that bot. However if there’s a short time (less than 10 minutes should be safe) then you have more chance that the bot will remain as you found it.

Further make sure you honour the rules of the bot. There are 2 things you should be careful of here:

  1. Ensure that you adhere to there minimum and maximum bid rules
  2. Some bots will now allow votes on posts older than 6,5 hours

For up-to-date info on a specific bot it is also recommendable to read their profile pages in Steemit.

Feel free to leave me your comments, feedback, suggestions or questions.

Thanks,

Doron

Sort:  

This will come in handy but I will come back for more information

Please do and you can also drop me a line on discord, might be easier

You dont use calculator? Add the calculator (in the page) to the post... You are making a lot of noobs bad bid voting and screwing others returns.

Be carefull.

UpVoted =D

I've never used the calculator as I find it very confusing. How would you explain it? I'll put it in an edit then.

Also I guess don't ruin the vote value by bidding to high on small amount of vote value bots. I saw a lot of people doesn't really care about it. And if it shows green it's mean the bots are currently profitable also don't forget the current ROI.
Great post @wolfje. That cat looks cute

Yeah, but if you are not carefull, you are not only loosing money but making EVERYONE loosing it.

Yes, I am going to post an update about voting history checking and the calculator, I'm just waiting on more information to help me build the arguments. Thank you for mentioning it.

I wonder if that's why my ROI has not been good. Can you check this out and tell me if that's why I didn't do so well? https://steemit.com/steemit/@r351574nc3/steem-rewards-are-voting-bots-viable

Your calculations seem to match up, I made a ton of money on them when the SBD price was rising, but yeah I'm more careful and selective now. Another reason is that some bots won't payout until the bidders make a loss (just found out about this, see a comment below) so check the auction history as well.

Good point! Thank you for mentioning it

My pleasure :)

No. If it shows green it is NOT always a profitable bid.
Screenshot_20180121-153533.jpg

Read that top line for getboost☝️.... min bid is .05 .... max profitable bid is 0.01.
@cre47iv3 is right on, many people would bid .10 on that getboost and loose everyone in the pool money.
A .1 bid would bring the payout down to 0.08 for the person bidding a .10 bid.

You may be interested in my analysis of voting bots. I also plugged you. Enjoy

Voting Bots: Are they Viable

Very good article, thanks for letting me know.

My Ultimate is Charging ...

What do you mean with that?

Oh, it means a couple things. My voting power is low, so I'm waiting for it to recharge. There is also a popular overwatch meme around charging an ultimate move. It's like saying my vote is an ultimate move that is charging up.

I keep an eye on my VP, I really wnat it to be between 60 and 70 when I don't have a competition. If I go above that I have some VP delegated to smartsteem, which gives me some nice revenues as well. Maybe a suggestion.

Be careful with bots, some are designed to keep collecting bids after the auction and not distribute votes until all bidders have a negative ROI. It is best to observe some of the auctions before you place money loosing bids.

This is true, but there's no certain way to know which ones they are, right? I agree observing their auctions is a good idea, I will add that in an update.

I have started a blog where I hope to document some of the quirks of the bidbots. I am hoping #botreviews becomes a popular thing that people check before they bid. There is also #bot and #bots that have some articles on some bots and how they work. I have found that some of the most useful sounding bots are actually the most savage to their bidders. Mrswhale for instance doesnt let people get a positive ROI, check the screenshots on her collecting bids 5 mins after the auction closed.

My favorite bots are the non bid-bots. Ie @gentlebot who works on comments and isn't pay for play.

I've edited my post to add #botreviews and bots. How would you activate @gentlebot, don't you have to send money?

I am also following you now, together we get a stronger and better community.

From what I have read in the intro the gentlebot never checks who the author is but votes only on coments according to an algorithm.

I have used the bid bots for few instances but hardly got return back the investment. Moreover, due to decrease of SBD and steem price, the profit is going down further! So now stopped.

Yes, you have to be very careful!

Thanks. I've been trying to figure this stuff out.

Use it carefully!

Read about the bots more using #bots or #bot. There is a lot of good info out there.

Nice informative post @wolfje will share this since it is something that does confuse many.

Thank you

I am very impressed with your post, this is a reality where now many bots are offering promotion to our writing, but we need to be careful and selective in choosing the bot itself. highly postive posts @wolfje

Thank you, please let me know if you have any questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59