The divine by any other namesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitbloggers5 years ago

Perhaps in our evolution we have needed religion to give us some kind of belief to believe in, but now we can evolve beyond that and know what is real and what is not...

chariot-1151742_1280.jpg

It is said that the vast ocean deep is but a drop in the sea of divine love and that if you took all the trees and made them into paper and all the water and made that into ink it would not be enough to write and describe the beauty; which must mean it’s pretty damn big or it’s indescribable.

So how would you define something that can’t be defined? How would you describe something that’s indescribable? Would you make an image with a long white beard and say: this is what it is? Would you make a religion and say: we speak in the name of the unutterable? Would you say: we believe in the made religion and the bearded man as being that which created all, and of course we believe in his family: his son, his mother and father and the belly buttons on Adam and Eve and the ghost that’s holy.

Would you believe this of your own volition or would your belief come from the religion that was made that tells you what to believe and tells you what to think and how to think it?

Many names there are the world over to say the name of the creator and as many religions to say this is the one true way and all others are not to be believed in; and in this way the human race is divided and kept in ignorance by the ignorant believing in false idols and praying to the image given to them to pray to.

Thinking for yourself about this is against the rules of all religion and is frowned upon to put it mildly and at one time you would have been killed for it most horribly and although in the west it isn’t done anymore there are some parts of the world where you can still be murdered for your beliefs if they are against the main-stream religion.

Before we all came into being there was no such thing as a man or woman but over a long period of time we evolved to become what we are now; but it has been said we are made in the image of our creator, and even though the creator has no image this is taken as true, but if one was to think for themselves then perhaps our true likeness to that divine would be in our hearts and not these finite bodies that one day will turn back into dust where they came from.

It is time to think for ourselves and to re-evaluate all that we have been told. And if someone comes to talk about the divine in us, let’s not go calling him the son of god but rather see him or her as someone enlightened that can show us the beauty in ourselves and that perhaps if allowed can show us the way out of the darkness we have all fallen into.

And if there’s a reason we are here it seems likely that it is joy in love and if one was to awaken that in us, surely that one would be known in that and recognised, not by words so much but by the feeling felt and a knowing deep inside of what is true or not.

A belief is not real because it can change, so it seems incumbent upon us as individuals that we know for ourselves and not to believe as a group where our minds are directed along the well-worn paths of someone else’s belief patterns. If thrashing around in the dark was going to do it for us we would all have become enlightened long ago.

But to know for ourselves, each in their own heart who we are and why we’re here by getting in touch with that divine within us.

Religions don’t want you to think for yourself because as soon as you do they’ve lost you, because anyone who thinks for them-self steps outside of the fallacy and begins to see it for what it is.

When you’ve been in the presence of the divine you will know, but until then it will be a belief to be argued over and divided up into as many parts as there are religions.

All that has been said here by me is the expression of my life experience and should not be confused in any way with your own truth that you should find for your-self.

Buddha said: believe only what strikes a chord in your own heart. Another famous man said: the kingdom of heaven is within you.

There have been many who have come to show us where to look, but to paraphrase another past master from out of the mists of our past: seek the master of the times and ask him for his knowledge.
So, I will finish this with a saying from Mr Prem Rawat: all that you are looking for is inside you.

Image from Pixabay and taken by me

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I think it's a great post @wales. I personally learned a long time ago, I don't believe in organized religion. I don't believe in anything that tells me am a bad person for thinking differently or pushing their views on me.

I believe in being honest, caring and thoughtful. I do think we need to take better care of ourselves. I will not follow a book written by a man (Of which I do have a strong opinion of). If that's the case I guess 50 Shades of Gray it is. Oh wait that was written by a woman. I believe nature, our world, it's people.

I do believe in spirits. I do believe in the elements mostly I believe if we all just allowed each other the free will they were given, we should live in more harmonized lifestyle.

I would disregard the one truly negative post on here. Good honest people do not shun or put others down because you don't think the way they do. I do live by the law of cause and effect (treat others the way you want to be treated.) I live by karma. Only so much negative and be pushed out before it comes back to you. From my personal experience is (since I seem to be hitting the cliches) People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Buddha said: believe only what strikes a chord in your own heart. Another famous man said: the kingdom of heaven is within you.

Both very sound words. The key to happiness is learning to be happy with yourself and Buddha's line supports free will.

We're all just taking different paths and journeys to the same location.

Well said

The mystery is there is nothing divine, but we keep looking for it. I wonder how this got into us?

By not realising for ourselves

Our theologies are very different @wales and I consider it one of the great benefits of Steemit that I may read your thoughts. Thank you.

#steemitbloggers

Don't mind me, I don't know anything

that is about as much as I do... :-)

You have collected your daily Power Ups! Your posts received total upvotes worth of 0.48$.
Learn how to power up smart here!

Really beautifully written post @wales. I agree with everything you say and religion is basically many languages saying the same thing.

I was never religious and found things out myself, didn't have parents that forced religious views on to me and I am grateful for it as it lets me see the bigger picture anyway. I am partly spiritual, part scientific and think there's something (well, a lot of things) beyond what we could ever come to know about how things work and came to be.

I think it really depends on your background as to what you believe in and what environment you were in as a child which will shape what your belief systems are but I live by this very simple rule:

You can do whatever you want to in life as long as you don't bring physical or non-physical harm to someone else.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

I, too, have had a journey with formal religion. I discovered hypocracy, judgement and small mindedness. Now I shun it, but respect those who have found solace in it - in whatever guise. Rawat is quite right. That was part of my lesson, too.

It's hard to know that though, that what you are looking for is inside. I've been hearing that for over 40 years, and I know it, yet still I look for fulfilment outside of me

Yes, it's very hard to do. Don't think I've succeeded, either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94