@Steemitmamas Write-Along: Give us Some Health Advice! ♥

in #steemitmamas6 years ago


Well, as usual, I'm late to jump aboard the @SteemitMamas daily write-along. You know I like being late to join in anything. What can I say?




It is day 6 for the latest write-along, but I'll tag along at the last second!




At least I'm joining in, right?! I mean, this is the first write-along I have even done!




The topic for this one is 'Give us some health advice!' Now, as a mother, I am also, as per the job description, a part-time doctor! This should come as no surprise! All you mamas out there know what I'm talking about. I have a few things I like to do to stay healthy, but today's topic will be self care. You know, relieving stress and keeping the old brain healthy, so you have the mental energy to keep everyone else healthy! I'll post links to some posts about other 'healthy' things I like to do in case you are interested, but today, I'll tell you how I keep my marbles and not GO NUTS!


I think one of the keys to keeping your sanity as a mother, is being able to de-stress and relax, and separate yourself from the situations that increase your stress level.




P1070194.jpg

Nope, this does not necessarily mean you have to have a 'girls night out', or a 'date night', or leave your kids behind. Yes, children cause most of the stress we experience, be it from their actions, or just the stress of knowing that YOU are responsible for raising them up into healthy, capable adults! (Talk about pressure!)

As you can probably tell from my photo above, my escape is through reading! I used to be a major book-worm as a child, and when I became a parent, reading sort of fell to the wayside. Now and again, I rediscover reading, and when I do, my stress levels come right down. Lately I have discovered that there are audio-books for FREE to listen to on YouTube, so I can put my phone to play a story while I do those boring, brain-numbing chores, like laundry, dishes, and milking my goats, (yes, I said milking my goats), and LISTEN TO whatever books I like!


P1040708.jpg

Of course, I don't ONLY listen to books, I take a little time and sit down and read and drink some coffee for break time. I used to do that, but checking facebook instead of reading, and let me tell you, checking facebook is not stress-relieving at all, and actually leaves me feeling slightly more stressed, not to mention, I am pretty sure I lose brain cells every time I get on there. (Kidding but not kidding...)

P1070192.jpg


That's my main sanity-saver! READING! There are others, like playing video games from time to time, and making crafts, but reading is my fave!


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for reading! ♥ Please share your favorite book in the comments below, and your favorite sanity-saver as well!


page-break-1024x256.png

As promised, here are a few other 'keeping me healthy' things I like to do!

Crafts like:
Painting
Cross-Stitch
and Essential Oil diffusing bracelets

I also try and grow my own food, and make many of my own non-toxic products like:

Salve/Lotion
Deodorant
and Sunscreen

I also ferment things like Kombucha and utilize many Home Remedies.


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Oh boy, I don't know where to begin with my favorite book, there are so many! I guess I would say On the Road by Jack Kerouac.

As far as for stress relief I usually use writing as my de-stress therapy but recently I have found a few podcasts that I enjoy. Much like your youtube "method" I can push play and get on with whatever I have to do.

Podcasts are cool too! I havent listened to any in years, but maybe I should look into that again. Thanks for the idea!
I havent read that book, Ill have to check that out too! I know, that question was kind of impossible. Who has just ONE favorite book?!

Audio books are so great for getting in a good story while doing your chores. It just can't be done with a book book. I wish :) nothing like holding a good book in your hands and feeling the pages between your fingers!

Facebook is extremely stressful and I have not had one in almost a decade :)

Yes, a book book is definitely my favorite, but you sure cant hold a book while doing certain chores! Audio is the next best thing...
Haha, yes, facebook is not great at all. I only get on there to check in with extended family, and to sell my baby goats. They sell like hotcakes on there. Better than craigslist, and safer, since it's easier to check if a person is a legitimate person, not a serial killer, haha. ;)

Reading is my escape as well. Through it I am able to evade and still be able to attend to some of the house chores. ;-)

I am sure the pressure of raising healthy and capable children is a task you are really never prepared for really? You never know what kind of situation kids can create for you and you just have to find a solution. Because kids always expect their parents to have all the answers right?

It is really important to have YOUR time to relax and enjoy. No matter what creates your stress sometimes. I love reading a book or meditating when stress come into my life. And, no way is the right way. Your way is the right way. No matter what it is. :)

That is SO true! Whatever works best for the individual is the best for them. Not everyone is a 'reader'. Meditating sounds like a good way to de-stress as well!

Yes, being a parent is stressful no matter what. Always worrying if you are doing 'good enough'. Worrying about the inevitable mistakes that you will make and hoping that they will not have a lasting negative effect.
It's all worth it though. ♥

Reading sure can be a stress reliever and as for my favorite read it would have to be the bible,

Of course, no better book than that one!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 257 (9/14/18)

Thank you very much! ♥

Reading always can be a good place to escape 😀

Me too. Some reading with coffee works best for me. I hope I can combo it with my tip to do it during my staycation in the toilet. Haha.

Tell you, I submit this write along even later than you. Lol. I think after the post payout. Lol

Haha! At least Im not the very last. ;)

I know what you mean by 'staycation in the toilet'! I do that too. :D
Sometimes you just need a break~!

Haha yes. We mamas and our free 'staycation' haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha yes. We mamas and our free 'staycation' haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93