You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tournament Creators, the Future of Steem Monsters is in your hands

in #steemmonsters5 years ago

I agree a wider distribution of the prizes. Question is, how deep is enough? I propose top 20 pays gets paid?
I would the liquid SBD from a post that promotes your tournament to help raise additional funds.

On the subject of taking down the maxed teams, if one cannot buy all the cards, the one should team with trusted friends and merge cards. That will be quiet a challenge, but it will work if done correctly.

Sort:  

I would suggest paying out either top 16 or top 32 (preferably top 32 or even 64, but that requires quite some funds), because that's how the bracket is built. It makes little sense to me to pay out top 12 or top 20 when there are 16 players that make it to the same round. It happened that I missed out on the prizes, simply because I didn't play the qualifier round...

I know the feeling well of barely missing the bottom prizes.
I think 25 is a good number to try out.

I think @simplymike is right, it needs to be a multiplier of 4, to ensure it's all competitors that make a specific round get a prize.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, I see. Good point.

It makes no sense that the people who play the qualifier round have 2 more points than the people who don't. That's not fair ... if 8 people reach the quarter final, but the people who have played the qualifier round have more points, because they fought an extra battle...

I'd love to do a tourney - no legendaries, novice or bronze league - that would work by private invitation only, so we can exclude the big hitters. If some of the smaller /less experienced accounts don't get a fair chance to rank high in a toutnament every once in a while, they will stop entering.

Now allI need is to figure out a idea to raise some money so we can payout a lot of players...

This is the exact reason why I enter in the final 15 minutes of a tournament. This could have a negative affect though, where I might be knocked out first round by a really strong player.

I know @sparkesy43 is current raising funds for a “deep” prize pool tourney. Maybe you both can join forces?

Having no Legendaries would be a very different game play, but everything is worth a shot.

Before @heyimsnuffles figured out how the bracket was built, I always signed up very early. That has changed, and I like to keep my eye on the players' list to decide when to sign up. I don't have a problem risking having to fight an extra battle in bronze or silver league tournaments, but gold... If it's a rather small tournament, I still prefer to go on to the next round without having to play.

I don't really like the idea of not being able to use legendary cards - I adore my legendaries - but it is the only way to set up a tournament and level the playing field for everyone by filtering out those legendary summoners. Don't get me wrong, I do own some - maxed or at level 3 - and I love playing them, because they give me a shot against people I wouldn't be able to beat otherwise, but I'm willing to give in because I want the smaller players to have a shot too.

I had picked up that @sparkesy43 was planning to host a tournament with a deep prize pool, but I had missed the fundraising post he published two days ago. Just replied, proposing we could indeed join forces. Thanks for the heads up, @mellofello!

I don't know how deep is deep enough, I guess it would depend on how many entrants you get. Personally I'd like to see about half the entrants get something, but of course you can't know how many will enter before you create the tournament so you have to guess.

I don't know that additional funds are needed, just a broader distribution of the same original prize pool

Posted using Partiko Android

It would be a guess. If I think you will get 50 plays and to set it to auto pay the top 25, but only 25 players join, then that would be a happy day for everyone. I guess that won't be so bad, right?

This would work if I can set it to pay top 50% of contestants, but I don't think that feature is available.

Exactly, the facility isn't there to pay a percentage of entrants (particularly as the final number can fluctuate between those who enter, and those who actually check in to battle), but your example is perfect. Estimate how many entries you think you'll get, then work out your prize depth accordingly. When I get back from my weekend away I'll crunch some numbers and see if I can put together a tournament of my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93