40% Stacking

It's Day 3 of my quest to post more shiny. In keeping with tradition, today's shiny is also made of silver.

I have been trying to "catch up" to some of the more experienced stackers here, so I have been collecting based on the weight, not the style or rarity. So when I was afforded the opportunity to buy some 40% half dollars around spot price, I jumped on it.

I picked up 15 of the cleaner ones that I could find. They're not mint, but still pretty and all of them are in least in decent shape. 40% silver and 60% copper (the latter came for free).

I figured rather than show you the single coins, I'd actually stack them... so you you go!

image.png

They're not exactly 90% silver, but they still count and that's more weight on the stack. Since we're coming up on annual graduations, let's use the terms of the times. PhD - Piled Higher and Deeper. :D

Cheers!

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Another good idea if you’re looking strictly for silver and do not care one way or the other as far as what type of coin you get is to look for the Ward Nickles from 42 to 45 .generally have almost no premium value to them and two nickles have more silver than a dime. Another item that I’ve looked at and they purchased over the years are Canadian quarters dimes and halves

You should look at my previous post. I think you might like it. ;)

Thanks for stopping in and sharing your tips. I'll have to check out the Canadian coins. I haven't seen a lot around my neck of the woods, but I'll keep an eye out.

Like a crow to shiny objects :) I keep getting this funny little image of you petting your silver coins haha

I'm glad you've found more; I can hear the enjoyment you take in them!

That's me, I see the glimmer and I'm off to see what it is. I don't pet them, but I do take them out from time to time and spread them out on the table and look at the different designs. They're really cool looking. I also have once piece that I used to keep in my pocket and I would fidget with it. However, since it's getting hotter, I've been wearing more shorts and they don't have the tiny coin pocket, so I could lose the coin. I found a place for it in my wallet, so I have it with me when I leave, but it's not out where I can fidget with it throughout the day anymore. :(

Yes, I'm so happy to have found something to collect that I think actually has value. And when I spend money on it, I know that I'm helping secure my family's future, not just wasting it away. Even though I spend money, we have something that's of value and will hold its value even if the dollar drops.

And the silverware is just awesome! Investment and unique untensils?! Yes, please!

If am right I believe your 40 percent stacking is based on the weight of the silver coin you bought in correlation to the copper coin, and since the copper coin was free I think it is a fair bargain. I am following up with your coin stacking journey in other to see how far you will achieve on it

The coin is 40% silver and 60% copper. So although I only paid for each coin once, the price was based on the amount of silver in the coin, not the copper. So in essence, I got the copper for free, but they aren't separate coins.

I'm glad you're enjoying watching my journey!

So, I'm going to guess that even though a half dollar may weigh more that the 40% silver coins are still cheaper than the 90% silver coins, and especially if they're of the same weight. Or maybe not? It's been a while since I looked at the prices of either.

The 90% ones cost more. As you can see from this handy guide from https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/coin-melt-values.aspx

The 90% silver half dollars have .36169 troy ounces of silver for a total coin weight of 12.5 grams.

The 40% silver half dollars have .1479 troy ounces of silver for a total coin weight of 11.5 grams.

So even though the 40% coin has almost the same total weight, it has less silver, and is therefore worth considerable less than the 90%. The difference in price is substantial though as the 90% normally sells at a premium, whereas the 40% coins are normally sold near spot price, so you don't have to pay a markup. I don't know why as you get free copper in addition to the silver. It's probably because it takes up more room. Either way, it's an economical way to add to the stack.

Nice. Thanks for doing my research for me. :) I have to say, that doesn't happen very often and it's normally the other way around (not with you, per se, but with people in general), so I do actually appreciate it.

Okay, so intuitively, I was right about the price, but didn't have a clue as to why. Having the 90% be sold way over spot though I suppose makes sense, but I don't think I would have arrived at that on my own. I guess as long as I'm prepared to pay more for the 90%, that's all that matters, but it is good to know why.

Happy to do it. I really like that site. I found it after I had bought some 90% quarters and I wanted to see how badly I got ripped off as I didn't know anything about them at the time. I was pleasantly surprised that I made out ok and that's when I started considering constitutional silver for investing. If you're interested in silver, I recommend bookmarking the site. It's good for future reference.

Yes, happy to do the research. I don't like throwing opinions around if they're not rooted in facts. It's easiest just to show the source, so I've gotten used to adding it into the "argument." I think a lot of people just give their opinion without any facts. I don't have any facts on that though. ;)

It's not way over spot for 90% half dollars, but there's normally a considerable markup. The Franklin ones are fairly old at this point, and the Kennedy ones were only made for one year, so they're semi-rare. It depends on what you're trying to accomplish, but if you have limited funds and are looking to get as much silver as possible, you're probably going to get more by purchasing the 40% silver half dollars as opposed to the 90%ers.

I have to agree that there are a lot of opinions being hurled about without a whole lot of substantiation. And what passes for "proof" is wholly lacking. Some friend's ex-girlfriend's mother's first husband's cousin twice removed grooming the real Satoshi's dog once may make for an intriguing anecdotal story, but does not count as hard evidence as to Satoshi's identity. Okay, I made that whole scenario up, and actually, it's probably better than what most people have for actual dot connecting, but you got the point several words back so I will stop belaboring the point right about...now.

This is all good stuff about the silver. I will bookmark the link. I have a site I've gone to in the past that I liked but never did anything with. I'll have to compare the two. Still need to get over to that NSLCS. :)

Some friend's ex-girlfriend's mother's first husband's cousin twice removed grooming the real Satoshi's dog once

Ha ha, would you believe that actually happened to me? Nah, I'm just messing with you.

The "not so local" part just means that you have longer to look forward to visiting. And you'll have to take more funds with you so you can get more to make it through until the visit.

There are lots of good sites out there if you're looking for silver. If you want rounds, I just saw that Provident Metals has generic rounds on sale for $0.25 above spot. You do have to send a check into them, wait for it to clear, and have bought more than $100 of stuff for the free shipping, but if you can't make it to the NSLCS, that could be an option.
https://www.providentmetals.com/1-oz-999-fine-silver-rounds-our-choice.html

Full disclosure: I haven't bought metals online yet. Only in-person so far.

We for sure need to talk. I have a ton of 40% & 90%. I'd consider letting some of it go if you're interested. I did find a couple bags of my nickels today, gotta see if any there are any war nickels in them. Let me know.

Yeah, I'd be interested. I sent you a message on Discord. Hit me up there when you have a chance and we can try to figure something out. :)

Here is another good site to use for silver melt prices. This one has melt prices of modern coins also and it's my favorite to use. http://www.coinflation.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87