AI learns to create valuable content - a threat for Steem?

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

Good morning Steemians,

@neavvy wrote an article which describes superb the evolution of AI, the possibilities, his own project and the consequences it could have for the Steem blockchain. In his blog he mentions the idea, what if AI could scan trending Steem articles, analyzes successful patterns and create a brand-new post with no copy right errors. @crypto.piotr draw my attention to his post and I honestly recommend reading it.

AdobeStock_37377830-760x1013.jpeg
Source

Concerns

Steem would be a mess or no one would take some time to prepare their post themselves. The gratitude of upvotes for your small intellectual masterpieces would mean nothing. Everyone would suspect that people would use the bot, so even true “artists” & good writers would lose motivation since trust on this platform would decrease.

In my opinion this scenario would be far away from happening and this is why I left this message:

In my opinion you don't have to be scared AI dominating social media. In my opinion the concept of social media is that people can connect with other human beings, sharing their interests, ideas and having great conversations. AI might join social media, but people might leave and find something else. Because the true benefit is that you can exchange personal relationships.
It may happen that people will have more face to face contact again.

Doing some research

I thought I was completely right – but then I did some research and found an interesting article about AI and the creation of texts.

It describes a program from a Californian university program called GPT2, which started with word prediction. The program was trained to predict the next word in 40 GB of the internet text. The developers made progress and learned the machine to create logical sentences on it’s own. In the beginning the program forgot the start of the sentences, due the lack of enough memory, and the paragraphs made absolutely no sense.

But then

In an experiment, the software was given about two sentences saying that a group of English-speaking unicorns had been discovered in the Andes. The program continued the crazy story, invented experts who were quoted, reported about details of the expedition, about DNA samples or possible references to aliens. The AI thus wrote one of those countless nonsense stories that can be found today in the lowlands of the social network and which are also clicked on abundantly.

Researcher mentioned that the program is already good enough to score a moderate result in higher education (e.g. language test). They also added that the software will be kept safe, since other people could use it for “bad” purposes.

Download (2).jpg
Source

Personally I couldn’t believe that the development of KI is already that far. I don’t want to scare people around here but I thought it is an add-on what @neavvy already pointed out in his post.
In case you are interested in more information you can find the website project here
Also visit @crypto.piotr and @neavvy that help Steem to be an unique experience.
I would like to know what you guys think, so leave a comment below :)


I hope that you guys had a good start in the week. In case I add some valuable content I would appreciate an upvote and make sure you hit that follow button for more informative content.

Cheers,
M

Sort:  



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail.

If you appreciate the work we are doing then consider voting us for witness by selecting stem.witness!

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Wooo my dear @mcnestler, it is amazing that things like this can happen, if that happens then the concept of SOCIAL NETWORK would lose its essence.

Particularly I think there is still a lot of research and testing to get to that point. Or will the AI ​​end up dominating the world?

Fondly
Pr EV

Hey @fucho80 thank you very much for your comment.

I was also shocked when I saw what is already possible :/ It is the beginning of something and it is already far more developed than I thought of. I do not think that AI will rule the world, but it will definiatly have an impact.

CHeers,
M

Hi @fucho80, @mcnestler

SOCIAL NETWORK would lose its essence.

Part of me believe that it could possibly happen, but I think we will just have to find ways to differentiate accounts which belong to humans and those that are run by bots/AI. Surely future can be very tricky.

Cheers
Piotr

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Dear @mcnestler

line2.png

What can I say? Amazing choice of topic. Very close to my heart.

It amazed me that you decided to share your thoughts with us and posted entire publication on this particular issue. BIG THUMBS UP! :)

Steem would be a mess or no one would take some time to prepare their post themselves.

Personally I strongly believe that it would be very easy to recognize any AI who would try to post it's own publication. It require creativity which AI may not have.

But at the same time how to recognize short 2-3 sentenced comment, which would be created by AI and would be stricly related to discussed topic? I can imagine that most people would fall for that.

In my opinion you don't have to be scared AI dominating social media.

I'm not scared of AI dominating social media. I just think that companies using AI will dominate this market. Regular influencers and bloggers will not be able to compete with them.

Imagine if I could "order" AI to find some post related to blockchain and drop some unique comment. Every 5 minutes. 24h a day. Hardly anyone out there would even realize that those comments are not coming from real human. My reach end exposure would grow so fast, that noone who doesnt USE this tool would probably fail. Regular "joes" will not be able to compete.

Yours
Piotr

Hi @crypto.piotr

But at the same time how to recognize short 2-3 sentenced comment, which would be created by AI and would be stricly related to discussed topic?

You are totally right. People could generate a big audience by using bots to comment meaningful sentences.

Imagine if I could "order" AI to find some post related to blockchain and drop some unique comment

Haha lets make a business case out of it. It would generate some nice income :) Always a pleasure to read your replies.

Cheers,
M

Dear @mcnestler

I'm probably going to be one of first people out there to use AI on Steemit to support my efforts hahaha :)

Obviously, I won't "experiment" on crypto.piotr as it would be to risky :)

Always a pleasure to read your replies.

And vice versa.
Piotr

Wow @mcnestler, this post is really awesome.

In an experiment, the software was given about two sentences saying that a group of English-speaking unicorns had been discovered in the Andes.

Sometimes AI creates really strange things. This reminds me of Microsoft's Twitter bot that was supposed to analyze Tweets of some users and create its own accordingly. Sounds great, but after short time, the bot become a nazi and started to pronounce Hitler's postulates against Jews.

So on the one hand AI may become funny and really entertaining, but on the other it can learn bad habits and mindset. We need to be especially careful.

Also visit @crypto.piotr and @neavvy that help Steem to be an unique experience.

Thank you, I really appreciate your words. I think you also have a significant contribution to the masterpiece of Steem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95