SteemSTEM Distilled #110

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

Here we are for another distilled of the best content posted last week on the SteemSTEM planet. For those who do not know what SteemSTEM is, please take a look here to get information on what we do.


[image credits: @medro-martin]

As always, @lemouth has looked for the two best posts found by our (English-speaking) curators last week. Before presenting them, here is the list of the most supported posts last week:

AuthorTitle
@mobbsFiguring out Social Media for SteemSTEM to Reach Out to the World
@scoMycotoxins
@mobbsLife is Easy, huh?
@svemirac      Astronomy News #04 - Space Telescopes & Images and successful tests on ISS


Interested in being part of that list? Please check these guidelines or ask for a mentor on Discord or on the Steem Chat.


Our top choices



Mycotoxins

We are happy to feature our curator @sco this week, who authored an interesting article about mycotoxins. If you like tomato sauce and eat it from cans, please have a look. Things may be dirtier than expected. While this may or may not affect your life, it is always good to be informed on what could be present in the food we eat. In short, mouldy food could impact us and end, somehow, in our plate (no matter the UV treatments)..

Punishment – An Overview Through the Lens of Psychology

For several weeks in a row, we are proud to feature @abigail-dantes in this distilled. The psychology topic of the week concerns punishment. Do we have to punish people, or not? She provides hints to answers to this question in the post, from the point of view of the psychologist. Again, a nice debate in the comments! Feel free to participate


Statistics


SteemSTEM offers support to anyone using our app, steemstem.io. We recall that:

  • Posting an article through the app automatically yields a 5% stronger upvote at curation time.
  • Posting a reply to an article (or to another reply) from the app can sometimes yield some SteemSTEM support.
  • Setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to the post automatically yields a stronger upvote (up to 5%).

Last week, the SteemSTEM curator teams have supported 57 posts written by 30 authors. 10 of these posts have been posted through the app (and got a 5% stronger upvote). Among these 57 posts, we find:

  • 40 small upvotes (less than 20%)
  • 11 medium upvotes (in the 20%-50% range)
  • 6 large upvotes (larger than 50%)

In addition, we have upvoted 41 comments posted through the app, written by 5 authors.

The list of upvoted post authors, potentially getting some extra support from @curie and @minnowbooster, is:
@abgjosesalas, @bambuka, @bettervision, @borjan, @capp, @carlos84, @debo-medstudent, @delta1512, @emperorhassy, @excelsureacademy, @ggsggr, @iptrucs, @joelagbo, @joshman, @katharsisdrill, @kralizec, @magicmonk, @malay11, @mobbs, @ozelot47, @phoenixwren, @remlaps-lite, @sco, @sembrandounpais, @sketch.and.jam, @stem-espanol, @svemirac, @ulisesfl17, @walterprofe, @wissensagentur


The upvoted comments have been written by: @abigail-dantes, @agmoore2, @carlos84, @carloserp-2000, @lemouth



All curation rewards earned are used to fund @steemstem project functioning and activities.

See you all next MonTuesday!



Sort:  

Another great issue, @lemouth. Featuring the only article I missed, but have been planning to read--Mycotoxins. I am paranoid about food already. My daughter gets annoyed because I throw out "old food" she considers to be still edible. Between @sco and @mobbs (Life is Easy, Huh)---I'm going to really get on her nerves :)

Of course, @abigail-dantes on punishment. Her articles are always memorable, but this one really gives all of us something to ponder. Who hasn't used punishment, or been the target of punishment? Not an easy subject.

On my agenda tonight...Mycotoxins. But after I go out to dinner with my son. Otherwise, the dinner might not happen :))

Next week, I will feature much more articles. We will move with the top posts (those already featured) as well as the "best" posts, that receive some large support as well (but not so well as our top posts). Since the amount of articles is small at the moment, this is something we can consider :)

Weeeeee :D

51zwIl630bL._SX425_ - copia.jpg

For those who haven't read @sco's post up to now, please beware: by the time you finish it you might not want to ever eat again :p However, it is a very important read. As for me, it has educated me about being extra careful and selective when purchasing nuts. Also, since we're talking about eating habits @mobbs' Life is easy, huh? Is quite appalling, but an eye opener too. Those poor animals (and the incident in the river!)

Well :/

Once again, thank you @steemstem, thank you @lemouth for your constant support, which is so encouraging and means the world to me <3 :)

I was about to answer that I also enjoy reading your posts... but I actually think I answer this week after week. As I answered to @agmoore2, I will also feature less supported posts next week. Hopefully, more people will be attracted by the distilled and more engagement will arise (I hope I am not wrong on this :) ).

will also feature less supported posts next week.

Wondderful! :D Also, I have already seen there will be a larger selection of articles for the next distilled #111 <3

This week looks extremely promising, I agree :)

The activity is increasing, that is wonderful since it gives us extra motivation.

I hope to publish content soon ... My life outside of steem has been a bit rough and I have not been able to concentrate on creating good content.

In the meantime I have fun reading and supporting good content, that helps me forget about so many problems.

I will try to script something to have more detailed stats. On the to-do list for next week.

I am also missing your posts. But I can imagine life in your country is not that easy... I hope things will improve at some point.

Mycotoxins! Good to see a microbiology topic on Distilled.

Will you be the next one writing something? :)

Between raising my kid and starting a new semester I've been tapped, but hopefully I'll get a chance soon!

I am looking forward to read something from you. But I truly know how long writing up a post can take... and that it is difficult to squeeze in a busy schedule such as yours ;)

The CooperFelix-Multiservices Team appreciates the content of this post by giving it a 10% upvote. We invite users to participate in the Project by offering a small donation on Fundition or following the project at the link: THE CF-M PROJECT.

Wellness Is Green


wellnessisgreenBuonaconFundition.jpg

The image is owned by the author and the use, reproduction or quotation without authorization is forbidden

Thanks a lot for the support!

I made it to freakin' distilled again! Must be more than 1.5 years since the last time. Ty!

Patience is a great virtue! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68