Saving Steemit

in #story5 years ago (edited)

I’ve lived in Minnesota now for twenty-four years. The Columbus I left in 1995 is a different place than the one I revisit. Last week my wife and I traveled back to Columbus, Ohio to surprise my father for his 79th birthday. Still, each time I go back to visit my family I encounter a certain sight, a smell, or a sound that makes me remember my past and what the city used to be.


“You can't go home again. You can't recover the past.” - Thomas Wolfe


I wish I possessed the wisdom it takes to understand this quote when I was younger because I may have done a few things differently. The younger version of me didn’t have a clue about so many things. It all comes back to perspective. As we progress down our path of life we begin to realize that each stage of our existence has its strengths and its pitfalls.

If youth’s Achilles’ heel is a lack of wisdom then the prevailing weakness of middle-age is to look at the past as being better than it was. I’ve noticed that a certain sort of melancholy descends on you in middle-age, a filter that gives a different, and sometimes deceptive, perspective on things. Our aging brains tend to conveniently forget about all of the previous pains in the ass and bad times that we suffered through and only remember the good.

I think this is the reason so many people start chasing different aspects of their youth in middle age. Some buy that hot red convertible, others opt for that cosmetic surgical procedure that promises to take years off their appearance. None of this ever works in the long term. After all, we can’t go home again...unless we have a time machine.

How This Applies to Steemit

All this got me thinking about the turmoil of the past few weeks here on Steemit. I think it’s safe to say the few of us first-wavers (users who joined in early-to-mid 2016) who are still active miss the old days. Back then we all thought Steemit would change the world. There were far fewer bots, followers engaged deeply with posts, and the payouts were epic.

The difference was, back in those first few months, there were probably just a few thousand users. Steemit had to evolve to prepare for more users and ultimately mainstream adoption. The problem was, in many ways, the platform was left to evolve on its own instead of growing according to logically engineered business plan. It’s clear that the “free-range” approach to business development didn’t equal longterm success.

In Search of the Killer dApp

There is lots of talk both on and off of Steemit about a “killer app” that will take blockchain and cryptocurrency mainstream. I think the answer lies in a certain social media company with the initials F.B. Due to privacy concerns and ideological reasons many people are searching for ways to leave Farcebook (misspelling was intentional). The trouble is, there is no single competitor out there who offers everything they do in one package.

To leave the FB ecosystem you’d need to sign up for many other platforms for things like photo sharing, social media posts, messaging, etc. and then convince all of your friends and relatives to do the same. Plus most of these other platforms still make their profit from selling user data. The Steem blockchain is already built and separate decentralized applications like Busy for social media posts and Steepshot for simple photo sharing have already been born. A private messaging dApp that mimics all of the features of FB Messenger would be another great offering.

Could it be that the killer dApp we’re searching for just involves putting pieces that are already in existence together? One solution could be to design an interface that stitches all of these existing (and future) dApps built on the Steem blockchain together in way that results in a single and seamless user experience, offering everything that Facebook does. It could even be called Stitch as in “stitching people’s lives together." It seems like most of the puzzle pieces are already there, the real challenge lies in figuring out how to marry the pieces together.

This is just an idea I came up with while writing this post (that was going to be about something else entirely). I'm sure there are hundreds of better ideas buried in the brains of our varied user base. I’ll be the first to admit that I’m no developer and there might be a good reason why this idea wouldn’t work but it could be worth exploring. Steemit still has the potential to go down in the history books as being more than than an ingenious idea that never reached its potential.

I believe we should utilize our greatest asset on this platform, our collective braintrust, to solve the puzzle that's before us. Whatever the solution, the years have taught me that the answer to the most complicated things are often right there in front of us.

Submit your own ideas using the #savingsteemit tag.

Thank you for reading,

Eric

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Great thoughts by a great guy. I am with you.

It’s clear that the “free-range” approach to business development didn’t work.

Like free range poultry. Lol

Whatever happens, I agree we are making history.

What if Steemit was never designed to be a social network like FB? That just seemed to evolve and no one had a clue. Now the news is out.

I say we make the best of it while staying on top of things.

I am glad so many minds are involved that understand the workings. We are counting on them.

:) So you are home from your trip I take it...

Thanks! Yes, we're back to the frozen tundra. It's in the single digits today. : ( I think you're right, it was never designed to be a social network like FB but maybe to survive it could be reinvented as such. I hope your week is going well!

Going great!! 🐓 award for this post. LOL "free range" made me remember the award. :)

Lol --- :)

Know why the chicken crossed the road? (after all, he could be hit by a car)

Answer: He said he did not give a cluck. lol

What we remember fondly about our past is that it was simpler. That is quite a break from our very complex lives. Nostalgia feels inevitable.

What i remember about the early days of steemit is the VERY high wall that existed between being paid and not being paid. That long tail didn't really exist. I got lucky and made it to just above the threshold, many didn't.

The problem with replacing f-c-book is, as you say, they are an all in one communicate with your friends platform. And it is not really chat, its not really the wall, nor is it the feed. It is that it allows you to find your friends. The search feature is very solid. It can go through your phone book, your email, your life, and find your friends.

If any of my real life friends were on STEEM i would never know. There are thousands of accounts i have never interacted with.
(gone are the days of me reading through the NEW tab)

So, really the future will be a bunch of apps that work similar to what f-c-book apps look like today, but everything behind the scenes will be turned inside out. Everyone will have a wall server of their own. Their data is their data, and will be shared only with who they want.

You're right. In those early days there were a select few who were getting those mega payouts. I'm thankful for those early days because operating on this platform got me started on the path of learning everything I do about cryptocurrency today.

Very valid point about the search feature. You would need to know everyone's user name who's migrating so you can "follow" them. I experience a glitch with that even. I regularly notice that I'm no longer following people that I've followed for years on here. Sometimes I discover it by accident and sometimes I just notice I haven't seen anything from them for a while and have to go searching then refollow.

You are brilliant ,a very great ideas you have ,,every day in your's posts..

I was talking to my friends today about all the great things on the Steem blockchain, and about the price being $0.26.

To tell you the truth I think that we do have a few killer dapps on the system already. I see every possibility of us rising up to a much higher amount pretty soon but it's all very distressing at the moment.

I hope we've seen the bottom of the market drop! We definitely have some great dApps that run on the Steem blockchain! What I was proposing is to have one portal that stitches many of them together in one user experience.

I actually made a design of what I think the ideal portal with the dapps already stitched into it would look like this post about 2 months ago.

https://steemit.com/busy/@jeezzle/what-would-the-ideal-steemit-ui-look-like

Like this:

dapp.png

I also predicted sub 50 Cent Steem without some changes back then but nobody was listening to me on either thing.

Wow, that's very close to what I was envisioning when I wrote this!

Is there a killer app somewhere, I don't think so, it's the conglomerate and metamorphosis of smaller apps that makes a killer app. don't forget the days of 2go to WhatsApp to BBM to telegram and now the whole thing is getting better.

Steemit to me is the killer platform, just an app sir, and no single app can do that, it's the collection of app. For your info @partiko can now message, you can now chat.
Don't forget we are all in this trouble because bitcoin dip not because of steemit. Steem.

Steem On.

#savingsteemit

Yes! I agree. People want an alternative to FB, but they still want all the features. It would be so much better to have everything all in one place. That’s one reason I like Pinterest. It essentially takes all these blogs and puts them in one place. I barely google anything anymore.

I've never gotten into Pinterest but have see a few times. I should explore it a little more.

Honestly, i think that's a very good idea, Eric. There are good things scattered everywhere, we just fail to see them and become distracted with the negative stuff, but if one looked carefully, I'm pretty sure there are a lot of good things to be salvaged.

I think it's so hard to convince "normies" to try alternatives is that they don't really care. Take, for instance, Telegram. It's exactly like Whatsapp, yet few use it. Why? Because they don't really care about their privacy. Like seriously, how bad can it be to just use Facebook? I mean if it's kinda the same, why go through all the trouble of installing another app? They gloss over the bad things.

Thanks @honeydue! I totally agree, most aren't the least bit concerned with lack of privacy unless they've felt the pain of being hacked personally. I think the one aspect that would draw "normies" would be the potential to make money by doing something they already do. The transition would have to be made to be really easy though.

Yes, definitely. I've noticed this, when suggesting others join Steem -if it takes five days for their account to go through and then another two weeks to figure it out, they lose interest. And that's not really what we want, I believe.

yes, need a huge dApp, or several ! I'm not sure about steemit, or if it's about other front ends/portals to the STEEM blockchain. it's kind of hard in today's terms to understand the internet without going to "THE WEBPAGE" for X company, but I think the future may be much different than we can imagine.

This is where the community will play a very big and crucial role in deciding the future of steem

I like your idea. The rate of steem has gone down. What would you say about this? Will this rate be zero?

As long as the community stays alive and the nodes are operating I don't think Steem will go to zero. I hope not anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97