Kazimierz- Rubinstein – A Steemfest 3 Special Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


While in Krakow, we intended to do everything on the ‘cheap’, eating included.

On Saturday night we vetoed the ‘Night of STEEM’ due to serious tiredness and so hunted down something nice to eat close to the INX Design Hotel.

This place wasn’t on the radar but we just happened to walk past it and it looked inviting, although somewhat dimly lit.

IMG_4689.jpg

The entrance was confusing, what’s it called; Szenroka or Rubinstein?

IMG_4693.jpg

Inside, it wasn't exactly busy. We walked through this area and into the back section only to find one bloke on his tod looking through the menu.

IMG_4694.jpg

It gave me a good opportunity to take some more shots of the place.

IMG_4695.jpg

Piano music was playing, the delicate type making this a great place for a romantic blind date I would say.

IMG_4696.jpg

A lady came in trying to sell us roses but left quickly after she saw we were not interested. The bloke sitting by himself didn’t want to know either. Not really surprising!

These kinds of selling tactics are not allowed in the UK, I always wonder what the business get out of it by allowing them to enter?

IMG_4697.jpg

IMG_4698.jpg

The menu was a little sparse but I had a feeling we had entered somewhere quite expensive. The prices were a little below UK equivalents but it should be cheap in Poland.

IMG_4699.jpg

Beef cheek? I thought that a little strange and eating a flapping cheek doesn’t really sound quite right.

IMG_4701.jpg

I ordered the Duck at 59PL and @bingbabe chose the Grilled Fish at 60PL after questioning the waitress about the description. ‘Our most famous soup’ it says.

IMG_4700.jpg

‘It’s NOT soup’, the waitress told us. I asked for chips only to be told chips aren’t available, bah! I’m really a chip person so was a little disappointed.

IMG_4703.jpg

IMG_4702.jpg

Before the main courses arrived, they brought us some bread that was still warm and freshly cooked. Hmm, I love this kind of thing.

IMG_4704.jpg

The food didn’t take long to arrive and it was in some kind of dark rich sauce, and accompanied by spinach in a creamy sauce.

IMG_4706.jpg

The waitress was insisting it was delicious. I took her word for it and it was very nice.

IMG_4707.jpg

@bingbabe raved about the fish too, head included. Is this normal in eastern European countries?

IMG_4709.jpg

IMG_4710.jpg

There were plenty of wines to choose from, though we just had coke, water, and a mocktail which was really nice. This whiskey tray wasn't a free for all either.

IMG_4713.jpg

We were presented with a glass each of what was cherry vodka to finish. I downed it one go but @bingbabe sipped at it like it was the liquid of Midas.

IMG_4712.jpg

154PL for a meal for two with drinks is expensive for a country like Poland. This is approximately £31 or $40.

IMG_4711.jpg

Given the quality of the food, the surroundings, and the ambiance I thought it a fair price for what was delivered.

Kazimierz- Rubinstein , Szeroka 12, 31-053 Kraków, Poland


Restaurant Information


Kazimierz- Rubinstein
score
Szeroka 12, 31-053 Kraków, Poland


Kazimierz- Rubinstein – A Steemfest 3 Special Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Where to eat for my blind date?


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

The atmosphere that looks pretty romantic is to invite someone on a date. Anyway, spinach in a creamy sauce looks nice because I love vegetable so much.

Thank you for sharing this review with us.
#tasteem-curation

Thanks @anggreklestari, I thought this one suited the theme well. The spinich was really nice, I finished it all.

I would have loved that fish dish. I went to a Chinese restaurant last weekend with my climbing friends, and some of them were freaking out as there were fishheads on the menu! The food there was amazing (in my opinion). I would have done a Tasteem review, but my old camera isn't working anymore, and the phone camera would only do mediocre flash photos. I didn't order fish heads by the way.
I love a restaurant with a real piano accompaniment, with or without a date. I'll definitely go to Rubinstein if I ever visit Poland.

You should do a @tasteem review, they make it worth your while. It doesn't have to be fancy expensive place either.

@bingbabe in this case left the head. She's a bit sensitive about others seeing her eat those parts.

Isn't it funny that you can tell how fancy a place is by the number of items they have on their menu. Usually the fewer the items the more it is going to cost you. There are some places in the states that don't even list the prices sometimes because they charge market prices and those adjust daily. This is especially true with seafood I have found. I think the leaving the head on the fish thing is more of a fancy restaurant thing than a geographic thing. I could be wrong though!

Yes, I have seen these 'market prices' place too, as you say usually some fancy fish that's expensive such as Lobster.

I just love your restaurant reviews. Probably because you seem to look at the world the same way I do.

"What? You don't have chips? Did the potato harvest fail?"

I am not a big fan of 'head on' fish. I already believe it's adequately deceased to eat, I don't need visual evidence.

Thanks for another great restaurant review!

LOL, chips rule don't they!

My wife is from a country where head left on fish is normal. She took it very well and threatened to suck out the brains... shudder.

If I was married to an English woman it might not have worked out so good.

It looks like a nice cozy place to bring your other half. I take it your other half wasn't too bothered about you ignoring the lady selling roses.

Neither of us really like the practise. She quickly left after getting no attention.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 330 (12/04/18)

That looks a really nice restaurant, I'm sorry we didn't spot it on one of the evenings we went out. The food looks excellent, shame about the chips :) We went to somewhere nearby (the name escapes me) and the chips were something else - sorry, you probably don't want to hear that ;)~ . I thought the food generally was excellent in Poland, whether it was an inexpensive pizza, or dumplings, or something more involved.

The food was great I agree. They do seem to like their dumping though, not something I'm fond of really. This place was too posh for chips!

Here in Glasgow for some reason there is always a lady selling roses in pubs and occasionally restaurants. Does quite a roaring trade at the weekends!

Well I'm surprised you say that, the only place I have seen it in the UK is a Chinese restaurant.. I mean a 'real' one filled with Chinese people and ME.. I felt a little out of place.

Does the lady go inside or just outside to try and sell the roses?

Comes right inside. It's seen as more of a rolling eyes nuisance than anything else. It's usually a Chinese lady that's does it. We used to always joke that it was the same lady who did it all over Britain and she was like Santa in managing to be everywhere at once.

same lady who did it all over Britain and she was like Santa in managing to be everywhere at once.

LOL, I could see some restaurant owners shooing her away with a large broom.

They occasionally get shifted but are so polite that it is always friendly. When I was younger the most mortifying thing was when you were on a first or second date and they would home in sensing blood!!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 9.58% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Where to eat for my blind date?> Contest . Thanks to @slobberchops, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93