The Last Forest | Tell a Story to Me | Original Fiction

in #tellastorytome5 years ago


Source

This is my entry for the Tell A Story To Me Contest from @bananafish and @calluna! You can find the prompt and more information here! I'm so excited to get back into writing and this prompt was right up my alley. Enjoy!

I stood at the edge of the trees, staring into the darkness peeking between the towering trunks. I had seen trees before, but never like this. The city only had maybe five trees in total. They were incredibly rare because the Earth had become too toxic for them to spread their roots and thrive. There had been a major effort to preserve what few trees existed.

With the Wilde Forest, they didn't really have any other option. After the explosions, the forest became the sanctuary to all the wildlife left. It was too dangerous to even enter the woods. Legends said that the animals that remained knew humans were to blame for all the destruction. They were said to know when a human was too close to their home.

I gulped as I thought about all the stories I had been told since childhood. I was scared. Really scared. I couldn't back out now, though. My family was relying on me.

I didn't know it then, but the world, what was left of it, depended on my journey into the last forest. It would change everything.



Long before I had been born, actually, before my parents had even been born, the world was at war. All the countries were at odds, blaming each other for the state of the planet. Everything was dying, but no one wanted to admit their part in it. Overpopulation, pollution, poor energy practices, and who knows what else had left humanity with only a handful of years left on Earth.

There was no reasonable or quick solution to fix the horrifying problem.

Out of fear, and likely guilt, war broke out globally. Some say they thought if most of the population were wiped out, the planet would stand a chance of healing. Of course, there is no way of proving that. It did make sense, though.

Not much was recorded after the wars began. Things escalated so quickly, it was impossible to keep up. We knew there had been several nuclear explosions causing nearly all the world to become radioactive. The radiation ruined everything.

Everything.

The few thousand people left scrambled to preserve what they could. It took years to start to build small cities around the ruins. Only five emerged in 100 years.

Many died of starvation due to the radiation of the soil. Crops couldn't grow and food became scarce. Engineering helped make farming with what little clean soil could be found a little easier, but even that isn't working anymore. My family, in particular, has very little clean soil left.

I heard there was good soil to be harvested in the forest. It's this only forest left in the world. The soil has to be clean there. If the trees can grow in abundance, then crops should be able to do the same.

The Wilde Forest was dangerous. No one knew what hid in those thick trees, now. Real animal knowledge had been vastly lost. I wasn't sure what to expect.

Many others had made the trip before me but had not lived to tell about it. I was afraid the same would be my fate.

I waited, staling. I stared hard into the spaces between the trees, willing my eyes to adjust to the darkness the thick canopy created. It wasn’t working.

Finally, with a deep breath, I took my first step. Shaking, I continued until I could no longer see the bright sunlight. I stood next to a tree trunk at least four feet around and stared up into its leaves. I’d never seen anything so beautiful.

Something made a sound in front of me. I whipped my head towards the source. My eyes still had not adjusted so I didn’t see whatever had made the noise. My heart began to race as I desperately scanned the trees for any movement. I could feel eyes on me, but nothing made a peep.

After what felt like 20 minutes, but I'm sure had been only a few, I finally took a couple steps deeper into the woods. I paused briefly.

My eyes were starting to adjust. Everything was still dark, but shapes were starting to emerge. Bushes and foliage of all sorts and sizes polka dotted the forest floor. I tried to move quietly, but it was hard considering all the brush. My feet had always walked on cement and dirt. The new terrain was a bit of an adjustment.

Something moved behind me. Spooked, I ran headlong into the forest. I tripped and tumbled, but kept running. My heart was beating so loudly in my ears that I couldn't hear if the beast I was imagining was coming after me or not. I wasn't taking a chance of stopping, though. I knew I would be devoured if it caught me.

Just as I was imagining its sharp, vicious teeth ripping through my leg and bringing me down, my foot caught, slamming me into the ground. I cried out and threw my arms over my head.

“Please don't eat me. Please don't eat me,” I whispered and tried not to sob. I had ruined everything. My entire family was as good as dead now. I continued to whisper as I thought myself into a whirlwind of guilt.

Footsteps started towards me, but I didn't stop my mantra. The forest must have been playing tricks on me because the steady footfalls did not sound like they were coming from behind. Instead, they came from directly in front of me. I squeezed my eyes tightly shut in anticipation as they approached.

“Why in the world would I eat you?” A quiet female voice asked.

My head flung up. In front of me stood a small woman. Her hair was a dark brown, her eyes as green as the foliage. She looked as though she belonged to the forest, itself. She was so beautiful and such a relief that my eyes welled up with tears.

“I thought something was after me,” I choked out.

The woman shook her head. She extended her arm out, offering a hand to help me up.

I stumbled up to my feet and thanked her. “What are you doing in the forest?” I inquired.

She looked at me oddly. “I live here.”

“In the forest?” I was very confused. I had always been told that no one could survive in the forest.

Again, she nodded. “Do you not? I've always been told there's nothing outside of our trees. Everything was wiped out years and years ago.”

“I live in a city outside the forest.”

We stared at each other for several long minutes.

“How?” She whispered.

“We worked very hard to build what we have and save what we could,” I explained. “But I'm not sure how much longer we’re going to make it. We’re running out of clean soil. Food is becoming harder and harder to come by.” I stared down at the ground, afraid of showing the emotions I was feeling.

“Oh no. That's not good. Why didn't you move into the trees? They protect us.”

I explained our legends to her and what my world was like currently.

“No, no, no. The animals live among us peacefully. We were told nothing was left in the world. Only our forest.”

“It is the last forest. It's all the clean, good earth left.”

We both frowned.

“Maybe we can help you. At least until the earth heals,” she suggested.

“That would be amazing.”

I later learned that her name was Aspen. She led me to their village hidden in the last forest.

With permission from their leaders, I took home a small supply of food. Together, my people and the people of the Wilde Forest worked together to build our communities and survive.

The last forest is what saved my people.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

it's good that he dared to go to the woods, he was lucky enough to meet such noble people.

Hi riottales,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a great idea. I like the way you built the mood when she entered the forest. Her fear was palpable, believable. It's a very nice dynamic, almost with the feel of a fable, the way the two women discover their misapprehension. I would have really liked to have this drawn out more, after the discovery. I think there is great potential for an even more complex story.

I wanted to continue with this story, but felt that for the entry, it would end up being too much. I might make it a series because I enjoyed writing this! The idea of it being a fable is intriguing to me. Thanks for the inspiration there!!

Should I say, it's a great post or I worry about the biggest issue we are facing about our mother earth?

Since my childhood I had a great relationship with trees. I was used to climb on it to reach to the roof of my house. These all memories are very deep in my root so I can't think about a world without the real nature and its creatures.

By the way, nice entry post. I'm glad to find this through @curie

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I feel we should all appreciate trees a little more. We literally couldn’t live without them!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @riottales! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That was a good story.

I always imagine what would it be like if we were able to live in a post-apocalyptic world. The challenges that we will face, our perseverance to survive and the monstrosity of the environment that the humans inflicted to this world because of their greed and recklessness. Such a story plot always tells us that these things may happen to us if we are not careful about what we are doing right now. We can see the effects that have damaged the environment because of our doing and it will not be impossible that someday, things like you shared in your story may also happen in the future.

Such stories always serve as a lesson to us readers and inspiration for us to do the right thing in our own way. I just hope that our leaders also think the same way. Not only for their own good but also for the good of everyone. Ideals and principles must not be influenced by their greed but rather, be influenced by love and peace among all races. I also hope that mankind will think about things like the forest and the sea, will not be there in the long run if they will not conserve it for the next generations to come.

I do hope that your story will have a sequel and I wanted to know what will happen now to the protagonist and her new discovery, knowing that some bad things may happen especially when people tend to abuse the things that were left to them in order to survive. These are just my assumptions by the way.

Good job there and I am looking forward to reading your future write-ups.

Cheers!

I love post-apocalyptic stories for exactly those reasons. They could always come true if we’re not careful and self aware! It makes them a little scarier in my opinion. This scenario in particular is rather plausible with current events and global warming.
I would like to write a sequel to this and explore the world further! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I would really love to see your continuation of the story. I don't want to pre.empt you with what I want to happen with the protagonists. Surprise us. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

We’ll see how it goes! ☺️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you!!

And after your people became stronger, they forgot, killed Aspen her people and start fighting and ruining the world again. 😭

Posted using Partiko Android

Let’s hope that’s not what happens! People have to learn from their mistakes eventually.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn't know it then, but the world, what was left of it, depended on my journey into the last forest. It would change everything.

what a way to set up the story from the intro! You create such a sense of emotional investment from the off. I love the story you chose to tell, and the perspectives you have picked here. You have done an incredible job of creating a character with enough information for people to entirely feel for them, and yet without giving them even as much as a gender. To me it feels like a young female who sees hers parents failing to feed the family on the land, yet equally this could be a man providing for his own children, a younger child feeling a burden greater than their years. It is so skilfully done, and such a wonderful thing in a story like this, allowing room for a more personal connection between each reader and the protagonist.

The world having been destroyed, not by greed or hate, but by negligence and ego feels scarily realistic. The way you pace the story creates a ride that it's impossible not to get caught up in, her trepidation entering and exploring the forest is palpable, and your choices of description, "polka dot" do so much to show it through her eyes.

The climax, the meeting of two worlds, two people each believing the same thing about the place the other is from, survival, and life finding a way in its different forms, it is really moving. Their naivety and trust is so touching, it feels like no matter what destruction is wrought, there will always be a flicker of hope. So very beautifully done <3

Thank you so much!! I really enjoyed writing this piece. I love that everyone has a different idea of who the main character is, that’s exactly what I wanted to accomplish!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95