Drawing inspiration

in #thoughts6 years ago

I used to draw a lot as a kid and all through university I spent most of my lecture time sketching rather than taking notes and talking to the girls. Suffice to say that come exam time, I liked multiple choice tests. Drawing for me was always a bit of a time waster activity, something I did when I had nothing else interesting to do. I haven't drawn much for what feels like a very long time. Well, I have been drawing with my daughter on one of those magnetic boards with the slider thing to wipe it clean.

Where do you get your ideas about what to write and post about or if you are an artist, draw? Do you have reliable sources you can turn to? Is it habitual and repetitive while you refine your techniques? From where do you draw inspiration?

I was talking to some random person today who got me thinking about the types of content people produce and how they approach its development. People tend to have some aspirations of some kind here, somewhere they want to be in some kind of future but I wonder how many actually consider if their current actions and behaviors are of the kind that are aiming them toward that point.

It seems that many people have a disconnection between that future and what they are willing to do for it. Or perhaps it is that they don't really know what is required of them to get there. There is of course no one way to get anywhere for the most part, but a lot of people kind float and wander aimlessly in the moment but have a clear idea of where they want to be.

There are many who openly talk about what they expect from the future but are seemingly unaware that in order to actually get there, some movement toward it of some kind is likely required. There is nothing wrong with being a wanderer as long as there is no fixed destination in mind because if there is, it will only lead to disappointment.

I think a lot of people come into Steem with an expectation of where they want to be and if it doesn't turn out that way, they become disillusioned or bitter and blame others for their position. To each their own but we do have to take into consideration what we have done to reach these points in our lives, both the positive and negative.

I wonder if where we source our inspiration is also the source for our disappointment as we might be wanting to be in places we just aren't capable of getting. Kind of like a dress bought from a catalogue that looks beautiful in the images but once on, looks terrible and doesn't fit well. It doesn't even necessarily mean that the body shape between the model and reality is different, because they also use a lot of pins in the right places for photo shoots and often on mannequins in shop windows too. The shape of the dress in the image is not the reality of the dress itself. Of course, personal body type might just not fit the dress style.

We source an expectation, we surround ourselves with aspirational perspectives without fully working out what needs to be done to make what we aspire to, into a reality. We may not even realize that the thing we value is an illusion itself. Nearly every kid dreams of being something grand when they grow up, a sports star, an astronaut, a doctor but at that point they don't know what it actually takes to get there.

Steem is much like this too where people hold expectations, but if one doesn't take the time to understand how the ecosystem works, what the technology allows and things like how people behave, the chance of getting to where they want to be is very slim. The system is complex and expecting it to be what it is not or only fit into a narrow frame of what one thinks it should be, is an immature approach to the platform. It is almost destined to end in dissatisfaction because what one does and how the environment acts aren't aligned to get to where they want to be.

What we surround ourselves with matters and a lot of people in this world seem to have had a lot of their lives handed to them, ordered, structured, protected. Whenever they are faced with opposition or anything they deem an attack, they feel victimized. That goes onto include unfulfilled expectations, even if they are unfulfilled because of their own actions, inaction or demeanor and inability to fit and adapt themselves adequately to the worlds in which they operate.

One of the beauties of Steem is the ability to be who you choose to be but sometimes people forget that there is a price to pay for all positions. All actions have reactions and this includes those made in freedom which reacts as consequence. Freedom and responsibility are two sides of the same coin although most seem to think that Freedom is without limitation.

I think that where we draw inspiration from is going to affect the chances of our accomplishments and if we continually borrow where we want to be from others, we might end up aiming for the wrong place for us. And while we focus and compare ourselves to others and worry about what they are doing, we miss the signs that could course correct and put us on a better path for who we are.

This isn't about lowering expectations, it is about losing them completely and finding out what reality has on offer that is matched to what one can offer reality. One thing is certain, there is no such thing as an easy path, no matter in how much cotton wool we asked to be wrapped.

Friday night thoughts before bed.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

For me, I really like the decentralized nature of many cryptos. Taking out the middleman. Giving more freedoms. However I'm also not blind about the potential of using this technology to take our freedoms away. The best way forward is to join this new technology movement, understand it, tell it other other people, making them aware. At least that way we have a fighting chance to move the needle a bit more towards freedom, since informed people are more difficult to push around. Steemit it is a good first experience how an alternative social media can work.

I have a sense that if the flow can be a ground up process than there is the chance at least to replace the current system and controllers with a better distributed process. There is no perfect but better is a good start.

Did you actually want the questions answered or were they a rhetorical kind of intro to the meat of the post :D

Where do you get your ideas about what to write and post about or if you are an artist, draw? Do you have reliable sources you can turn to? Is it habitual and repetitive while you refine your techniques? From where do you draw inspiration?

In my case, answer to everything is my head-universe as that's pretty much all I do these days. The only minor distraction thing that I've done that was completely out of my head-universe was a fanfic collaboration with a friend a couple of years ago or so. I know real artists do all sorts of exercises and things to improve and refine, I tend to rely on sheer repetition and playing around on each image to get better for the 2d stuff, and for 3d stuff anything I don't know is a lot of reading tutorials, watching videos if forced (for whatever reason I find video tutorials harder to absorb/retain/follow than written ones) and then doing my own thing anyway x_x

I'm pretty sure everyone drifted here for the money, even if they were like me and it was just going to be pretty cool to get a couple of cents for stuff we'd be doing anyway as all those cents will eventually add up, and if it turns out people like your work enough for you to get a dollar or more per post then bonus!

I had no real expectations of anything otherwise as I've long since accepted (after a decent amount of trying in the past) that I quite simply suck at networking and marketing and did not have the mental capacity to promote my stuff to a point that would make things like Patreon successful (I still have it because it's useful and even have a couple of dedicated supporters). Steem is a lot more my speed.

most seem to think that Freedom is without limitation.

Seems to be only if the "without limitations thing applies to them personally and anyone they like. Everone else had better shut the hell up otherwise they're unfairly attacking/trying to oppress them :D I feel like you may have already talked about this at some stage, I'm getting a sense of deja vu XD

I don't want any bloody cotton wool wrapping, won't be able to see properly and I hate anything that can muffle me feeling things XD Sometimes I'd really like an easy path as I feel the one I've been on with the head universe has been way too hard for way too long. But then again it's been fun and interesting, so maybe just a few easy stretches here and there would be nice rather than smooth all the way XD We need less cotton wool wrapping and more learning how to dodge/take hits :D

watching videos if forced (for whatever reason I find video tutorials harder to absorb/retain/follow than written ones)

It is the speed of delivery as we have no way to slow to our own pace at certain points. When reading, we can skim some and slow other parts. This is why watching movies and TV shows is such an uncreative process, no time to think.

Seems to be only if the "without limitations thing applies to them personally and anyone they like.

Exactly. I want my freedom, even if it costs you yours.

I don't want any bloody cotton wool wrapping,

I have never really had any I think. Maybe it would be cozy and warm. I doubt it would be though because as we can see by those on the internet these days who have lived privileged lives for the most part, there aren't too many content people, just a lot of whiners when want safe spaces built. Extensions of the mother's womb perhaps.

Hmm I think inspiration usually is just what's one your mind. I think art - writing, drawing, whatever - can sometimes be really beneficial because you get to know what's on your mind, you know, deep down...something you maybe weren't aware of..
At least, I think so.

I agree. when people spend too much time sourcing their views from the world, they do not get to know themselves and what they are tailored for.

Friday night thoughts before bed.

Thoughts that help a lot if we read well what you give us to understand, I am very sincere sometimes I feel if I do not know even what my niche is. although sometimes I have many ideas, but as I dedicate myself to helping others, in spite of that I feel that in what little I do I do it well, of course I see it from my own point of view, but reading how it leaves me So much that I think I'm doing well, that I'm not doing better. And what am I doing wrong?

I can comment that in many of your publications I am in agreement with you, and what you say today where your inspiration comes from gave me a light on my way. And I appreciate it.

Perhaps the processes from childhood should be much more inner-understanding-based so that we can learn more about who we are from a young age, more exploratory. Then as we grow we are more likely to find paths of better fit.

While I have goals and objectives for my investment here, I have no expectation and certainly no demands. I have learned that the journey provides the reason as you progress.

I have learned that the journey provides the reason as you progress.

Very true. Where I came in here content and knowledge-wise seems like an eternity ago. On Steem, there is so much to learn and each lesson brings new paths to take.

Let me be among the first one's to appreciate this read. I am in a place where life is demanding more and more from and due to a longer version of circumstances, I don't have any of it.

That alone has changed my perspective on what and where I need to invest to get what I need to face this life. Steemit is one of my investments and I am willing to work as hard as I can to secure a better future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemit is one of my investments and I am willing to work as hard as I can to secure a better future.

I am really hoping that it works out for you and the multitude of others. I think that if we can just spend some time getting on with it, we'd be alright.

You got a 48.26% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95