Thursday Treats: Mother’s Cookbook

in #thursdaytreats5 years ago

I have a good excuse for being a day late in posting #thursdaytreats. The power was out throughout the whole Island yesterday and just came back on this morning.

The day before the power outage, cousin’s wife, Gerry, messaged me about making fruitcake for Christmas and how she always enjoyed my mother’s white fruitcake and would like the recipe.

“Do you have your mother’s cookbooks?”

After she passed, I remembered my sister and I looking through Mother’s cookbooks. I took the one that was the most tattered. This was over 30 years ago.

After Gerry’s question I was taken back as I hadn’t remembered where I put the cookbook. Mother’s spirit must have guided me for I went directly to the drawer in the bedroom where it was safely tucked away.


Mother’s Cookbook



image


I was able to find Mother’s recipe for the white fruitcake. It was on a faded piece of paper in her handwriting.

Coconut White Fruitcake

Soak in 1/2 C. Brandy overnight

  • 1 pkg dark raisins
  • 1 pkg golden raisins
  • 1 cup red cherries (glazed)
  • 1 cup green cherries (glazed)
  • 1 cup mixed fruit
  • 2 cups flaked coconut

The next day in large mixing bowl,

  • Cream: 1 cup soft butter with 1 1/2 cup of white sugar

  • Add: 4 eggs...beating one at a time

  • 1 cup milk

  • 1/2 lb. of slivered blanched almonds

  • Beat well and add:

  • 2 and 3/4 cups of flour

  • 2 tsp baking powder

  • 1/2 tsp baking Soda

  • 2 tsp vanilla

Mix well with the brandy drenched ingredients.

Bake at low oven temperature 200 F-225 F for approximately 2 hrs.

Let cake cool completely before removing from pan.


Gerry messaged she had left her fruitcake in the oven at 350 F, instead of the lower temperature, by mistake and it was ruined. Not to be discouraged, she was going to make another one.

This is mine in the angel food pan and two smaller square pans. I would only use the angel food pan and one square pan if I make this again and put more of the mixture in the angel food pan.


image


I tasted it right away and it was good. It improves as it ages...like most of us. :)




A few weeks ago I started a new tag #thursdaytreats. I will upvote and resteem the post of anyone who participates and uses their first tag as #thursdaytreats.

Thursday Treats could be what you had for a meal, a recipe, a special drink...whatever you can eat or drink.

I’m pretty laid back so no strict rules except the norm- text and photos original.

Putting your link on this post would be great so I don’t miss you

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos & Text @redheadpei






8AC4E3C1-F3DB-4FD7-9742-EC647139EC48.png




Sort:  

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for your info @steemitboard. Appreciated.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Looks good. I'll just bet it tastes good.

When my mother moved from Arizona to Washington about 7 years ago she thinned out the herd of cookbooks and I got the 'leftovers'. The one's she took to my brother's place passed into my hands after mother died. I ended up with most of them, but my brother took the wooden note card file that Mom often cooked out of.

We have copied and stored digitally all the hand written recipes including one from my Great Great Grandmother that my mother never met, it was passed on from her mother. I don't, and won't use the recipes much. But I certainly treasure them....

Thanks @bigtom13. They turned out nicely. I liked the taste the coconut gave the fruitcake.
Cookbooks from our mothers are a lovely treasure. You mentioned wooden box with card files...that’s where I keep the recipes I use.

I no longer have my mother's cook book but mine is crammed full with great recipes and my sons all want me to leave it with them when I'll be dining on juicy grapes and manna from heaven @redheadpei (lol) That Christmas cake recipe looks divine and you may just have nudged me in the right direction to make my own..........The bought cakes are nothing like home made ones........and a good Christmas cake is a cake laced with brandy in my humble opinion. YUM!

I wasn't aware of your Thursday Treat tag Jo so I am glad to come across it. Will share ths post to get the word out.
(U & R )

Thanks so much Trudee @trudeehunter for your kindness and support. Brandy soaked fruit does give the fruitcake a lovely flavour. You will have to make one to enjoy and share with your family. 🎅🏽

That is the plan Jo........Just need to get out and buy the ingredients.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95