A Traditional Japanese Bath Experience - Rules and Etiquette to follow

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

No matter where you live in the world, etiquette is an aspect of our everyday lives, and should be portrayed as an underlying feature of relative importance for the good of societal functionality. In some places, etiquette is an act of respect that is sought as a normality to which appreciation can be attained. In other places, it is an ingrained feature of the cultural aspects within the community. Etiquette in Japan is an extremely important element that defines the upbringing of the Japanese people, as a whole.

It is very important to abide by the expectations of social behavior when visiting a host country. In today's post, I will specifically be focusing in on one particular aspect of the Japanese culture that I was able to experience where etiquette emerges as an essential component.

Bathing in Japan is an important part of the daily life and routine, and there are a number of small, detailed factors to be aware of before entering a traditional Japanese bathhouse, more often referred to as 'sentos' or 'onsens.' The main difference between these two lies in how the bath water is obtained. 'Sentos' receive their water from locally sourced tap water which is heated in a nearby boiler, whereas 'onsens' use natural water from geothermic hot springs.
IMG_3891.JPG

IMG_4013.JPG

Partaking in this kind of cultural experience is probably one of the scariest aspects of Japanese culture for most foreigners, due to the fear of doing something incorrectly. Just follow these guidelines below and you will have nothing to worry about!

Before entering a Japanese bathhouse, you must first remove your shoes just as you would before entering someone's home, and place them in an open locker. Here you will also likely receive a wooden plank with a key attached or simply a key which will be used later on to lock up your belongings.
IMG_4031.JPG

Depending on the bathhouse, you will then either use a machine to purchase your ticket (every machine that I used was in Japanese) or you will purchase a ticket from an attendant at the counter (prices may vary, but the traditional price in Tokyo is set at 450 yen, or roughly 4.50 USD). Next, you will enter the side of the bathhouse designated to your gender (all bathhouses are separated via sex). Again, symbols will appear in Japanese, so I was pretty lost the first time around, but an important rule of thumb is- men to the left and women to the right, or men enter through the blue and women the pink. Now you will be set to enter the locker room where you will find an open locker, strip down (completely naked- there are no exceptions to this) and place your belongings inside. Here you will use the key received from the shoe locker to lock up your belongings... now you are ready to enter the bathing area. But before you hop in the bath, it is extremely important you be sure to cleanse yourself at a showering station. So find yourself a stool (located at the front near the sliding glass door), plop down and start washing. After you have cleansed your entire body and have removed all the soap from your skin, you may now enter the bath.
IMG_3880.JPG
IMG_3879.JPG

This culture filled experience is unlike any other I have ever encountered. You will feel at ease upon entering the bath and it will allow you to reach a point of therapeutic relaxation which is indescribable. The native people will not go about their routine any differently if a tourist is bathing in a public bathhouse, especially if you follow the correct etiquette as I have explained above. However, if you do not follow the rules, then you will likely get a glare here and there because etiquette to them is a very serious matter. Absolutely be sure to cleanse before bathing, keep the noise to a minimum and absolutely no horseplay.

Some other quick tips include:

Bring your own gear (soap, shaving cream, razor, towels, etc.) if you prefer to not pay a small fee for these things.

If you have tattoos, then I am afraid you're out of luck on this one.

Long hair must be tied up or wrapped in a towel upon entering the bath.

Keep your (big) towel in the locker room, only bring your small one into the bathing area to cleanse your body and to cover up.

No alcohol (I think this one is for pretty obvious reasons).

That's it for now! I hope you enjoyed! Oh, and remember, when in Japan, do as the Japanese do!
Let me know what you guys think in the comments down below, I would love to hear what you all have to say regarding this experience

Sort:  

No alcohol. Kanashi. Go to my sento and have a can of beer.

@okubodenizen Next time I am in Tokyo I will be sure to stop by :)

Please look me up.

Indeed, I will be coming back

Thanks I want to go to a Sento but I have a tattoo!

I am not sure on strict policy, but depending on how big your tattoo is, maybe you could cover it up? like we see sometimes with HS or collegiate athletes playing for religious schools... i don't know just something you could try and see!

There is no covering this - except with a bathrobe.. :)

hahahahahahah funnnny

different strokes for different folks.

Also the discipline the Japanese show in sticking to timelines. Being at the promised place at the right time.

A lot is to be learnt from them.

You are spot on... Punctuality to them is priority and since learning so, I have been much more efficient with time management and simply being on time (15 min. early).

Congratulations @conradsuperb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Japanese culture is very rich. Taking a public bath is one of its unique aspects. I commend you bro for taking the challenge . Thanks for sharing your unique experience! Followed you XD

@lordkingpotato Yes, indeed it is. It was such an awesome experience, although tentative at first, I was able to bust out of my shell and try something which was completely and utterly foreign to me... don't regret doing so as it was one of the coolest cultural experiences I have ever been a part of. I appreciate your comment, and also your follow... gonna slide over and check out some of your stuff, too.

I doubt you'll find anything though as my job is finding awesome post like yours. XD

I appreciate that ! Much respect

haha, I would have never been able to see this!

thank you!

x

No problem, it is my pleasure! Thank you for checking it out :)

Ya dude! You took the plunge! It was uncomfortable as fuck the first time, but the following day it was no big deal. No one gives a crap, they are just there to get clean and go on with their day.

I've got a tat so kinda a no-no, but I didn't know my first time here and somehow got away with it.

Ya man once I did it the first time I was ready for more, such a calming, yet exhilarating experience at the same time... and wow I am surprised that you were able to slip through the cracks with that, but hey I'm glad you were able to participate in such a wondrous Japanese experience! Respect from me to you @rt395

VERY good article @conradsuperb! I've been living in Japan for over two years, living on a military base, and have yet to visit one of these. I really must do it soon, and your post has helped give me some extra motivation! Thank you!

Hey thank you so much, I really appreciate that! How do you like living over there? Are you stationed in Okinawa...or somewhere else? I am highly considering moving over there one day, as I fell in love with everything about the country and the Japanese culture/lifestyle as a whole @lovingitinjapan

Good to know 😊🤔

Glad this was of some benefit to you, thanks for checking it out !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90