Solo travel adventures - LISBON - Day 2

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Here I am again my friends! Still alive, healthy and excited!

Let me take you with me on my second day tour of Lisbon.

The weather today was worse than yesterday with lots of rain and even stronger wind. After my first day experience I have packed one more jacket in my bag so it was not that bad at the end. I have heard from locals that such weather is very unusual for June, lucky me! I'm not used to work with camera in such conditions so I hope you will still like my pictures.

Strolling around the city I noticed various graffiti paintings on many buildings. I must admit that I haven't seen so many of them in any other city center yet so I find this very interesting in Lisbon. From my experience you can usually find them more often in residential areas outside of the center.

Today I will introduce you to graffiti paintings and street art that I came across here and I will also take you on a tour to lively Alfama district.

DSC_0038.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

Alfama is one of the oldest districts in Lisbon with long history, beautiful architecture, many cafes and restaurants and hundreds of people strolling around. The district leads up the steep hill from the Tejo Estuary to the castle.

Alfama district is situated outside of the castle walls and it was the place where poor citizens lived in the past. However with Lisbon growing, the district changed into a fashionable lively place that is very popular and attractive now.

The best way to explore it is just to get 'lost' in the streets. This is the advice that I keep giving. Behind every corner there is a charming cafe or a trendy restaurant so no worries, you won't really get lost!

DSC_0050.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 27 mm

As you may have noticed already I am interested in history and architecture and today I have seen and learned a lot again.

St. Anthony was born in Lisbon into a wealthy family. He was famous for his eloquent and compelling preaching.He preached against the vices of luxury, avarice, and tyranny. He is known as the patron saint of marriage and lost things and he has always been the favorite saint in Lisbon and one of the most popular saints in the world.

This beautiful church Igreja de Santo Antonio is built on the side of the house where St. Anthony's parents lived. It was partly devastated by the earthquake in 1755. The reconstruction took 20 years and the only original part is the crypt.

I entered the church in the middle of a holy mass in Portuguese. I didn't understand a word but the priest was so passionate that I sat down and absorbed the atmosphere for a few minutes.

DSC_0025.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Just behind the corner of St. Anthony church you can see the most important religious building in Lisbon, Se Cathedral. It was built in twelfth century and reconstructed several times. It retains its Romanesque character with its rather simple interior. I must say it didn't impress me as much as the churches that I saw yesterday. But it seems like others like it a lot as it is a very popular church for weddings and different celebrations.

DSC_0029.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Let's walk deeper into the district..

It's not only the architecture that caught my attention but also this sort of beautiful colorful trees. They give the place a special Mediterranean touch. I could sit down on a bench decorated with ajuledos and read a book for hours but I can't as there are still so many different places to see today, not to mention that benches are wet because of the rain.

DSC_0036.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 20 mm

You will quickly realize that exploring Alfama district is actually just climbing cobbled streets or descending stair cases but as everywhere in Lisbon you can take a tram instead. However as many tourists go for this option too you will notice that tram 28 is very popular and crowded. I usually prefer walking to public transportation but the choice is yours.

DSC_0056.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

If you decide to walk you will stumble across many contrasts like for example these old walls with various paintings and St. Vicente de Fora church in the back. I really like this controversial view.

DSC_0046.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

There are many balconies in the city decorated with colorful flowers. This one in Alfama was the most bizarre that I have seen here. I still don't know how I feel about it. On one hand I wonder how somebody can decorate a balcony like this but on the other hand it made me smile and this is what counts. How do you like it?

DSC_0087.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 24 mm

Let's check out some street arts and graffiti now!

I saw this fox created by Bordalo II on the way from the airport and I knew that I had to come back and take some pictures.

Bordalo has become famous for his art pieces picturing animals—those most vulnerable to the side effects of our disposable economy. All his art is comprised of trash.

DSC_0106.jpg
ISO 200 1/250 sec. f/16 18 mm

When I was approaching this painting in Bairro Alto I heard 'Hi'. I ignored it as there were a few other people nearby so I didn't assume somebody was talking to me. Then I heard 'nice, nice, nice'. I started to take pictures until a local guy stood up in front of me and said: I drink you tonight? He must have seen the confusion in my face as he repeated: I drink you tonight? It took me a few seconds to realize that he didn't want to drink me but have a drink with me and I politely rejected his offer.

DSC_0083.jpg
ISO 200 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

I continued my walk to the next painting that should be located just a few hundreds meters away. After a few minutes when I couldn't find it I turned on GPS. It sent me back as I was apparently walking in the opposite direction. And guess what? The guy was still here! It was pretty awkward and I just tried not to look at him when I heard: Tonight? This time I said NO more resolutely and almost ran away 😊

It didn't take long and I found it!

This piece portrays the revolutionary movement of people against the dictatorship. It was created in 2009 by Antonio Alves and RIGO.

DSC_0079.jpg
ISO 200 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

There are also small pieces of art that you normally wouldn't notice. Initially I just saw some black dots on the building before I realized that it was a figure of a girl. Or is it an alien? I don't know 😊

DSC_0089.jpg
ISO 200 1/250 sec. f/10 34 mm

Some of graffiti paintings are very emotional like this one near the time out market. I don't know what exactly the painting means but to me it looks like a heartbroken woman. What do you think?

DSC_0110.jpg
ISO 200 1/250 sec. f/13 24 mm

These two paintings are the best that I've seen in Alfama district. I was expecting that there would be nicer paintings but I have found that Bairro Alto has much more to offer in this regard.

DSC_0047.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

I'm watching you!

DSC_0048.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

Today I've done 24,000 steps but it was all worth it! I don't want to repeat myself but please take some good shoes with you. The streets are very slippery and stairs become dangerous when it's raining.

I hope you like this not so traditional tour of the district and graffiti paintings.

Stay tuned for more as there are still two more days of my Lisbon adventure!

If you like my article feel free to upvote/resteem it or you can also follow me.

Thank you for reading!

All pictures are taken by Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Cheers,

Martina - it was about the time to introduce myself 😊

Sort:  

I have been to Lisbon some years ago and I liked sitting in a Coffee Shop and enjoying the evening.

Oh yes, evenings in a cafes or restaurants here are great! The atmosphere is amazing! I will cover my dining experience here in a separate post :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Looking forward to vegan delights in Lisboa ❤️

In a couple of days my dear @sallybeth23 :)

Really a very interesting blog with lots of nice history facts. I also love the history behind the things you see. To know the history makes me have much more respect for the things I see, is that the same for you? And very nice photography to go with the text. You put a great effort in this blog. Thank you for sharing!

Exactly! You are right! But it's not only respect for me. It is also to understand what happened, how people were thinking and why they were doing certain things.

Thank you for your kind words! I'm new to the world of photography so I'm really happy that you like my work.

I'm gonna share my 3rd day in Lisbon today so you can have a look and let me know if you like it :)

Have a great day!

Thanks for shedding another light to Lisbon. Historical and artistic place.

I like the fox art the most. I think the girl/alien was part of a bigger picture. The heartbroken woman can be interpreted in different emotions. It could be freedom from what is mistaken to be love but there is still that feeling of hope and holding on to it. Or it could be a man. I can imagine how creepy it would be the wall of eyes is at dark lol!

You are a heartbreaker. You've broken that man's hope for a drink with someone haha!

It would be interesting to see how the inside of the room where the balcony is. Would it be as decorated as the outside?

What was in between Igreja de Santo Antonio and the other building? It's like a sticky note wall :D

Thank you for your great comment my friend!

I must say I like the fox the most as well! I like the way you think about that woman. It gives the picture another perspective.

I'm sure the guy found another tourist so I would not worry about him :)

I would hope the room would be decorated with a little more style :) I really don't like plastic flowers.. but to be realistic I think the inside is decorated similarly :)

That my friend were plastic flowers too :D they are everywhere!!!!

Is there a reason why there are plastic flowers everywhere?

I have been wanting to roam around the city and take photos of the graffiti that I see. I posted one artist though https://steemit.com/ocd-resteem/@leeart/wall-art-cordilleran-inspired-art-by-venazir-martinez

Taxi driver told me there was some celebration that lasted for a month. I didn't really get what it was as he said the name in Portuguese 😊

I really like your article and the way you describe the paintings. The artist is very talented. I will check her ouf on Facebook.

I think I read that somewhere here in steemit. If I am not mistaken it is the St. John Festival and plastic hammer month where they get to hit each other's head with those lol!

If the weather is better, I will go out and take more photos. I was not able to take photos of the other wall she painted.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

24.000, you won't ever suffered for arthritis 😂 congratulations! So they called Igreja de san Antonio for Antonio Church, uhmm... Now I know where the word "Gereja" in bahasa Indonesia for church came from! Thank you Martina 🤗

" I drink you"... Gosh, that'd be a good "joke" later. Anyway, no wonder why there's a plastic flowers over the world especially the land that the Portugueses has landed centuries ago (including my country) has the same taste about decorating their fence or upper terrace with it.

I like the street paintings too, especially the eyes "I'm watching you"! Thank you for sharing this.

Great job again, lovely post! Keep them coming and thank you for adding your voice to the Steemit platform!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Beautiful pictures. That street art is incredible. 24,000 steps! I would be collapsing from exhaustion by now. I can barely hit my daily 10,000.

Thank you for stopping by! Well, it's 24k but up and down the hill :) It is very tough here! But I love it. I was also afraid when I ended up in front of the first stairs up but I just kept looking around and I didn't even know how and I was up the hill already :)

I'm sure you would manage too! And if not, there is a good system of public transport. I just don't enjoy it as it's very crowded for my liking :)

I love walking and I'm gradually getting to a point where I can go farther and farther. I'm so glad I had been working out for the months leading up to my last solo travel because there's nothing worse than being too exhausted to really explore a city as much as you can!

You are absolutely right! I am so exhausted now but not really from walking but from the cold and wind. It is unusual weather in Portugal now and even locals are not very happy about that.

Where did you go on your last solo travel?

I went to Iceland, Finland, and Estonia. It was magical! I actually wrote a post about my experience in Estonia a few weeks ago if you're interested!

Absolutely! I will read it as I wanted to go to Estonia too but for some reason I keep postponing it.

Are you going to write about Iceland and Finland? I would love to see what you experienced there!

I should! I was thinking of writing about it but I haven't gotten around to it. I've been preoccupied with staying in the @freewritehouse 50 day freewrite challenge and that has been taking up most of my writing bandwidth (which isn't a bad thing... I'm getting a lot of fiction writing practice from it). Maybe when that runs out, I'll take a break from fiction and do some travel writing or other thought pieces. The reason I chose to write about Estonia before Finland and Iceland is that Iceland is already such a popular travel destination that there are already a billion great articles about it, and I had less to say about Helsinki (which isn't to say that it wasn't awesome!). But I'll put it on my to-do list. Thank you :)

I would really love to read about your travel so PLEASE do it! Not that your fiction wouldn't be great... :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Alfama is my favorite district in Lisbon. There always some small alleys to discover and it is not to crowded. This brings back memories :) Nice post!

It is my favorite district too! I've been there twice already! Yes, you are right! There are many small alleys to discover. You have to be there for a week at least to see them all in this one district :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99