You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Bias Against Complaining, Profitable Positivity, Silencing Dissent, and Encouraging Inaction

in #truth6 years ago

Great to hear your take. I usually pass over the negative or "help me" post. When I read the negative ones I have to weigh if I believe them. How can we know?

And then if they are depressed and you say the wrong thing, well it is a slippery slope. I went back and wrote for one guy to seek help. I am not a trained professional. His posts seem okay now, so who knows?

Depends on where you want to spend your time. I try not to post negative and like to post positive. I differ with you on one point. I seek out positive posts when I a feel down or am going through something. Others want sympathy so that is alright but the positive help me.

If you want to read about my problems when they come up I can PM you. LOL just kidding .. I also like a good sense of humor.

Sort:  

Thank you.

"How can we know?" That is an issue in itself. Not all complaints are made equal so we do have to use our judgment but I think the important thing is that we give them a fair chance to be heard.

I think positive stuff is okay in general but I see it as a area for where people can take advantage of us too, so that is another instance where our judgment is necessary. If someone is telling us that we can learn to be happy with ourselves, that is probably fine. If, on the other hand, they tell us that we use this book (which only costs $49.99) to will wealth and prosperity into existence, I would question that claim lol.

Yes, I see where you are going. It is all subjective.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91