Ulog No. 3: "Mastery of Skill in Baking Pan De Sal Requires More Practice"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

pandesal_50.jpg

This photo, which was taken about two years ago, is the best batch of pan de sal that I have ever made ever since I have learnt how to bake them. Being in Australia for 8 years now, I would occasionally have cravings for Filipino food and delicacies. I have no choice but learn how to make them or cook them as I can't always go to the city to eat at a Filipino restaurant just so I could satisfy my cravings.

The only problem with my pan de sal is that they don't stay soft. They become hard like a rock and the only way to make them soft again is if I heat them up in the microwave for 10-20 seconds, not longer than that as it will just make them even harder.

I don't know if it has something to do with how I knead the dough. My mother-in-law (Oh! How I love her so dearly!!!) always bakes bread for their Greek Orthodox church, and it always comes out beautiful - right texture and not doughy. So I asked her how she made her bread because she's always consistent. She said she doesn't knead the dough too much. Now, I don't know how to measure that. What is too much or too less anyway?


Or does it have anything to do with how I prepare the yeast? I tried using active dry yeast (the one that needs to be stored in the freezer to maintain its quality) and dissolving it in warm milk, but still the bread got hard when it cooled down. I also tried the dry yeast, still to no avail.

It is really frustrating. As a Filipina, who grew up eating pan de sal for breakfast almost every day, I love my bread to be toasted on the outside but still soft on the inside. But I just can't make it right!!!

The only time that my pan de sal has ever come close to the quality that I used to eat growing up was a year or two ago, and that was the photo above. I can't seem to replicate it. What must have I done? I can't remember anymore.

I know that practice makes perfect. My mother-in-law has been making bread for her family and for their church since she was 17 or 18 years old. She married young, so she had to learn how to cook and bake to feed her family. But I can't bake on a weekly basis to master the skill of baking pan de sal. I am busy and I can't devote my time in baking, as I will definitely consume more than 2 hours for that.


All right, I also know that if there's a will, there's a way. Being busy is not an excuse not to do it regularly. I mean, do I really want to master the skill? So I decided to bake pan de sal the other day.

rsz_transparent.png

The following is my recipe for Pan De Sal:

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 pouch of yeast + bread improver (included in the carton of flour)
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 cup warm milk
  • 4-1/2 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • bread crumbs for coating

Method:

I bought this pack of 1 kg plain flour because it included 2 packets of yeast and bread improver, which I have never done before, so I wanted to give it a try. I normally just use regular plain flour.


Note: This is not to advertise or promote the product. :-)


1. Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl: flour, yeast + bread improver, sugar, salt and baking powder.


2. Make a hole in the middle to put the rest of the ingredients: egg, melted butter, warm milk and vegetable oil.


3. Knead the dough to a lightly floured surface for about 10 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic.
4. Continue mixing them well until a dough is formed.
5. Transfer the dough to a lightly oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth and let it rise in a warm place for at least an hour.


I let it rise for about 2 hours, just failed to take a photo of it.


While I was at it and waiting for the dough to rise, I made play dough for my ELC (Early Learning Centre) children and watched TV with my husband. We watched the 1956 movie "The Ten Commandments."
6. After rising, transfer the dough onto a lightly floured surface. Use a dough slice, or wooden spatula with pointed tip to divide the dough into 2 equal parts.


7. Roll each part until it forms into a log or cylindrical shape. Cut each log into equal pieces.


8. Coat each sliced dough with bread crumbs.
9. Place flat side down in a tray with baking paper or into a lightly greased baking tray.


10. Cover the tray with a damp cloth and let it rise for 20 minutes.


11. Preheat oven to 180 degrees C (or 350 degrees F).


12. Bake for 20 minutes or until it turns to golden brown.


Before I even had the chance to take a photo of the finished product, my husband had already devoured most of it. He loved it obviously, and he was just not saying it when I asked him if the bread was all right. He loved it, and maybe I nailed it this time.


The bread still became hard when it cooled down though, so I just microwaved it for 20 seconds to achieve the desired softness. Maybe it's best that I ate it straight away while it was hot, no wonder my husband ate most of it. He was clever.

"You get wise. You get to church." ~ The Blues Brothers

This was what's left when I was going to take a photo of my pan de sal:

12.jpg

I hope I am able to explain my step-by-step procedures clearly. In the Philippines, it's more economical and cheaper to just buy pan de sal from the bakery. The ingredients can be a bit more expensive unless you buy them wholesale if you want to learn to bake it yourself or want to do it more regularly.

If you can suggest any technique in baking bread, please leave a comment below. I would love to learn more about how long should I knead the bread, or what to do with yeast, or how to let the dough rise in a warm place especially in cold weather. I'd love to hear from you and I appreciate your feedback. Thank you for reading.

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

[My sister, @dynamicshine, told me "You're a certified ulogger now," for having @ulogs posts:

  1. Ulog No. 1: Lamb Yiros/Gyros for Lunch
  2. Ulog No. 2: Acknowleding the Positive and Negative in Life

Check out other #ulog posts by: @dynamicshine, @ryl, @rabiujaga, @baa.steemit


Some people that I follow: @puregrace, @scarletmedia, @shagungupta, @shanu, @dynamicgreentk, @pkalra, @bunnychum, @honeychum, @ntowl, @mhm-philippines, @eaglespirit, @joanna-godfrey, @norma-jean, @quochuy, @yati

Steemit_Greeters_Guild (1).png

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

evlachsblog5.gif

rsz_steembulls.jpg

rsz_sgg_footers6.png


Vote @cloh76.witness, @steemgigs, @pharesim, @hr1, @quochuy, @mahdiyari, @yabapmatt, @blocktrades, @utopian-io, @furion, @themarkymark, @qurator, @curie and @ausbitbank for witnesses!

All photos are mine, except for Discord banners (credits to @baa.steemit, @steembulls, and @terminallyill for DynamicSteemians, Steembulls and GreetersGuild, respectively).

rsz_1upvote_button.png

Sort:  

Hello @evlachsblog!

logo blue.png

Thank you for crafting an amazing blog that exhibit Philippines' unique Culture and Tradition. Pandesal is a known food in the Philippines, it is widely used for breakfast partnered with Coffee. It has been a tradition for Filipinos. In fact, Pan Desal has been varied a lot in terms of how it is made.

With that, we're grateful we have chosen this blog to be featured and upvoted by @onerace to empower impactful Philippines' Culture and Tradition blogs.

Feel free to click the post :

https://steemit.com/onerace/@onerace/onerace-update-june-04-june-05-2018-empowering-filipino-culture-and-tradition


Thank you very much, @onerace.

Congratulations @evlachsblog, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thank you @bestofph for featuring my post.

I was going to send our curation trail down your post but then I realized you had already win it for the week! Which ends in 16 hours btw. Wish you had participated in this weeks contest!

Yeah, too late to join now, isn't it? Sorry I did not participate. I tried but I couldn't think of anything to say about the topic. The post is pretty daunting for me. Thank you for the trail votes.

That's, not a winning can do attitude! I know you can do it! Your sis really did well!

Haha! Okay, I will TRY to make a comment now, though it's too late. I got to have a winning attitude, don't I?

By the way, with regard to trail vote, is there a reason why my other post was not voted by trail?

Oh the vp was too low. Its capped at 85%. Once vp goes below 85% it does not vote. Ill manually get you...

Once I....
20180503_182934.png

Thank you. Really appreciate you looking into it. :-)

it looks sooo yummy! perfect for my coffee!!!!!!! argggghhh!

am really gonna try that for myself!

Don't expect it will be great the first time you make it, but who knows, you might have a special skill and hidden talent in baking. :-) All you have to do is find the ingredients you need, and experiment in the kitchen.

Yes, perfect for coffee!!! I also ate it with cheddar cheese.

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Thank you @jlkreiss! Following you now... :-)

it looks very delecious cake, besides baking it, whether we can also fry it as another alternative.

Oh no, this is flour and it's bread. Can't fry it.

Oh..I see.I think it's like doughnut dough and in my country the doughnut are fried.

Yeah, my mother-in-law (she's Greek by the way) makes loukoumades and she fries it. It's their version of small doughnuts. :-)

Where are you from again?

Thanks @evlachsblog.. I'm from Indonesia


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much, @c-squared.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-05T06:07:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I really have to start trying to make bread again. We used to make bread all the time in Australia, but when we moved to Netherlands it didn't work. Maybe it was the yeast or the different humidity or something was different, but the bread kept collapsing...

That's what I thought, too. Something about the weather that makes my bread hard. The level of humidity here where I live is very low. The air is too dry, both in cool and warm weather.

Hmmm, I think I have the opposite problem. Too wet here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97