Ulog Entry #4 | Silver Shopping

in #ulogs6 years ago (edited)

"Where there is gold, there is silver". This is what miners say, and the reason why Silver became a thriving industry in Baguio. In the early 1900's, Baguio City became associated with Gold and Silver due to the mining sites that opened in Benguet. It is said that Baguio was developed to support these mining companies. It was then when silver shops started opening in the city. During the Marcos Regime, then First Lady Imelda Marcos promoted Baguio and its products, including their silver. Shops who made quality silver works were able to export their products. One of these shops is Pilak, which opened their first store in the 70's. During the height of popularity, they were able to open shops all over Baguio and even in Manila. With the drop in sales, they now only operate 2 branches. They have a booth in Mines View Park, while their main branch is on a property right in front of Botanical Garden.

We visited their main branch after spending some time exploring Botanical Garden. I wanted a souvenir from Baguio and silver crafts would be perfect; Sam lost a pair of earrings while on vacation in Davao. Also, Red ordered silver rounds last week and it's just fair that I bought some silver too. lol.

20180509_133306.jpg

The shop is hard to miss. It has a massive sign that says "Pilak", a Filipino word which means Silver. It looks more like a house that has been transformed into a shop. There's a flight of stairs from an opened gate towards the main entrance.

Stepping into the shop, I realized it offered more than just silver. It had the vibes of an antique shop. Quite old but elegant. The two pictures below remind me of a Studio Ghibli movie entitled Whisper Of The Heart. It's just like when the protagonist Shizuku Tsukishima first entered the antique shop where she saw The Baron and met the grandfather of her would-be love interest Seiji.

ss1.png

ss5.jpg

When I looked closer, it turns out they also offered cultural products, not just from the Philippines but also from Japan. It is known that one of the biggest clients of Pilak at the height of their popularity was Japan. They might have formed a bond with their Japanese clients through their transactions. Could that be the reason why they offer these in their store?

ss2.jpg

ss7.jpg

But of course, they also feature Philippine culture and even have a Kulintang in display. It is a musical instrument composed of a row of gongs laid horizontally. From what I remember in my History classes, it was first used to signal certain events within a tribe before evolving into an instrumental form of music.

ss6.jpg

Now back to silver. Aside from jewelry, they also sell silverware. I caught Red eyeing these babies and I asked him if he wanted anything. He declined and said he's going to wait for his two silver rounds from @steemsilverround.

ss8.jpg

ss9.jpg

When I asked Sam what she wanted to get, she pointed to a dainty looking earring shaped like a flower. It looked exactly like the one she lost, which we bought from the mall. Only, it was just half the price. It looks lovely on her, won't you say?

ss14.jpg

As for me, I got a pair of earrings and a ring. The two items looked like they were from a set because of the matching Onyx stones, but I bought them separately. The nice lady showed me the sets that were available and I found them too extravagant. I really just prefer the simple designs. I'm not even used to wearing earrings and this would be the first time I'm buying a pair. The ones I own were given to me and I rarely use them because I feel like they don't suit me but these black stones caught my eye and when I tried them on, it felt right.

It is said that these stones can absorb and transform negative energy. Onyx is know to help calm fears and reduce stress. I look forward to enjoying those benefits but I really just find these black stones pretty that's why I chose them. There are a lot to choose from too!

ss10.jpg

ss13.jpg

I'm not used to buying jewelry but I'm really happy I bought some from Pilak. Neither Sam and I had any allergic reactions and the store is known for high-quality silver crafts. Our experience at the store was also delightful. People manning the store are accommodating but not pushy and let us take our time deciding on what to buy. They also have the cutest way of packing purchased merchandise.

ss12.jpg

How about you? Have you ever been to Baguio and visited this shop? Do you like silver or do you prefer gold? Have you ever been to a place that felt like it's from a movie? I hope you enjoyed reading my Ulog. Ulog is are blogs about YOU and this is just another one of @surpassinggoogle's awesome initiative. He believes that "There is nothing as fresh (in terms of content) as pieces of us." and it is worth celebrating. Create your own Ulog today!

Follow @ulogs to read more about this initiative. This is another awesome production of @surpassinggoogle and a subsidiary of @steemgigs. I support Terry and have voted for @steemgigs along with @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @precise as witnesses who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community. You too can cast your vote, just go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

footer.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful shop with many interesting things. I like their idea in transforming a house into this shop and the way of packing purchased merchandise. Really creativity!

The Japanese cultural products are very amazing. We also have similar musical instrument like your “Kulintang”, but it’s not exactly the same. Really interesting!

Your daughter’s earrings are very cute and I think they are perfect for her. I also like your earrings and your ring with black color. It’s good to know that these black stones have great benefits for health….

Thanks so much for sharing! ;)

Oooh! You have something like the Kulintang too! That's amazing! There is so much to learn about our cultures, my friend! I'm so glad I found your blogs as it inspires me to also write about my experiences in my own country. Thank you, @tangmo, for reading my blogs too!

You’re welcome! Again, I’m really glad to hear that my blogs can inspire you! Your cultures and your experience that you presented in your blogs were very great and amazing! I look forward to reading more and more stories from you with much interest. ;)

wow super ganda po. upvoted

I would love that store and won't leave empty handed. Bagay naman lola.
Am a sucker of silver bracelets☺

Awww. you should have told me! But then again, mas masaya talaga kung makakapili ka. We plan to go back there naman. If you're still in Pinas by then, let's go together ok!? Sama ka, @annazsarinacruz!

Ay tara! Umulan ng yellow..uve heard that? More on sa Benguet eh.

Do you need someone to accompany you in that store? I would like to volunteer! HAHAHA
I haven't been in Baguio and wish to visit there if God permits :)

Gora? Next na umulan ng yellow?🤣😂

Next year po ba yan? :)

No this year!! Sana.

Crossed fingers Tita ♥

I've been informed how much cheaper those silvers from Baguio are. Since then I've been wanting to visit the place to see it for myself. I wanted to invest from it. Buy there and sell it here. @bowiemagbag bought a ring for me that cost only 50php. It was simple but lovely. I had it since 2012 but sad to say I lost it this year. I can guarantee that the quality of silver from Baguio is really a good one! Based on my own experience from owning one before :)

Awww. sayang naman nawala. maganda nga talaga ang quality yet they're not overpriced. Sama ka next time! =)

Sana nga Ate makasama ako next time 😊 If God permits 🙏🙏

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

for support , this post is upvoted and resteem

From: steemitdavao group.

keep posting, keep steeming. mabuhay davaowenyos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97