Part I of the VOICES OF THE UNDERGROUND discussing Bots and Incentives on the STEEM blockchain 🔊

in #votu6 years ago (edited)

People give Steem value by working together. The more everyone contributes the larger the pie we share grows. The core idea is that everyone should get a slice of the pie proportional to their contribution.

We must design systems that minimize the incentive to be selfish and give the honest individuals the power to police. Anyone playing by the rules has rightfully earned what they receive. The problem is the rules, not the people.
~ Dan Larimer (Source)

Votu Podcast Episode #? Part I

In this episode we discuss the incentives designed by @dan larimer and @ned scott through the STEEM blockchain experiment. Stay tuned for Part II

Join us on discord

VO.TU.discord

Become a patron and get special perks in our growing discord community such as your own promotional channels

We accept crypto and upvotes ;)


bitshares.openledger

Sort:  

The future is really uncertain and everyone surely has what they are going through be it electrity bill, mine and what have you, selfishness is good, reason people actually put in a lot of money into this system and what they are after is How to make profit. But the profit can be make in so many ways, be it self voting or through curation rewards, now the idea of bots coming in place actually limits curation reward lets take this instance.

You delegate SP to 4 different users and each of them upvote post say 15 each daily,automatically you are getting curation reward from 60 different post with respect to how much VP was used in voting those post and to ensure you get maximum curation reward they would probably upvote 30mins later or so.

Now lets look at bots, you only get reward when a user desires to use it, probably send you 4sbd and the curration reward probably nothing cause if a post is upvoted within the first 10mins you know the rest.

Every investor goes into business to make profit and nothing else but then the best profit I think is when you help others and thesame time get rewarded for it.

"Selfishness is not a bad thing" - thank you for pointing that out. It is the core of our survival instinct. It needs tempered, but it is not evil. And thank you for keeping the bots vs humans conversation going, and civil.
A bot vote is NOT curated, and that is just not going to work long term, IMO.
The chat thing... I do not think I was the person described but I resemble the remark enough to comment - some of us are insecure. The idea of butting in to the middle of a conversation is just rude to me. I go to discord, I try to "join in" but I do not know anyone there, and I feel like a nosy neighbor listening to conversations over the fence...
I once belonged to a site where the conversations could happen right in the comments of the post. It was a drupal server, the site was dailypaul.com and it was the most amazing online experience I ever had. If there was some way to bring those chats to the posting sections, it would invigorate steemit.com and probably get more users involved.

Great video. Sorry I do not understand the language. It would be great to read the transcription of the video.

Loading...

I had to vote with 100% even though my VP has never been so low in more than a year literally.

This post of Dan, its implications and what Dan really meant with this post and why Dan was always against the linear reward has been on my mind since I first read this comment from Dan a couple days ago about linear reward.

I tend to think linear rewards might not be as good as a super linear one.

I agree, although stay tuned for the next parts because we do talk about that and although I think the reward curve should be changed, it seems like that won't solve the problem of minnows using bid bots.

Oh u look so cute @beanz as well as the voice u have. I am so poor to invest. My idea is to just invest my time to provide good contents but I never stopped inviting my friends to join here. Luckily I met someone who is interested to join next year that'll be investing. She read Steemit reviews that enticed her more. I hope she will not change her plan.

I never noticed the selfishness of some people here because I bet I have a fault too. Sometimes I'm lazy to comment and upvote.

That is a great reminder to support those who choose to support the community as a whole. "Leading by example" as stated in a comment is also a great way for all of us to help everyone get up to speed and help us all succeed. It takes time and effort to understand all of what is going on since a lot of it changes so fast, but these are great things to keep in mind as each of us attempt to grow and help the growth of this community.

Hello @beanz. How are you ... I want to join you. Please give me the way in ..

Just click the link to join the discord server. We are all there.

Oke thank you @beanz.

wow this is really nice. I will be waiting for the next meetup.

@seyiodus.

The more power I think one gets in steemit, the less they need to be social. But we need to be social of course to grow the community so we won't stagnate. It sometimes boils down to the morals and values of the user on how they would perform here.
If they are selfish or not, human or not, there is no rule for that.

excelente te sigo y apoyo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80