Competition: #welcometosteemit

in #welcometosteemit6 years ago (edited)

Create a uplifting Post, worthy of hitting Trending that would best suit a new visitor to steemit.com

title.png


What is Trending?

Trending is the 'home' page that new visitors to steemit.com see when they hit site. It is the page that the likes of Bloomberg scanned when preparing their interview with @ned the other day. First impressions are clearly important, and judging by what they saw, Bloomberg felt the need to comment:

People have said that the content so far has been pretty low quality

Now as @surfermarly stated yesterday, it's not that Steemit is all low quality, it's that:

the evaluation mechanism as well as the way of sorting and displaying the published content that could be improved. - @surfermarly

I agree, but how else can we sort the 'catch all' Trending page?

In future, I see Communities with their own Trending pages, potentially managing them with a powerful community account, and restricting/hiding Bot boosted content.

This doesn't help the Home page though, and so for now, the articles with the highest potential rewards are what the world sees first. And let's face it, this potential reward does not correlate to the quality of the Posts. (As least not how envisioned, burn!)

Would anyone begrudge @steemit releasing 1 vote a day that could blow any article to the top of the pile? - I'd take a reward pool hit for that.

It is one of my arguments against Bid-bots, but not the main one. If you take those boosted articles out of Trending, the quality doesn't rise much, if at all. Anyway, I'm getting sidetracked, back to the reason for this Post...

Competition #welcometosteemit

I'd really like to see at least one (but the more the merrier) positive and killer article regarding steem/steemit hit trending. An article, that if I was a new visitor to the site which would make me think, 'hey this place looks pretty sweet!', 'perhaps I should register and get involved', 'this place could change the world!'.

OK, wishful thinking perhaps, but let's see what we can do.

What to potentially include?

  • A positive title and theme!
  • Basic intro to 'blockchain' / 'steemit'
  • Some basic/clear data
  • Mentions of thriving communities - tag them?
  • Humor is usually a good thing!
  • Something awesome you have witnessed that happened because of Steem/Steemit
  • The tags #welcometosteemit and #steemit

Rules / Guidelines / Help me

Arranging events on a Blog site isn't easy, and I don't expect this to be any different. But I've decided on the following to try to give a good shot. The goal is to get something on Trending, apologies in advance if that doesn't quite happen!

  • Do not post today! Prepare the article and make it look pretty, ready to go out on Sunday. It's going to take a concerted push to get the best one/s anywhere near Trending, and so any support I can muster up, needs to be focused.
  • I will put out a post on Sunday at 2 pm Eastern Time, which will be 8 pm Central European Time, prompt the posting of the links in the comments
  • Drop a link to the post in the comments on Sundays post

So if/when posts start to arrive on Sunday, It would be cool to get some help reading through the entrants and deciding which one/s to push. I will put a @steem-bounty on the post to try to encourage entrants and reviewers.

Again, this could not go as planned, but I'm going to try and make it worth your while working on such an article.

Prizes

Put your Steem where your mouth is time. Guaranteed for the owner of the post deemed best suited to task by myself (and anyone around who's reviewing):

  • 1000 delegated Steem Power for a month
  • 20 SBD
  • a 100% upvote and a resteem from this small Dolphin with 9500 followers
  • a 5 SBD Bounty added to the post

Potential other kickbacks include:

  • Bid-bot sends - Potentially - Maybe a Bid-bot owner would like their account showing high on the voters list of such an article, and wish to promote it themselves - stranger things have happened!
  • Up-votes from awesome Steemians who think your post should be on Trending
  • More eyes and followers on your future content
  • Further prize boosts from anyone willing to chip in
  • A thank you from @ned for saving his ass ;)

I will be dropping a link to the chosen post to people who I think may see this as a worthwhile initiative to support. No promises here at all, but I shall try my best.

It's a big ask to get something on Trending. But if we can get enough people to collectively focus their energy/SP on a particular post, it could happen.

Then, we can all stand back and admire (for a few days at least) a piece of content that is pushed by community consensus to the top of the tree - wouldn't that be something.

Good luck everyone, see you on Sunday afternoon/evening (EST/CEST)

Cheers,

Asher

steemdivider.png

I am one half of the Witness, @steemcommunity - Find out about our project here

Discord: SteemitBC

Sort:  

that's the reason why new users are so excited at the beginning, then after they saw the true reality in steemit they easily discouraged and lost appetite of writing a good and quality content.

this is a hot idea.... any way i can help Ash?

Hey!

Well i'm sticking the 'call for entries' post out in 5.5 hours (8pm Central European) and will need some help reading through the entries. Hopefully we can get a general consensus of what to push, and then see how far the community can push!

Cheers!

ok, i've gotta go rest soon, this could be good, there is also a 48hour window (after each candidate post goes out) to get this done due to restrictions on upvote bot, etc. so if you can walk us all through the respond time etc, and what and how we're going to co-ordinate this push?

can you possibly add the #comedyopenmic tag to your post, a great retention point to any platform is comedy, that's the biggest retention factor for Reddit (that why r/funny is the biggest community with 50Million members), even Facebroke uses comedy and videos to keep users (even those with fake friends) entertain and coming back. Do a quick invite for any #ComedyOpenMic Entry that is #WelcomeToSteemit worthy and I'll push it with $50+ of upvote from bots along with my 100% upvote, if there is other post more worthy, I'll be more than happy to push it that way and double the ante to help out.

final suggestion, not needed, but if you can mention 1 small paragraph, 2 liner about #comedyopenmic entries being considered for #WelcomeToSteemit, I'll talk to all the judges to see if they can vote your post as something the community can re-steem to get the word out to the Round 13 folks....totally not required but just a brain dump that any publicity is good publicity if we want to crack the 1st page trending in this experiment!

ok...i'm totally brain dead...just random thoughts....let me know, we can us 90% of this or 0% of this....i'm flexible hope we get some measure of success

drop by COM Discord....it's really quiet now but in 12hours time it will be buzzing, we can chat in about 7+hours (after my coffee): https://discord.gg/uy8KTds

Hey

Well the post is already a few days old and people have told me they are ready to go. If there is comedy in the post, then maybe we can get them to change a tag before we push - which ideally i want to do in the first hour or so.

We'll learn some things no doubt today, and this should help any future initiatives of the same style - maybe you can do one directly for the COM community, that sounds pretty cool.

So yeah, the push I expect to be in 6 hours time - and hopefully it will continue as the post hits hot and perhaps trends in a few categories too.

Cheers

Well i'm sticking the 'call for entries' post out in 5.5 hours (8pm Central European) and will need some help reading through the entries.

then

Well the post is already a few days old and people have told me they are ready to go.

sorry, i'm tired....and a bit confuse

so your post in 6hours is the post you have already selected from others....or

is this the coming announcement post (that I asked to add the #comedyopenmic tag into it) before the various post we hope to select and push?

now I don't even know what i'm saying makes sense :P

Lol

The post will be the call for entries.

Do you want me to add #comedyopenmic to it, even though it won't be funny? 😂

I will do that, and add a plug to COM if it might help the chosen post get an additional push.

Cheers!

i think it would help.... be logical to pile on to the glory, in COM we encourage posters to do competition within competition, and to engage and collab with as many communities as possible...not of that territorial shit... or mentoring includes:

Big Ego = Small Income
Small Ego = Big Income

Makes sense to put key tags that will bring in the right talent and attention.... send the post and put in into the COM post-Promote and I'll ask the judges to all come by to support and get the word out to talents...

Also @abh12344 can you please join the discord so I can one of us can give you joker status ASAP before my eyes shut?

See you soon Ash!

Sorry, just read this one.

Sounds like a plan then, we'll see what happens later!

Let me know when you choose a post, if it is good I will help promote it.

Thanks @yabapmatt

More incentive here to anyone looking in, nice!

yes indeed! @yabapmatt is the real deal!!

Thanks for the mention, Ash! Now that's a cool challenge. Am I allowed to participate?

I would primarily submit an entry in order to get...

a thank you from @ned for saving his ass ;)

JK :-)
Resteemed

Of course you are, I would expect you could put something really cool together!

Haha, you spotted my funny :D

Thank you!

Sounds like a great idea @abh12345.

What exactly is it that puts something on the trending page? Is it potential earnings?

It would be cool to get some help reading through the entrants and deciding which one/s to push

What are you looking for specifically? Are you saying you would like us to read through articles that are posted and comment on the ones we like or something else?

I'm actually away this weekend and not sure what time I will be back so probably wont' be able to do much until Monday afternoon. Is that too late to effect trending?

Hi Gillian

Yes it's potential rewards that ranks the Trending Posts for the most part. Then I think they fall in time, even if they are the top potential payout.

What are you looking for specifically? Are you saying you would like us to read through articles that are posted and comment on the ones we like or something else?

Just a comment on the posts submitted to sundays post saying 'I like this one' will do!

Monday might be OK, it depends how high it goes! :D

Thanks for asking these questions, hopefully they will help others too.

OK. Will do my best to read as many as I can on Sunday evening. 😊

I don't expect 100's so don't worry. 5 Would be OK, as long as they are decent efforts. Thanks!

I hope @glenalbrethsen and @lynncoyle1 have a go. I think they'd produce great articles and I'm sure there are other great writers from your League. 😁

Yeah I hope they will too - we'll have something to look at Sunday, whether it will reach TrendingI don't know, but it will be fun to try :)

Thank you for that @gillianpearce! For some reason, ginabot missed @abh12345's post and your mention altogether! I'm so glad you told me about this in another comment! Thank you.

Great idea Asher! I'm going to have to put something together for sure, but I will be interested in seeing what you end up with on Sunday.

A thank you from @ned for saving his ass ;)

So funny! How embarrassing that our Trending page is what Bloomberg saw as an overview of what steemit contains. That should be reason enough to want to clean up some of the nonsense that gets poor quality posts there in the first place. As you are well aware, the Trending page is no where near a good indications of the quality that is produced here.

Ok, I just got myself fired up, so I guess I'm working on a post now haha

Regarding my post: You know I'm not very technical haha, so I'm thinking a more personal approach; that is, "my" story and how steemit/steemians have affected me. Think that will work @abh12345?

This is such a great idea! Maybe it's silly to say this after-the-fact, but I told my husband back in February that if all the communities and curation groups that are focused on high-quality content would give their full support to a few articles on a rotation system, it probably wouldn't be hard to fill the first few spots in trending.

I really hope you can pull this off! Maybe it will encourage other groups/whales/communities to do something similar.

I'd like to submit an entry (not so much to compete with the high-quality writers here) but just to show my support of your efforts to turn around the system!

Two questions: can we use tags like ocd-resteem? Is it okay to mention this initiative in the post or should we leave it out?

Thank you! :)

I hope we can too.

Any other tags should be fine I think. It's OK to mention the initiative, just thinking how it would look to a visitor - perhaps more confusion than understanding? Up to you :)

A great idea Asher. I doubt it that I can write an article which would be worth showing up on the trending page, so I will probably won't take the effort to create one.
But I will support the competition by upvoting the ones which do make a chance!
Edit: maybe I will try to write one about the SBC community! Or maybe we as SBC community should write one, so that the community will get to trending.

But I will support the competition by upvoting the ones which do make a chance

This is good enough for me! We (myself included) aren't all great content writers, but I think most of us can appreciate something good when we see it.

Edit: maybe I will try to write one about the SBC community! Or maybe we as SBC community should write one, so that the community will get to trending.

Could be a plan! i think it needs to be fairly general for outward facing. I might enter from that account, but be available for my own prizes of course :)

I am beginning to think that the fount of good ideas flows through you, Asher. :)

I think the concept is great. As you say, whether a pro-STEEM(it) post makes it up to the top of trending is big ask, but at the very least, it would be nice to have a bunch of articles that talk up Steemit to a realistic degree.

I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to participate, though. I take Sundays off and this one coming up just happens to be Mother's Day on top. But it sounds like you've got people chomping at the bit to participate, and it also sounds like you might have some firepower to getting the post up there, so I'll wish you all the best here and will check Monday morning, along with the leagues, to see if it all succeeded. :)

This is a good idea, isn't it Glen! You really should try to write a post; I'm sure I'm not the only one who would love to read it :)

That's very kind of you Glen :)

Yes I think some positivity wouldn't go a miss, and even if we don't get one there it will be fun to try - and profitable for those that produce the best effort :)

Why not start on a piece tomorrow? Then you just have to find 10 mins on the Sunday to post it up :)

This is a great idea, the community coming together to lift the content they see as quality... sort of how steemit should work in the first place 🤔.

I’m not so good at writing about steemit itself, but will give it a try. If nothing else I will help on Sunday to read through them all. I’m sure we could get a few Curie friends to help as well.

Nicely done ❤️

Hey! My nephews name is Asher! And for that reason, I'll get my thinking hat on!

Awesome! Never met another :)

And for that reason, up-vote!

Ha!!! He is a super smart kid into electronics, robotics and... knitting! And who knows what next....

Good man.

Honestly, it's a weird name to carry. Most people hear Ashley, or think you are sneezing. I mostly just use Ash, and then people smile and say 'hash?'.

But yeah, I'm happy with it. Cheers mum (I know she'll be reading this later!)

Ha ... nice name Mum. Why did you choose it??

Weirdly... and my sister didn't know this... my boy Jarrah was nearly Asher. I think it meant happiness in the bible? Plus that song... brimful of Asher... ;) .... And Ash is a beautiful tree. So who cares what crew think... rock that awesome name!!!

I'll ask her this afternoon, but I think I know the story (she doesn't have an account).

I've had loads of people say it was on their shortlist, in the end, no-one went for it!

Happy/Fortunate, yeah, err, ok!

That song got me some free drinks at Uni :D

Ah ah so worth it in the end haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97