10 Reasons you should be doing Yoga - The first FIVE

in #yoga6 years ago

Enhanced Flexibility

Many of the moves and movements performed during yoga require you to find places of discomfort, especially if you are not used to performing such movements to begin with. As you continue with your practice, you will notice that these, once discomforting moves, slowly, but surely begin to become easier and easier with time.

IMG_0462.jpg

These changes or alternations in flexibility are just like anything else though, as the manifestations are slow in nature. Change does not happen overnight, as we know, but I guarantee if you continue practicing yoga, your flexibility will go through the roof sooner, rather than later.

Builds muscle

You may think it’s quite difficult to build muscle by doing yoga, but this is completely false. While you may not be able to pack on as much muscle as someone who lifts weights, you will notice lean muscle formation from performing yoga. Yoga allows for us to utilize God’s greatest gym, ‘our very own bodies’, to our full advantage.

IMG_0987.jpg

We can perform movements focusing on ‘time under tension,’ holding poses for prolonged periods of time, specifically targeting certain muscles groups. These muscles are generally muscles that are not trained or used to holding your entire body weight. As you progress and begin to perform more difficult poses, these smaller muscles will become strengthened, allowing for you to push yourself to your limits.

Another yoga technique that I like to perform is continual movement through a flow, focusing more on getting the heart rate up to burn more calories while building muscle at the same time.

Helps to correct poor posture

Yoga is great for postural adjustments. Everything revolves around alignment and once you understand this vital component of practicing yoga, you will be able to reach places you'd never thought possible. Spinal adjustments will become apparent, which will help if you have forwardly rotated shoulders.

IMG_1010.jpg

This generally comes from weak or inflexible muscles in these regions of the body, but once these muscles or fibers become strengthened, natural correction should start to occur. Poor posture can cause pain and a lot of discomfort, so give yoga a try if you are looking to improve upon your current postural status.

Improves overall balance

It is obvious that yoga improves physical balance capabilities through basic practice. Yoga also helps to improve upon overall balance in your life. You will begin to notice higher energy levels, which will help to power you through long, hard days. Overall mental clarity will become more and more evident and daily decisions or actions will, as a result, appear to be easier.

IMG_0195.jpg

Without a cloudy or cluttered mind, we are able to focus more on the things that matter most and take care of what needs to be done, usually without negative thoughts or thought processes. The overall work, school, social life balance really cannot be attributed to one or only a few particular factors, but one thing is for sure in that yoga will help to improve upon this level of balance in your everyday life.

Prevents joint degeneration

The cartilage which makes up our joints must be compressed to allow for new nutrients to enter our joints, which really comes by simply using our joints. It may sound too good to be true, but the more we use our joints, the stronger they will become.

IMG_0712 (1).jpeg

Via this phenomena, our joints will remain sustainably healthy, that is if we don’t have any pre-existing conditions which may inhibit our joint strength to begin with. Yoga helps to maximize joint mobility, keeping them healthy and agile for a lifetime.

Please consider upvoting, commenting and resteeming if you found this post to be worthwhile

Also, stay tuned for the next FIVE reasons you should be doing Yoga

Sort:  

Absolutely love yoga! Best form of exercise and can be performed anywhere and everywhere. The thing with yoga is consistent practice. Takes time to get flexible and do beautiful poses.

Yes same here!! I agree too I completely dropped free weight workouts to focus solely on body weight exercises and I have loved the change !! Yoga anywhere....at home, on the porch, or even on the go!!

Keep on flowing *&& growing my friend !!

very informative i will try it

Thank you, and that's a good idea !!

see you around :)

Thanks for posting this! I read and re-read the entire post. I needed this as a motivation to push through and keep practicing. I'm a super a beginner (only a few months in) and I'm already noticing huge improvements week by week in my flexibility and posture. Following you for inspiration. Thanks!!!

Awesome man!! I'm glad this post has motivated you to push and keep up the hard work!! Yoga, as we know is so beneficial for so many reasons, so I think your decision is wise! just know that it takes TIME ( i've been doing yoga for about 17 months now) and the progression is slow, but it WILL come.. just stay patient and persistent with it and I guarantee it will pay dividend for you.

Keep up the good work mate, followed back

See you around :)

So true. Yoga is amazing for your health! Love the post.

I know I absolutely love this practice, I try to be religious about it, but sometimes life brings challenges... this is when I head back to the mat to find myself.. :)

Thanks for dropping by I appreciate your kind words
Steem on !!

I find doing hot yoga helps to keep my stride long for running. Running is such a repetitive activity and moves your hips through a limited range of motion that they can become very rigid. Yoga is great for keeping my hips loser and it's less likely that my running will lead to injuries

very interesting, I like that you have found this helpful for your running. Yoga opens those hips like no other, especially if you perform YIN YAN yoga (holding pose openers for prolonged periods of time).

Flow on!!

yesss yoga is the best! I've found a lot of people avoid it because stretching is super uncomfortable if you don't do it regularly. But once you get a little flexibility it gets so much better and even feels good :)

I always urge people to just stretch once in the morning and then at night before bed for about 10 min... this really helps with slow progression and always alleviates any muscle soreness in the am when waking up.

My flexibility has shot through the roof with staying consistent and persistent with continual practice and progression

Keep it up my fellow yogi!!

Love how you are integrating the mental AND the physical side of yoga in this post. A lot of blogs nowadays lean towards either the spirituality aspect of yoga or purely the physical benefits. Keep up the good work, would love to hear more.

Yes it is very important to think about both ends of the spectrum and not merely one or the other.. I appreciate your kind words and be on the look out for more.. yoga post part II is coming soon

Much respect

Very good information, I really congratulate you, my friend, we always need to keep our body healthy and in harmony that better way than with a good yoga class, greetings from Venezuela, God bless you!!!

Thank you I appreciate this my friend. keeping ourselves in good health and wellness is key to a long and healthy life which we choose to live. Yoga definitely has so many benefits which help with this, that's for sure!

Even if you can't attend a class you can try in on your own or with a friend or two... this is how I started !

Peace and blessings my friend, Greeting from the U.S. of A here in OHIO!!

Yoga is highly overlooked especially among athletes. When I got injured from sports, I finally realized how useful and necessary yoga is for muscle relaxation and injury prevention.

My injury was due to the lack of stretching which yoga most likely could have prevented!

*Yoga is beneficial in many ways as you stated

@conradsuperb

Yessir, this is one of the main reasons why I do yoga as well. Since my muscle fibers can stretch with much more elasticity than before I am able to cut and plant in ways a couldn't otherwise do so.

Sometimes I still get muscle aches after soccer or basketball games, but since I don't run around as much as I did in HS I think this is sorta normal.

I always like to throw so meditation in once in a while to relax the mind as well as the muscles... Are you currently performing yoga and stretching into your training technique??

I stretch a lot, but I do not participate in yoga due to time constraints. Definitely would love to in the future though. @conradsuperb

stretching is good and can be done rather quickly. Yoga can also be done quickly depending on the style of yoga you perform. I understand, sometimes our schedules do not permit, but I highly recommend, my friend !!

Oh believe me, I will do it eventually! @conradsuperb

yessir! you will reap the benefits when you do :))

Excellent post Doing exercises is very beneficial for the human being. Yoga is very good to stay in balance and in harmony, and being positive is the perfect balance.

Yes indeed, I try to do something everyday if I can. Yoga hits every end of the spectrum and allows for optimal growth in every aspect you look to improve!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86