The Case for "Macro-Dosing" Cannabis

in #cannabis6 years ago (edited)

photo-1525372545342-6c14e55fc259.jpg
I have seen a lot of talk about micro-dosing cannabis lately and that is great but there are benefits to consuming excessively large amounts too. Micro-dosing is fine. It is approachable to newer consumers and it allows people to feel a little better without having any real sense of being altered. However, high doses of cannabis (particularly when taken orally) can be quite a different animal from the normal high one experiences from smoking or eating a small amount. It can bring one to a state of mind that borders on the psychedelic. It can provide a very intense and very altered feeling that is not quite like anything else. "Macro-dosing" can increase some the medicinal effects of the drug and this style of cannabis consumption can also be a great deal of fun. While micro-dosing does have its strengths and seems to be popular at the moment, we shouldn't forget the value of getting way too high every now and again.

Before going forward, it would be helpful to define what a "macro-dose" of cannabis actually is but doing this is more complicated than it may seem. Tolerance can very greatly from consumer to consumer and this makes determining a proper dose difficult. That being the case, it is best for an individual to decide how much weed they personally need to get into the high dose zone. A good rule would be to expect to consume more than twice the amount of a typical recreational dose. From there one can choose to consume more if he or she wishes to venture deeper into the higher end of cannabis usage but "more than double" is a good place to start.

photo-1488643637913-82a3820cf051.jpg

Right about now, some of you are thinking that being too high can be unpleasant and that certainly can be true but this is less of a problem that one may think. If someone is going into the experience with the knowledge that he or she will be way more stoned than normal, the likelihood of a "bad trip" is greatly decreased because the intense buzz doesn't come as an unwelcome surprise. Even if a "freak out" does start to overwhelm a consumer, there are steps he or she can take to reduce any unwanted negative effects like anxiety or paranoia. Something as simple as changing the music or the lighting in a room can go a long way toward altering the "feel" of an experience. Sometimes eating a flavorful snack or having a stimulating beverage can also steer one away from the more unenjoyable aspects of high dose cannabis usage. The important thing to remember is that you are safe. Cannabis doesn't kill and as long as one keeps that in mind, he or she can move past any chemically induced fear.

I have heard some people compare "macro-dosing" cannabis to using psychedelics and, while I think that this is a bit of an overstatement, it is not a completely misguided view. Psychedelics can be quite a bit more "forceful" and profound in the way they alter a person's perception but cannabis has some similar qualities at very high doses. Once a person crosses a certain threshold with cannabis (particularly with edibles), the way he or she experiences the drug seems to change. The "buzz" becomes more trip-like in the sense that thought becomes very different from that of a sober mind. Strange connections become easier to make and abstract ideas seem to flow far more freely than under normal circumstances. Obviously, one will not feel as those the secrets of the universe are being reviled before his or her eyes as he or she would with psychedelics but that isn't always necessary to facilitate productive self-exploration. Sometimes the deep introspective thought and the silly mind-set that a "macro-dose" of cannabis can bring is enough to get someone to where they want to go.

photo-1474052422008-bc752fc93376.jpg

Some of the medical effects of cannabis can be increased at higher doses and this adds to the value of "macro-dosing." Cannabis is well known to aid in the fight against cancer, it can reduce pain and inflammation, and has a whole host of other benefits. By significantly raising the amount one consumes, he or she adds to the effectiveness of the drug at treating some of these conditions. Cannabis is unique in this respect, since most medicine does not work in this way. Morphine would certainly help reduce a person's pain but too much could easily kill that person. Since cannabis is about as safe as a thing can be, there is no reason to stunt its medical qualities by using only low doses.

High dose cannabis usage can be great fun and that should not be discounted. It allows a person to have something a little more special than a simple "buzz" without the need to seek out a new drug. People need to cut loose every once and a while. Stress, fatigue, and the monotony of modern life can take a toll on a people's mind. Sometimes the cure for these things is as simple as a night of pure recreation and a "macro-dose" of cannabis can make that a reality. With all the talk about the medical benefits of cannabis, it is easy to forget that recreation is also a valid use. Despite what some would have us believe, pleasure and fun are not immoral nor are they unproductive.

photo-1508180752316-db2148802010.jpg

The only warning I would give in regards to using cannabis at is extreme doses is that it should not be attempted until one has a fair amount of experience with the drug. Someone with no tolerance will likely not react well to a sudden jump in intensity. They would still be safe, of course, but the possibility of an unpleasant "trip" is greatly increased. One must know his or her own limits before he or she can venture beyond them.

Peace.

Unless otherwise credited, all the images in this post were soured from the free image website, unsplash.com.

Sort:  

I think taking the larger dose is the way to go with psychoactive drugs in general. In a controlled enviornment, with an adept, it can effect a positive change.

In noticed you resteemed my post too. Thank you.

I agree for the most part. Come to think of it, most of the "bad trips" I can remember having from various things came at lower doses. I think that at certain point, you are altered enough that you stop worrying about how altered you are lol.

I think that at certain point, you are altered enough that you stop worrying about how altered you are

And with the reasonable safeguards, this is where the real growth and exploration begin!

Great post! Your so right about macro dosing. I feel when I do macro dose i always reflect on things I’m doing wrong in life. Even though it is due to a freak out, but it’s a healthy freak out. I would recommend that if someone is to macro dose, have some CBD handy just in case. Cbd is the antidote to high anixety.

That is what I have heard but I have never tried it to bring a buzz down.

I just saw that you resteemed this. Thank you.

I wholeheartedly agree. Edibles can be pretty trippy in higher doses, not far from acid. This can go as far as flying a few feet above the ground and experiencing total loss of control :) There are also landrace sativas, that'll really push your sense of being in a foreign land :)

Yeah a lot of people don't understand how far they can go with cannabis. I once saw this girl who thought she had a tolerance eat about seven grams in two hastily thrown together cupcakes. Cut to 45 minutes later and she was sitting on the couch thinking she forgot to how walk for like hour lol.

I like your post

2 months break and then a decent macro-dose.
this is life :D

Coming back is always great. It almost feels like the first time.

yea. today I'll pobably smoke again.
After a 2 day break^^
I'm in rehabilitation

Crazy man well good luck with that I know some stuff can be a bitch to come off of. I can't even make myself quit smoking cigarettes and they don't come with a "high." At least weed is always benign as a thing can be. I hear it helps with coming off of various other things sometimes but I have no real experience with it in that context.

haha I'm not because drugs in reha.
I'm in here for my shoulder surgery, and I get to smoke. I'm intolerant of most painkillers.

Hahahaha my bad man lol. I have seen so many people talk about rehab my mind just went there lol. In that case, I can definitely identify. I had two knee surgeries from sports injuries the first time I smoked weed the second time I couldn't because I was trying to get a job that drug tested (they didn't care about the opioids the doctors gave oddly) I definitely felt a lot better through the recovery when I was smoking.

"High dose cannabis usage can be great fun and that should not be discounted. It allows a person to have something a little more special than a simple "buzz" without the need to seek out a new drug."

This reminds me of the Bob Marley lyric in "Kaya":

I feel so high, I even touch the sky
in the pouring rain.
I feel so good, in my neighborhood,
so here I come again.

Yes, it is healthy to have fun and to play. Micro, macro? I side with the macro.

Thank you. Yeah I think some people like to diminish getting high for fun because it sounds bad to non-users but it really is just as good as a reason as any.

Of course, Rasta smoke it from morning to night to celebrate Jah, Rastafari. Macro all the way. It's fun, it's ceremonial, it helps you get in the zone, and it celebrates life. Non-users and not in the zone, but at least 1/3 of the U.S. population has turned on, while over 60% are in favor of legalization. It's bizarre to have a society in which 1/3 of the population are considered lawbreakers even though most of them pay their taxes and support the "rule of law" in almost every other aspects. This situation cannot continue indefinitely. Times are changing. Hell, John Boehner has joined the board of a medical marijuana company!

If they need the opioid crisis to push for legalization. So be it, whatever, just sign the bills and make it legal. We are, after all, a nation of laws. Legalized pot is one law I can wrap my brain around.

Interesting post on a topic I haven't read much about. I can understand how large amounts of cannabis can have a similar affect as small amounts of psychedelics...I have definitely had that experience - for me it can be defined as the transference from a state of deep relaxation (what can be expected from a typical cannabis high) to a state of deep poetic understanding about one's current state of being. I have also noted intensification of colors. You are a good writer and make all the topics you cover quite approachable while still maintaining depth of content.

Thank you. That is usually what I shoot for. I feel like sometimes people who are knowledgeable about a subject forget how to talk about it in in common language and that can make the subject harder to approach for people who aren't in the know.

I really like that description of the experience.

I find that a lot of people who talk about such subjects that you cover cannot do so without an air of self-importance. It says a lot about one's character when one is able to educate and discuss from a place of sincerity/care and not from superiority. Props to you on that, it only makes your message ever more potent

Really interesting. I have heard about micro-dosing acids and lsd, but never cannabis. How can you even think about it?

Haha I never got the micro-dosing thing at all really. The psychoactive effects are fun and that is a good thing which shouldn't be ignored. There are some good reasons to micro dose but I think that some of it, at least, is that a lot of people think that they should feel guilty about feeling good.

This is an astute observation--the "feeling bad about feeling good" thing. I believe that's more than half the "problem" with not only weed, but all drugs... ("This isn't about a War on Drugs, this is about a War on Personal Freedom..." (Bill Hicks on "Third Eye," by Tool).

I agree with that. The all really should be legal.

Very interesting article... I'm tokin a bowl as we speak ;) (legal state ;)). I have never been into "micro-dosing" lol. Though I understand the concept. On the other side of it, I'd never even heard the idea of macro-dosing; though it also makes sense. As a cannabis "ingest-er" for the past 20-odd years, I can add a couple things here.

Milk. Small glass of milk if you're "freakin out." This is only for pot, though. Also, I think if someone is gonna try this "macro dose" thing, it should almost unanimously be done orally. Mainly because, hell, I don't think I even could smoke more than twice what I "usually" do, you know what I mean?? lol. Then again, I usually do smoke a good bit haha. I just have to put it out after a while.

To that point, I only have ever tried "edibles" on a couple of occassions, and, on its own, it never seemed to have that great of an effect. Then again, I also may have not had "enough."

I don't know. Personally, after having kind of "been there, done that" with psychadelics, etc. I don't think I would want to "trip out" like that today. But, for those that do: Stay safe!!!

Thank you. Yeah I had edibles in mind as I was writing this. Smoking makes it harder to achieve because it wares off too fast. I find that edibles are better if you make them yourself. You can make a single dose "firecracker" without much trouble and If you use a gram or two of good weed it will get you to where you need to go.

I feel you about the psychedelics. They are great but they are taxing and when you have to get up and go to work the next day they can be a bit off putting but I can see an argument for taking a trip every few months or something (which is the same way I treat alcohol).

Interesting. Yeah... I pretty much don't like alcohol, for some reason... Never have. Although I have had some great times "drinking." Just always seemed like such an... "inefficient" drug, for a lack of a better term; you have to drink so much of it, it's nasty af, it reeks.. (I guess you could make similar arguments to weed, but idgaf ahah). Oh, and druck people are annoying af. High people can be, too, but no where near as much. Then again, many great artists of course have been alkies; guess every "body" is different ;))

Although I do kind of like the idea of the "occassional" night of drinking haha sounds fun. Guess I've just never been a "bar" person. Hate fucking bars.

And what's this "firecracker" you speak of? How u do dat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98