Exploring the Tribes: What IS This Thing Called "Creativity?"

in #creativity5 years ago

I suppose it's more or less inevitable that — with all these new "tribes" springing up — we're going to be spending some time contemplating our many options.

So far, my favorite idea for a tribe is that embodied by #CreativeCoin, and it's perhaps also my firmest commitment, so far.

Which is actually slight odd, because...

CT0031IndigoFlowers180901.jpg
Flowering bush in our yard...

The Funny Thing Is...

... I never really considered myself particularly "creative," growing up.

Aside from the fact that I was a solid "C+" student in art classes from elementary school through graduating high school, I almost always felt awkward during creative activities. Although I could sometimes "see" ideas in my head, my ability to execute them only seemed to result in an impressive collection of what one might call "Art Lumps."

Oddly enough, I grew up in a pretty artistic family. In my extended family, we had at least 3-4 painters, a musician with a major philharmonic orchestra, a dancer at the Royal Danish Ballet and a few other "hobbyists" whose abilities seemed to far outshine my own clumsy expressions.

Don't get me wrong, I love art and the creative spirit, and have a great deal of admiration for those with a talent for expressing and bringing them to the world!

However, by the time I went to college, I had pretty much decided that art wasn't my gig, and that I wasn't creative much, and I could probably look forward to a nice comfortable life as a bookkeeper or filing clerk.

RD0032Stream.jpg
Moving water...

Many Years Passed...

I don't remember precisely when it was, but sometime in the late 1990's, I found myself at a week long psychology and spirituality retreat... and one of the "diversions" in between workshops was something the facilitator called "Creativity Night."

I suppose that — for most people — that might be classified as "fun," but it actually filled me with mild dread and some anxiety... enhanced by the memories of my laughable "art lumps" of a time long gone.

So one afternoon (before "Creativity Night") I found myself talking to this fellow... Richard (who went on to become a good friend), and we bonded over our shared dread of "having to be creative" on command while feeling like the floor tiles below us were actually far more creative than us.

Fortunately for us the retreat coordinator overheard our budding pity party and decided to join in. The result was an expanded perception of what "creativity" actually means.

RD0064Ripples.jpg
Branch in the water

Creative Non-Fiction

Although I had a dream of growing up to "write stories" already when I was seven and my friends wanted to become firefighters and astronauts, another nail in the coffin of my creativity was my ineptitude at creating believable (and relateable) characters and plots for works of fiction.

But I have always kept a journal, and I have always enjoyed sharing "observations" on life and the strange quirks of the Human Condition.

And that is where I "found" my creativity, sometime in the earliest days of this thing we call "blogging." Human stories. Explorations of the psyche. The Struggle is Real! Or maybe it isn't... That, along with a willingness to poke at many of society's "sacred cows."

I'm not exactly irreverent, but I'm not exactly politically correct, either. More than anything, though... I have found that I am often irrelevant. Because, after all, I'm not really creating any kind of "useful" writing; writing that can be marketed and sold.

But I have pretty much made peace with that.

RD0201Magenta.jpg
The brightness of nature

Creativity is MANY Things

Perhaps it would be too much of a catch-all to say that "Creativity can be pretty much whatever you want it to be."

But there's an element of truth there.

My friend Richard and I were keeping ourselves fenced in by the notion that "creativity" necessaruly meant artistic expression. And it really doesn't.

One of the dictionary definitions looks like this:

The ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination.

Doesn't actually mention art or music or performing arts, at all.

In fact, Richard creating some day trading software using unique algorithms of his own making... which has helped him NOT having to go to a job for over 15 years. And that's definitely creative, in its own way.

Just like the words I write here may not be "a painting," or "poetry," but they are still creative, in their own way!

Thanks for reading, and have a great week!


(Another #creativecoin creative non-fiction post)

What's YOUR definition of creativity? Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for this platform.)
Created at 190812 23:15 PDT

1074

Sort:  

when I was trucking I got pretty creative with my log books.
At least the nice policeman with the gun and the ticketbook said so.

does that count?

Sounds to me like you had the creativity to rewrite the books in a way that served your needs!

So yes, definitely.

This sounds just like me. Creative writing? If it's fiction, it's a big fat NO. For the moment, anyway. Other types of writing, hell, yes. Your process echoes mine except I was surrounded by extraordinarily creative artists at school. I felt incapable and useless. Anyhow...I've discovered my creativity - in ways I hadn't expected.

Thanks for this @denmarkguy

In many ways, I feel that there is creativity in the journey of discovery, itself. I had to have my own thinking "disrupted" in order to arrive at accepting that YES, I do have a creative side.

Funny thing, I don't have a creative bone in my body and I love and curate for the CreativeCoin Community.

Maybe because I am so Not Creative I have always valued and envied Creative people.

It's been good for me to force myself away from all the Steem Posts and read and curate some creative things.

The only bad thing, I haven' had much to post about. :)

Of all the communities that have come along, Creative Coin makes the most sense to me... both from the perspective of having interesting content as well as offering a hope that there can be a community that emphasizes content creation.

Looks like the side chains are delayed again... I'll come back with your upvote when I can send it from inside the CCC condenser...

You might want to explore the work of Leo Gutkind on the subject of creative non-fiction. Another book that I've seen highly recommended, I've only just started reading, is The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp


Learn more about SHADE here

Join the fun promoting your post at Pimp Your Post Thursday. Win SHADE or SBI, make friends. Every Thursday in The Ramble

Thanks for the recommendations @shadowspub! I've learned a good bit from reading Julia Cameron's "The Artist's Way" and "The Right to Write," both of which I found useful. I'll check out your suggestions, as well.

I'm familiar with "The Artist's Way" but haven't seen "The Right to Write".. will look for that. Also, Gutkind's first name is Lee not Leo.. oops.


Learn more about SHADE here

Join the fun promoting your post at Pimp Your Post Thursday. Win SHADE or SBI, make friends. Every Thursday in The Ramble

Written from the creative heart. You are creative with your writings because you create dilemmas and questions and conversations and answers in your audience.

Creativity is not an object to stand isolated. It is a conversation, a flow of ideas and expressions, a dialog.

By the way, then there is a thing called creative adaptation. Some experts are making loads of money by creatively adapting the work of others 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Scratch the surface on a lot of creative work and you'll find some adaptation of a previous work. There is a lot of truth to 'there is nothing new under the sun'.

True. We are all building on the work of our predecessors.

Yet, there is a difference of using something to create art or to sell a product. It's the latter kind of creative adaptation that I find worrying ...

hmm interesting... would you have an example by illustration of what the sell a product kind is?
!SHADE 2



Hi ervin-lemark the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Thanks @ervin-lemark!

For me, creativity (in writing, anyway) is to engage with the readers... and that same holds true for other aspects of creativity: Music, performance, painting and so on... you have to TOUCH the audience in some way. Is creativity a "thing?" Maybe you're right, it isn't.

Creative adaptation is actually pretty important in the world. A lot of truly original ideas may be brilliant, but it often requires some kind of adaptation to reformat them in such a way they actually reach and become relevant to many people. And that has a lot of value, too!

Sometimes, I just wonder and I have to unavoidably question if the healing irony, the healthy cynicism, the liberating sarcasm & the witty humor are creative or not. };)

Well my friend, I would definitely rank you among the most creative writers and contributors in Steemlandia! Go back up and read that lest quoted definition... and I would say that I definitely recognize you in that.

So just keep on keepin' on!

and I would say that I definitely recognize you in that.

Haha ¡Thank you! mate. :)

Maybe we should co-create together "The Art Lumps" tribe with a wider spectrum of Creative scopes in mind. For example, curiously, I don't recall have read in any of your posts if you play or can play a musical instrument or not. If not, then don't worry. I'm certainly capable to create my fair bit of noise myself. And since what you like the most is creative writing, perhaps you'd want compose the lyrics for such pieces of Art Lumps.

Additionaly, given the fact that you've been exposed in your childhood to so many different artistic expressions by members of your family. When you won't be in the mood to write the lyrics of my weirdest songs, you can always dance them in a Royal Danish Ballet style. ;)

Since is remember myself i was always creative in one way or another. My imagination was always vivid and i wanted to express myself. Of course i had non creative periods in my life also but when i always try to find a way to occupy myself with sth creative. I think all of us have a strong creative side, but we feel that we must make sth spectacular in order to have acceptance. This is a big mistake, we create for ourselves, we create to express our feelings and thoughts, this is all that matters:)

I agree @georgeboya, we all have creative sides... perhaps one of the "traps" people fall into (and which I was in, myself, for a while) is limiting our interpretation of creative to just FINE ART... when, in fact, it can be so very many different things.

My best writing tends to be when I am just telling a "story" for my own benefit, and whether other people like it — or not — is not really important.

Yes, exactly. To be creative does not mean that you have to be Da Vinci. I am happy that through my artistic career i am the biggest fan of my artwork,lol. From the first, i always spend time seeing them and admiring the result. It is not sth egoistic it is just an important reward that you get when you are making art:)

I like the idea behind creativecoin. It's one I'm going to be posting my photography in going forward.

Sounds like a good idea @revo! I have a feeling a large part of "the future" for Steem is going to come in the way of more focused subgroups and tribes.

For me creativity is when I think, talk, write or do something that evokes a bit of fear in me. A fear of being wrong or a fear of being right.

An interesting and intriguing approach @organduo; haven't ever quite thought of it from that perspective, but it "feels true."

Believe it or not, there are revered creativity experts that have written long-winded academic papers that say the same thing you just said in your post! 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Somehow, that does not surprise me @cindyhartz. Personally, I believe creativyt is pretty much what we choose it to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97