Thoughts from the backseat of a car | A random, extremely random freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago
I take pride in my freewrites. Not an arrogant or full of myself kind of pride, but more based on what my freewrites allow me to accomplish and how they entertain other people and make them think, hell, I've gotten some comments or direct messages telling me how my recent freewrite inspired then to write something or make a change in their life.

So, it's not a vanity driven pride, but a satisfactory on myself pride.

Some people are great painters; there are some others who code like demigods; I've met cooking experts who are just suprerb... And so on. Well, I write, and I like to think I'm good at it.

I'm not a professional writer, I think there's still a long path for me to walk through to become the best writer version of myself. But still, some people have told me that I have that Je ne se quois that catches their interest the moment they start reading my pieces, and that makes them finish reading them no matter how long they are.

Granted, I couldn't write a book - even though I'm on it, slowly, since the beginning of this year - and my grammar is not perfect. But man, you should've been around back when I wrote my adventure-traveling posts. Those make my current freewrites look like a kid's coloring book. Those were the days, even though my posts weren't getting as much rewards as I would've wanted them to, the Engagement and feedback they got on a regular basis was out of this world.

But enough about me, I said it would be a random freewrite and yet I've spent the last 4 paragraphs speaking about myself. How cocky, full of myself and egocentric I must be - you must be thinking.

Well, I think we should all be a little full of ourselves.

You know how they say, if you don't recognize and celebrate your awesomeness, then who will do it for you?

Nah mate, recognize and celebrate your strengths and learn to embrace and live with your weaknesses. When someone speaks about, let's say school, don't refer to yourself as oh, I'm not good at math, but talk about yourself as oh, yeah, I kick ass in history.

That's why some times I enjoy freewriting about myself even for a few paragraphs, because it's therapy for me. I lay off my back all the thoughts I have burdening me and that keep my mind busy and stressed and, at the same time, I take the chance to keep myself on track to where I am going and who I am. Of course I don't need to write who I am to know it, but we all need a little remainder every now and then. You know how some people talk to themselves in front of the mirror? Well, this is my version of talking to myself in the mirror.

Sometimes these freewrites are amazing, some others they are just meh, it all depends on how they evolve on my fingers and how my inspiration works as I read myself during them.

In most of them, I find smooth ways to connect topics between each other without the reader even noticing the jump in subjects and in some of them, like this one, I just can't seem to find links or connections to what I'm trying to write, and a few times I find myself staring at the screen with a blank look in my eyes thinking what the hell am I writing, and why don't I seem to put into words what I'm trying to think.

That's when the freewrite should end and you should declare yourself defeated by the freewrite. Right now, I can't seem to continue writing whereas most of the time I have to wrap it up or the piece will end up being too long and become tedious for a normal steemian to read, especially when I'm just rambling and talking about nothing.

So, I guess I'll read you later. I'll go back to curating awesome content and downvoting bidbot abusers with @ocdb while I'm still in the back of this car heading to the big city.

IMG_20191005_093244545.jpg

Remember to use the tag #OC when you post amazing content! Some times I browse that tag when I'm curating.

Sort:  

It's quite often my free writing ends up becoming a full post or article. Sometimes I just start writing to get me going and then some kind of fancy magic happens. Sometimes it ends up being some trash that I would never put up for the public to see, I usually just delete those ;)

You are indeed, a very entertaining writer. You manage to put your sentences well up. Maybe I should try out some actual free writing where I don't end up changing it too much. food for thought I guess.

(Yea this was a free writing comment)

And I enjoyed it too.
It's amazing how ideas ricochet off one another sometimes and at other times get bogged down in the mud.
I cannot simply leave a piece of re writing......HAVE to do at least basic editing.

'Well, I think we should all be a little full of ourselves.'
Little - full
Lovely use of an oxymoron (I had lost touch with that figure of speech and had to look it up!)
Thanks for the rambling good read and wrap up last paragraph.

It's exactly like when you say it's a bit much. Oxymorons are hard to manage and it's easy to come up with something that people won't like. I try to avoid using them but sometimes they just work :D

I'm glad you liked the rambling :)

The art of engaging through the written word........ well I read to the end so I guess you got me ! hahaha

Oh, that's the whole point of the way I write! To catch you and never let you go. Some times it works, some others it doesn't but in the end, if I manage to make one person read through it all and like it, it's mission accommplished for me :)

I thought that ocdb vote was you ❤️ How have you been my handsome friend? Thinking about your adventure posts make me super nostalgic for that time in Steemit history!

Oh definitely, I can still remember every single aspect of how that Steem from late 2017 looked like and how it all was. We've sure went through different phases as a community but to be honest I'm liking how we are evolving now - not so much where we were a few months ago with all the abuse going on. I miss you! I hope you are doing amazing! :* :* :*

If course I am doing amazing, like you I make it so! I miss you too! XOXO 😘

What's the secret of good writing (the kind that makes the reader feel awesome)?

Following a line like this:
How cocky, full of myself and egocentric I must be - you must be thinking.

with something like this:
Well, I think we should all be a little full of ourselves.
You know how they say, if you don't recognize and celebrate your awesomeness, then who will do it for you?

In my case, these two were the exact thoughts I had, before I even got to reading them. Good job!

Oh man, this comment really made my day. It is exactly what I strive for, to allow the reader to feel as if we are having a conversation and that whatever is going on while writing/reading, it feels as if we are face to face. It's hard and sometimes I don't achieve this goal but when I do, especially when I'm writing adventure-traveling posts, the feeling is amazing.

Thanks for dropping by man, and thanks for the wholesome comment :)

Cruising while in the back seat like a boss. With a stern look on his face he turns to his phone and conducts precision guided strikes wielding the full might of the @ocdb complex. :)

Have a nice Saturday morning! Afternoon has turned into evening about 14 minutes ago here.

Ahaha that comment about the mafia boss was sarcasm, of course I don't consider myself a boss hahah. Have a good Sunday my friend!

I was joking too. You really looked like a boss in the picture. Probably taking a good picture in a moving car took some concentrating, resulting in a stern expression. ;)

Just keep writing, I'm one of those who likes to read your any kind of blabber, it is therapy and it works both ways. cheers!

I agree and I'm glad that reading my pieces serves as therapy for you my friend!

Lol when I saw the comment I thought I was going to read why do you have a shirt on?

I went to Mexico city but it was just a one day trip, I'm back on my dad's home now. Hope you are doing great man!

I dont only comment to talk about naked nomad.

Moving to Louisiana. So been busy packing

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Enjoy the nice time at the back of the car to the city and well see you along the ride

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00