Dedication, Discipline, and Drive - The Lazy Man's Guide to a Better Mind & Body

in #health6 years ago (edited)

What's good everyone!

38019129_2103223866567212_8889812133479448576_n.jpg

The above title, 'Dedication, Discipline and Drive' is from a Conscious Reggae song, entitled 'Champion' by Keznamdi which I'll link below. It stuck on me one day while I was listening to music doing a run on the treadmill in the gym. This topic sounds a little mundane and over done, I know. But I am not one of those gym nuts who hulk out and preach to everyone about having "Big pecs, braaahhh!" No, I'm just an average adult in his thirties who likes to smoke some doobies and have an occasional beer when the time is right.

'Champion (Reggaesta Remix)' by Keznamdi

Let's take it back to about the year 2001. I was skinny. Too skinny. When I used to sit on the passenger seat in my sister's car in California, the airbag light wouldn't even turn on because I weighed under 100 pounds. I would eventually join the United States Air Force for lack of anything interesting to do with my life. This was before I picked up DJing or knew anything about the entertainment industry. Too early in the social media days for social media to have any effect on marketing. Anyways, I joined the USAF, and my recruiter had to lie on the paper to say I was heavier than I really was. Sounds like the plot for the first Captain America movie.

1934176_25744417792_3424_n.jpg
Skinny, underweight, long-haired Ryan prior to joining the USAF.

During the six week of Basic Military Training (BMT), they gave us a strict diet: no sugar, and no caffeine. Oh, and we also had like one minute to chomp down on our food before the Training Instructors started yelling at us and chasing out of the commissary. With a lot of exercise and our busy daily routines, I started to realize that what I was eating wasn't enough to give me enough energy or to feel full throughout the day, so I started to fill myself with more rice, bread, or potatoes rather than meats or vegetables. That, on top of our daily exercise and runs made me put on weight. I went on vacation during my time off and paid a visit to my sister. The airbag light in her car turned on! However, she wasn't too happy about how fast I was eating my food. Took me about a month to learn how to eat slowly again.

215497_18849692792_4975_n.jpg
After graduating from technical training. Trainer said don't smile or we have to do push ups!

After BMT, I went on to do my regular job in the USAF in Nebraska. New place, new faces. I'm kind of used to people coming and going by this time (and now as well). I tried my best to stay in shape for the quarterly fitness tests, but my good friends that lived in the same dormitory as me liked to bang on my bedroom door to wake me up and shove a bottle of creatine in my face to get me motivated to follow them to the gym. It worked, however, I understand that creatine is just water in the muscles, and once you stop drinking it, your muscles go back down. Am I correct to say this?

Anyways, eventually I would leave the USAF and discover the world of the entertainment industry in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, my hometown. Whilst doing random jobs in Malaysia and Singapore such as learning to be a qualified barista, other F&B positions, event management, graffiti art, all of these would keep me more than active (and exhausted).

1929206_95227427792_6302396_n.jpg
Shortly after leaving the military, around 2009 in Singapore.

Until about five years ago, while I was working in Singapore and living with my aunt, I decided that after so many years out of the military, and was losing my muscle mass, I decided to run and use the many outdoor facilities they have in Singapore to do some workouts (chin-ups, push-ups, squats, leg lifts, etc). And that just became a fad for a month, then BOOM! At twenty-eight years old my metabolism slowed down. I started to show signs of a belly, it was getting harder and harder to go up stairs, and I was getting really lazy. Especially in periods where I didn't have a job or much money, I'd stay home sleep, eat, watch shit on youtube, putting on more weight and feeling more depressed.

Fast forward another two years, and I end up in Thailand, doing more random F&B/barista jobs but making peanuts for money. Eventually in 2016 I decided, fuck it, I'm going to be a teacher. I was finally somewhat financially stable! The down-side to that was that I was living in small towns, small communities and not many people or places to visit. Most of my time was spent crashing in bed from exhaustion of waking up too early in the morning and teaching naughty kids. Don't get me wrong, kids brought joy to my life, they treat you like a rock star! But by the time I get home, my internal battery is dead. This became a routine for the following year and a half pretty much: work, eat, sleep, wake up, eat, sleep. I eventually put on too much weight. Not too much, but it was definitely having an affect on my laziness and mental well being. I would not be writing this right now, being 12:30 at night and a school day tomorrow if this was me three months ago.

29261239_10155247581672793_9120199457751695360_n.jpg
March 2018. Pot bellied and double chinned.

Four months ago, I was on my vacation in Kuala Lumpur. While visiting friends and family, I was always getting the same comment, "You put on so much weight!" They were absolutely right, though. I wasn't incredibly overweight or obese or anything, but I definitely started feeling out of breath at times, was waking myself up when I was about to sleep by the sound of my own snore, and when I was having trouble tying my shoe laces or clipping my toe nails, I finally decided that this shit has to stop! So this is what I did.

--==Diet==--
A friend of mine, some of you may know, Glenson had lost a lot of weight without exercise, so I decided I would try the same thing. The first two weeks were so hard! I started to buy vegetables from the nearby supermarket and made my own salads. I was feeling hungry all the time and therefore lacking the energy I needed to teach. I also started running, but I'll explain more on that later. I consulted Glenson about this and he said maybe I'm doing it wrong. I should be eating more fatty meats. Okay, but my plan was to start exercising as well, which he didn't do on his diet plan. I bought whole chicken from the supermarket and added that to my salad and that helped a little.

33510666_10155402706872793_2479201517211484160_n.jpg
Taking a break from eating chicken salad every day, I went to a Japanese restaurant to eat some udon and sashimi.

By then, my stomach was getting used to eating in small amounts of food to sustain myself. A revelation came when I was on a boat party I was DJing for and a fellow DJ/friend I was chatting with about my diet looked down at the bottle I was holding and said, "All carbs except beer, right?" So I decided, instead of going all out no-carb diet, I would just cut down my carbs as much as possible (except when I get cravings and want a pizza or hamburger). I started to eat noodle soup or a half plate of rice from the school canteen and a salad at night. Then came another obstacle. I can't sleep at night if my stomach feels too empty, so I bought a toaster, which I told myself I would do for two years, and started to make sandwiches at night before bed, but I noticed that for the two weeks that I did that, I wasn't losing much weight, and looked at how many calories a piece of toast contained. So I substituted toast for bananas as 'filler food'. I also stopped putting chicken in my salad. This is about where I am in my diet as of now.

--==Exercise==--
As I previously mentioned, I started running about two weeks into my diet. Running in Thailand is no easy task. There aren't any proper sidewalks near my apartment. If there are, the curbs are too high between sidewalks, or they are filled with puddles. So I settled on walking ten minutes to the nearest highway which is on the way to my school. Full of pollution, puddles, holes, and snails by the stream, fun! About two weeks into it, I felt my knees really started to hurt a lot. I had trouble going down the stairs at my school. It was apparent that the uneven pavement were fucking up my knees, so after a month of recovery, I joined the gym above the supermarket so I could run easily on the treadmill. I use an app my sister recommended called 'Run C25K' which slowly build your endurance until you can run a full 5 kilometers. I'm about halfway on the app now. I also started lifting some small weights, doing incline sit ups, using the pectoral machine-thingy and standing leg lifts. Trying to focus my exercise after my run on my abs, while doing arm and pectoral muscle exercises to give my abs time to rest in between exercises. It's been two months now at the gym and I'm about halfway there, feeling great!

36767819_10155495886452793_3527388938635313152_n.jpg

--==Mind==--
Most important thing about having a balanced diet and exercise is definitely disciple, and secondly a need to do attitude. There are a few days (or a week at most) where I'd pig out a little or if a friend is in town, I won't go to the gym as often, but I always come back to the diet and go to the gym as often as I can. Every day, if possible. I feel now that this can be applied to every day life, whether it's feeling energized in the morning for your day job, or getting off your ass to write an article on Steemit, practicing scratching on my vinyls, or making music instead of watching Netflix all night until you sleep. Set a routine, have a schedule, follow it as much as you can, and don't stop. "Samurai mentality," as my friend @djlethalskillz likes to say.

38026247_2020664641580923_3449951988253458432_n.jpg
Visiting my friend at the temple last Sunday, a fellow Reggae DJ and producer as he's become a monk for a few months.

--==Result==--
I'm feeling great! I still have a belly, but I'm feeling improvement every day. At least I can tie my own shoes without much effort now! But mentally, I'm not so depressed or lonely all the time now that I have something to keep my mind occupied and I have more energy to do other things to help improve my life (after an after school nap). I hope that I can help inspire some of you to do the same, or if you have any further advice for me, please drop a comment! Thanks for reading and supporting possibly my longest write-up yet! One Love!

Sort:  

Inspirtational story, yours. You've experienced so many things. I have had a smaller transformation in life and getting disciplined about food and exercise was such a big change in my life. Nothing close to what you haveexperienced and achieved.

This is a very good motivational article forna lot of young folks. Keep up the good work. Yoir experienxe can be a direction for many.

Thank you for your kind words, @karamyog! The health thing was a little obstacle compared to other things I had to face in life, but that's what it's about isn't it? Falling and getting back up again. Being healthy is just something to help the process 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely.. health is something that will keep your body solid to fight the main obstacles in life.

Hi stickykeys,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Good for you to stick to the goal of a healthy life and make changes that work for you. I lost "half my size" a few years ago and I now coach and write books to help others do the same.

I have a suggestion for you about food. Get some type of app that tracks nutrition such as vitamins, fiber, minerals etc. I have found that calories are not as important as the nutrition. You need enough things such as vitamin C, magnesium, iodine and many others to stay in top form. When you only look at calories, carbs, protein and fat, you still can be missing those nutrients that keep you healthy.

When I lost my weight, I actually stopped counting calories at all and only counted nutritional values for my food. This was really what helped me succeed.

You are looking great in the last two pics. It's so nice to read of your success. I'm sorry to say I do not see to much of it in my field.

And congrats on your curie vote. This is a post that surely deserves it.

@fitinfun Thank you for your advice! I will try to get an app for nutritional food. Can you recommend any for me? Unfortunately some of the apps i've tried to look for (though not centered around nutrients) don't cater to the asian foods available in Thailand specifically. There are apps from Thailand, however they aren't in English.

Congrats to you on getting to your optimal fitness routine as well and it's excellent that you've made a career out of it!

That's a lot of changes you've been through!
But most important you found the key of success to finally have a balance between being too skinny or weighing too much.
Personally I never believed into some kind of diets or some kind of exercises because the secret is motivation. It's all you need to change your lifestyle and bring something new into your life. Going to the gym do helps your body and also your health but more than that it has this power to keep the stress away or just help you whenever you have a bad day, at least this is for me.
If when I started to read the article I felt a little bit sad, now I'm happy that I made it to the end to see that you are feeling great. Congratulations on your motivation and doing the changes you needed in your life! :)

Thanks so much @gabrielatravels! Little motivations like this helps a lot too. Having a positive mindset keeps stress away but keeping yourself preoccupied helps the loneliness. I finally found the meaning of a happy mind and a happy body 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

God is Good Sticky Keys!

Great documentary of your journey, and its really good advice to add some fatty meats to your diet. I have seen a lot of improvements in my mental sense of wellbeing and my digestion in general, as I used to be so meticulous to cut off all the fat, believing the lie that 'fat makes you fat'. The truth is that our bodies have trouble breaking down proteins properly without the fat.

Also, diet and exercise is very much a 'custom fit' model. One size does not fit all! I have a hard time running or walking on pavement, preferring to hike in the mountains, swim or use a bike.

I enjoyed listening to 'Champion' while reading your article. You are a winner, a champion, and I look forward to you continuing to document your life progress here with us all.

Steem on!

Keep up the good work @stickykeys! You can do it!

Big up! Thanks for always helping out!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great write, brotha..! Good to see how things have improved over the years, keep it going bro!
I am on a very low carb diet too. Now I seem to be in trouble, I am losing too much..! How do I keep up man?

Too much? What does that mean? Are you malnutritioned? Hahaha just treat yourself to something nice once every week or two.. Do you exercise with your diet?

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe I am. Yeah I do some planking and sit ups daily. Not that much. Yas, time for that Triple Cheeseburger man it's been months.
Partiko huh, interesting. Downloading it!

Kudos sticky! Keep shaking those blocks ;)

When are you back in KL? See you in October, yeah? We need another session!

Hi stickykeys.
You have written a very interesting story about you.

Am amazed how you have put on much weight now despite your tiny size since way back when you were joining the army.

And your captain America first movie weight is a nice memory to create a story. How you went for army training with that size.

Here in Uganda army training lasts 10 months. Am amazed that it's six weeks there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05