Who wants to be a millionaire? or billionaire even.

in #howto5 years ago

money-1910761__340.png


Just a light hearted post for tonight.


One of the most intriguing things for me about travel, around this small globe we call earth. Is local currencies and the value of them. Take Bali for instance, when I landed in Bali I instantly became a multi billionaire. Why? The exchange rate of course. My bank account in the UK is in £'s.

It took me many attempts at the cash machine, on the first day in Bali, trying to work out how much I could take out of the ATM. It did get quite frustrating for a while, a nice frustrating all the same, on that tiny Island that is a surfers paradise.

At today's rate of exchange on www.xe.com which is a site I use worldwide whilst traveling to compare currency rates, £1 is 18,374.46 Indonesian Rupiah, which is their currency. Imagine standing at the ATM trying to work out £500 x 18,374.46?

Even when you work it out the ATM will not spit out that many notes in 1 go.


Hong Kong is a place I also visit regularly, well I did until my daughter arrived into this world, and there you get for £1 = 9.94553 Hong Kong dollars, so if you are a millionaire, you become a multi millionaire the second you land. :-) (It was way over 12 dollars per pound the last time I went, pre brexxit vote.)

So we have had a millionaire and billionaire location yes?.


buddhism-1822518__340.jpg


Thailand is also one of the most excellent places to become a multi millionaire.


Why? Because I can think of no other place on the planet where it is easier to make money, if you have the slightest clue about selling anything. And if you have the internet, and as phones now have internet, and the place is stacked full of cheap brand new goods to sell, if you can not thrive there, you will not thrive anywhere.

£1 in Thailand, even with the present day crappy exchange rate, will get you 41.6914 Thai Baht, and for 20 Baht you can get a superb meal cooked fresh for you, from billions of street vendors.

In all of the above countries, and where I currently reside, you can buy a beer for under £1 a pint, though here where my crusty old arse resides now, you get a half liter, which is more than a pint, and for 90 pence. :-)


Where am I now? Poland.


The exchange rate here is currently 5 to 1 in my favor, and has been 7-1 before now. So £1 gets me 5zl and a beer with change. I have no idea why the pound is always worth more than any other country on the planet including the (supposedly) mighty dollar (£1 = $1.27290 & £1 = euro 1.12210) But I like it, and as my cash comes via my UK accounts, long may it continue, whilst we have this greed based Fiat paper fire starter rubbish called money.


There you go, my guide to becoming a billionaire = MOVE lol.


Any more advice required, and I am available for £300 per hour via email!!!!!.


Have a superb week ahead, @shepz1 drops mic and fooks off to bed!...............

Sort:  

and for 20 Baht you can get a superb meal cooked fresh for you, from billions of street vendors.

They've been chasing away the street vendors all over Bangkok from what I'm hearing lately...The claim is that the vendors have gotten too crazy with blocking streets and pedestrian walks.

I kind of agree that it was a bit crazy, but those entrepreneurial, spirited people with the carts 'need' someplace to help make a living...Do I smell some rats lurking behind this attack upon the small timer??? 'Outsiders' with storefronts who feel threatened by the small fry?

Hmmnnnnn....Nawwwww...That can't be the reason...???

Cheers mate.

Fuck Bangkok bro, it is horrible there, head to Pattaya or Jomtien, or beyond, and nobody is being run off there. Bangkok is like any sprawl shitty city, no grass to walk on, endless crap roads, loads of thieves, not worth more than 2 days of your life to be in.

From the looks of it, I was more interested in Pattaya and Chaing Mai for the longer stay. It might take me another six months to a year before I can get there though.

Pattaya is a great start point for a 2 week play up/mess around. It would and will drive you insane if you stay there though, I call people that live there pattayed, as they get oh so devoid of any former logic they once had.

Chang Mai is a very excellent long term option, as is anywhere apart from Bangkok or Pattaya. :-)

From all the video's I've seen and critiques...they seem to echo your sentiments, and since you have all that experience in that neck of the woods, your advice is well worth taking. Thanks brudda.

No worries bro, and yes, I spent almost a decade in that neck of the woods, though would not spend longer than a week in Pattaya ever again, if I did even want to go back there,

I think though, have no facts to back it up, just my perception, that most of the people in the above mentioned millionaire club places are happier than those living in England.

I think, you may be 100% correct, from insider information. :-)

I think any country with less money than the adverage uk wage, is much happier for sure. Living in west africa for 6months with under a pound a day to live on like an african there completely changed my view on life.

I will never forget how alien I felt when my mates came to pick me up from the airport. Everything seemed suddenly just bullshit and the whiteman lifestyle just a way of experiencing eternal suffering of 'more will make me happy'

Shall we write a post about it? I felt the same when I got back from a few years in Thailand.
I went to my old local pub, people were sitting in the same seats, talking about the same bs from years before. Everyone was miserable. but hey, they had nice phones!

Insane isnt it, I went back to uk after 1.5 years and went to see a mate. I had such mad times and many crazy things had happened, and the first thing I said was "well not much has changed has it since i was gone.."
My mate said to me "What do you mean you c*unt, go look in the kitchen!"

I went in there and everything looked the same so I asked him what I was looking at - He said "We've painted it"...

At this moment real life hit me even harder, and since that day Ive not been back!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't say I blame you for not going back, you are not missing anything.

I can look at the time and tell you exactly what everyone there would be doing, even years on!

whiteman lifestyle

I am a white man. I do not know if you are or not. Lifestyle is a choice. People decide how they want to live. The phrase "whiteman lifestyle" is a brainwashed phrase. Either from the Political Opposition Party, Organized Religion, or the White Coat Society. Think about what that phrase conjures up. People that use it are either suffering from "White Guilt Syndrome" or from "Victim Syndrome". Just ask any White coat.

Here is why the phrase is ridiculous to me: African lifestyle what does that conjure up in a person's mind? Chineses Lifestyle, Middle Eastern Lifestyle, and many other Lifestyles? Hollywood lifestyle, gay lifestyle lesbian lifestyle, the list goes on and on and on.

The woes of the world are not caused by Whiteman lifestyle, the woes of the world are caused by people not looking at people as people.

Loading...

Sure is tempting to move and become super rich in money terms. Sleep well mate .

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers bro, and trust me, it is superb fun, though requires a giant leap of faith, in "yourself" Not everyone has that faith, they should, though sadly they do not.

I want to be a distinguished hundredthousandaire.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Then you must stay put, and enjoy being so. :-) We also do the distinguished gentlemen's bike rides on classic motorbikes, if you would like to double up on being distinguished.

https://www.gentlemansride.com/

haha nice!

Probably holds true for a lot of countries, some I am sure security issues become a concern. For most I would assume it's not a decision made out of desire to live in some form of a paradise as it is so much about living like a king or queen, pretty hard to give up family for any other reason.

I wrote about this before. Whilst living in the UK I maybe managed to see my mom 10 times a year at most, and spent a couple of hours each time trying to fit everything in we both wanted to say. So maybe 10 - 12 hours of quality time. Now she comes here very year for 2 weeks, and we spend 24/7 together, she gets a good holiday, the time is pure fun, drinking, laughing and chat, I know which we both prefer. :-)

Haha fuck nice one! Think outside of the box 😊

Im sat for 4hours on the street waiting to get a place for work, gutted that I dont have enuff data to watch the comedy post but happy to have read this one 😀 17days and im in krakow!

Hey party time soon then bro, maybe I will hook up with you for a beer or 50. :-)

:) Did you get my mail?

Not looked at my mail today, give me 1 hour broskie.

I know your deep in an epic post! Cant wait to read it, 3days no post? Get ready Eddy! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I post daily brah daily I tells ya.

I live in KL Malaysia 🇲🇾 Thailand is like my second home, I’m a us citizen, that used to enjoy this math enrichment program, see what I did there 🤨 but now I predominantly only earn ringgits and SP lol 😂 so the days of seeing commas aren’t what they used to be. Except in Vietnam where I get a fat wad of dong in my pants for exchanges 😎😜🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

A seasoned traveler like myself. Nice to meet you or sawatee crap/sabaidee mai. :-) You have a very rich and textured life indeed now then, there is nothing better for the soul than travel, to truly open ones eyes to the wonderful/magical world that is.

Yes, likewise @shepz1 khaaabkhunkrab for saying what's up.. I completely agree with you about traveling being some of the best soul food available, the perspective gained from seeing we all want and need basically the same things on this small rock can't be quantified or fully realised without the mileage. I've had some unreal experiences that drive this point home as to how magical, synchronized, and in tune we all are. If one is feeling out of tune the prescription is absolutely to get up and go at all costs. I'm not advocating begpacking, but with the right intent there is no limits as to how far we can go only to always find home truly is where the heart is, and the heart can be anywhere at anytime..i think now I'm required to say namaste bwhahaha..

Posted using Partiko Android

i think now I'm required to say namaste bwhahaha..

I never get that bit lol.

Yes it truly is soul food, and oh so strange when returning home, to see people doing the same drudgery they were doing when you left years before, and had your adventures, but hey, they have a nice new phone, and it is better than the next guys phone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97